We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservation not equal Room is booked” 1 of 5 stars
Review of John Ascuaga's Nugget Casino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added John Ascuaga's Nugget Casino Resort to your Saves list
John Ascuaga's Nugget Casino Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1100 Nugget Avenue, Sparks, NV 89431   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Sparks
SF
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reservation not equal Room is booked”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

There are several threads about their bad experiences in this hotel's reservation. I didn't think I would be so unlucky before this trip, now I know I will never go back to this hotel.

What happened:
1. We booked the most expensive room in this hotel, but the hotel staff told me we got the cheapest one. We showed them the receipt and itinerary, but they did not care.

2. The front desk manager, Paula, did not want to hear our complaint, and she threatened to void our reservation if we did.

3. They did not want to check with travelocity or billing department to find out what happened. We asked them to call, they did not care. In the end, we called travelocity by ourselves.

4. No one at the front desk tried to help us out.

5. They asked us to step aside the window while we tried to call travelocity and the line was not busy at all (there were two other windows open, and only one customer about to check in).

6. Bad attitude, bad attitude.

We will never stay at this place again!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Staff w/ bad attitude
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    334
    190
    90
    108
See reviews for
246
366
93
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

Once a month the Nugget is my home away from home while I visit my family in Reno. The staff is most hospitable, courteous, and considerate to my needs and those of my grandchildren. One of the many reasons I stay at the Nugget is their beautiful indoor pool which my grandchildren take full advantage of during my stays. The price and value is excellent. Rooms are clean. I would advise anyone who stays there to join John's Club. The monthly offers are too good to pass up.

  • Liked — Price and quality
  • Disliked — the train yard on the south side
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

the Nugget is my favorite place to stay. It has everything under one roof. It has the loosest slot any where. I usually come home with a thousand.M y room are compt. I am goin Mar. 21 -24 for my birthday. I get a three day stay, $25 to spend anywhere in the Nugget and $30 free slot play. I love the people there. The food is great. I usually take m y 91 year old Mom. In Oct. we where going to stay three day and ended up staying five. We had a ball. On the lower lever is a great deli. It serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and great coffee and snacks. Open all day. It is right by the Horse parlor and has these wonderful leather bothes. I love to sit there and have coffee and a danish in the morning when my Mom is still sleeping. My Mom and Dad have went there since it opened. We go every year.
The indoor pool is fabulous. It has everything you could want.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

I was at the Nugget for a conference, and it was a great location. I didn't even need to rent a car because there was so much to do on the property. The restaurants were all very good and provided plenty of variety.

  • Liked — I liked the variety of restaurants on the property.
  • Disliked — The rooms were a little out dated.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

I've stayed here twice, and it's just gotten worse and worse. When I arrived this year, I was told that the room I had booked with 2 queen beds for 3 people was not available and that they were sold out for the entire weekend. I was told I could check in the morning and see if one had become available. The 3rd in my party wasn't coming until the next day, so for the time being I took the room with 1 king that they had available. I got up the next morning to check for a cancellation and was told that they did not have anything for me with 2 queens, and was told that even though I booked 2 queens online, that is just a request, not a guarantee. ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? I had to have another bed, so my only options were to move to another hotel or book another room with 1 bed at the Nugget. I didn't feel like moving, so I booked another room, and they did not give me a reduced rate.

My friend's flights were delayed, so she did not arrive until 7pm. We went to check her in, and were told that her room wasn't ready yet. WHAT??? AT 7PM??? The lady at the front desk had the nerve to say to me, "Well, you just booked this room this morning." I LOST IT. I was asked to move to the end of the front desk area and wait for a manager. I don't normally lose it like that, but I was already paying double what I had intended to pay for the worst customer service I've ever seen in my life. About 15 minutes later, a manager strolls out and hands me room keys and gives me a room number, while looking down her nose at me the entire time. Then she says, this is one of our suites. You can have it for tonight, but tommorrow you move out. You will need to check out of it in the morning. Of course I ask what they are doing with us for the next three days, and she says that the manager on duty in the morning will have to deal with that, but that it looks like they will have a room with 2 queens for us.

My friend stayed in the suite for the night (which was actually a really cool room). The next morning, they did indeed have the proper room for us. My request for compensation of some sort was denied, of course.

All-in-all, the customer service was the worst I have ever dealt with. I know this is a casino in Reno and not a 5 star luxury resort, but COME ON! I know reservation issues arise. It happens, but at least treat me with some respect. Don't make me feel like I'm a piece of gum on the bottom of your shoe.

Oh,one other thing- I was denied parking while a guest! I was driving a large truck while I was in town, and I was told I could not park it in the LOT because they were having a special event and weren't allowing large vehicles, regardless of whether I was a guest or not. WHAT???? I had to park down the street. RIDICULOUS!!!!

I WILL NOT BE BACK AT THE NUGGET!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

As others have noted, it's hard to get good information and guarantees
from this hotel. I stayed a full week during a conference in November
2007.

I had called in advance to confirm a few things. Requests, and
reality:

- Requested two double beds. "We don't guarantee that." Got a single king.

- Requested non-smoking. "We don't guarantee that, but there are only
two non-smoking rooms." Got a non-smoker.

- Requested West Tower. "Your reservation is confirmed for the West
Tower." Upon arrival, I got the East Tower, "The hotel is completely
booked."

The East Tower is being renovated, and I got a renovated room. It was
just fine: king bed, comfy chair, small dining table, widescreen flat
TV, nice bathroom, and wet bar area. No in-room selfservice bar
(which I prefer, anyway). A standup storage closet, rather than
built-in closet. Fairly ugly carpet and walls (a goldish color),
though new. The toiletries are what you would expect from a low-end
chain: small soaps, combo shampoo, and lotion. Towels were good, but
not as large or thirsty as at a fancier hotel.

The coffee machine was weak. Two cups of coffee pods, no decaf or
tea. I guess you're supposed to go to Starbucks or elsewhere for your
other hot beverage needs. The tap water is not very tasty for
drinking.

There is a desk in the room, but I needed to crawl under the table to
find the single available power outlet for my computer. This isn't a
business-oriented hotel. In the room there was a phone book, bible
and room service menu. No hotel guide or other information.

The exterior noise is immense. I was on the 25th floor, and the
sounds of the highway (I-80) and railroad never stopped. I've stayed
at airport hotels, and know there is no excuse for the lack of
soundproofing in the rooms. If you're unable to sleep in a noisy
area, you might need to find a different hotel.

As others have mentioned, hotel rates vary considerably. I got
a very good conference rate. When I called in advance, I asked
whether there were any other fees or add-ons to the rate. "No, it's
just the rate, plus a bed fee." The bed fee is not a tax, so don't
try to use a government tax-exempt status to get out from it.

Upon arrival, it turns out there is a $5/night "valet and pool fee,"
as others have mentioned. Why did they lie about this when I asked?
Yes, it's required. No, they don't care whether you use the pool
or valet.

Wireless Internet was non-functional. I called the support desk (an
outside contractor), got a trouble ticket. 24 hours and two calls
later, it was still not functional and no ETA on a fix. There is no
free wireless I could find in the hotel, only the same contractor's
service (which worked elsewhere, but not in my room). $11.99/night
plus tax, with 3- and 7-day plans at a reduced daily fee. They
managed to get it working for up to 12 hours at a time during my stay.
Pathetic.

Restaurant menus are quite slim for vegetarians, and hours are
short other than Trader Dicks, which is a big dark disco hall, and
Rosies, which is the same food (and inflated prices) as Room Service.
The big fish tank bar is really cool: colorful coral and fishies.

Free parking is easy. The arcade closes early, but isn't bad.

Getting info from the hotel Web site is like pulling teeth. It's
pretty minimal, though the ability to confirm a registration given
their registration code is convenient.

There is no laundry machine on site, just an expensive a la carte
send-out service.

The olympic pool is too warm for laps, but otherwise nice: three
lanes (no markers). Nice big hot tub.

The exercise facility is way undersized, and only fits about 10
people. Just a couple of weight machines, some dumbbells, and 8 or 9
cardio machines. The good news is that there is no access control,
just a sign-in sheet not requiring a room number. So, others from the
community are, evidently, welcome.

For this conference, 10 other people from my organization also stayed
in the hotel. Most had renovated rooms, but those that were renovated
a year or two ago were already showing their age. Attention to detail
and cleanliness is a problem. For example, the top of the closet thingy
in my room had clearly never been dusted, ever.

More tellingly, I needed to call housekeeping on one day, after seeing
that various surfaces & carpet areas had not been cleaned during my
stay (i.e., drip stains on the bathroom floor, food crumbs on the
floor). I explained "attention to detail" to housekeeping, and got a
very clean room that evening. But after that, the typical
less-than-spiffy cleanliness persisted.

My co-travelers had similar problems. It turned out that most
of them didn't even have a coffee maker at all, and we all had
problems with the wireless 'net.

If you like to gamble on quality, this place might be worth taking
a risk on. Personally, I'll avoid it, in the future.

  • Liked — Free convenient parking.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness problems.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIsconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

I stayed in the West Tower for two nights in July 2005. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet, although close to the elevators. We used the spa, shopped at the boutiques, ate in several restaurants and saw a show. I think I paid $200 a night, but it was worth it, and nothing compared to three-star hotels in Paris.

Yes, the lobby was a bit smoky. But - helloo?? - this is a casino.

The concierge was great. Westerners are very friendly.

  • Liked — Lots of restaurants
  • Disliked — Boring amenities in room (toiletries)
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Ascuaga's Nugget Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Ascuaga's Nugget Casino Resort

Address: 1100 Nugget Avenue, Sparks, NV 89431
Location: United States > Nevada > Sparks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Sparks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — John Ascuaga's Nugget Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Ascuaga's Nugget Casino Resort in Sparks, Nevada is one of the Reno/Tahoe region's most affordable vacation and convention destinations, featuring a multitude of amenities, including more than 1,500 guestrooms, 110,000 square feet of meeting space, eight award-winning restaurants, a Starbucks coffee shop, a year-round Olympic atrium pool, a spa and numerous other outlets and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Ascuaga's Nugget Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Ascuaga`s Nugget Hotel Sparks
John Ascuagas Nugget Hotel
John Ascuagas Nugget Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Ascuaga's Nugget Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.