We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good selections and great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosie's Cafe

Rosie's Cafe
1100 Nugget Avenue, Sparks, NV
(800) 648-1177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 241 Restaurants in Sparks
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Inside John Asquagua's Nugget Casino.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good selections and great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we had a late dinner on Sat night; tried the daily special **they give you three choice of full meals for a really cheap price..Food was great , service was great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    54
    46
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent food for a coffee shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food there used to be much better but they've reduced the quality of the ingredients and the portion sizes so now it's just average at best.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food if you like a side of cigarette smoke with your meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Rosie's Cafe has been a staple of Sparks for decades for good reason. The food is wonderful. Service is usually spot on. The real issue is atmosphere. And I don't mean decor - the restaurant is open on one end to the casino floor. And at the Nugget, there is no way to even approach the cafe without walking through the length or width of the casino, through all the smoke. This wasn't so much of a deal in the 80s when it was "normal"; you expected it. But these days, it is not normal, nor acceptable. That's not the real issue, though

The doorway from the casino floor is just a large opening. Rosie's has ceiling fans to provide atmosphere, but what they really do is ensure an even distribution of the cigarette smoke throughout the restaurant. I took my family there - my son and I have asthma, and sat in the back of the restaurant, as far from the door as possible. We had to cut our meal short due to my son's not being able to breathe. Plus, all the food had an undertone of tobacco smoke - smell is the majority of taste. Good food and good service could in no way make up for ashtray atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great comfort food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Feels like home, the staff treat you like friends coming by to eat, very nice, we come here often. We even come here to eat, when we are not staying at the hotel, in fact.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Rosie's Cafe - good and basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Basic cafe menu, with something for everyone. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly service, generous portions. The kids menu is good too. We enjoyed burgers, salads, and more. Nice casual option. (We didn't try the desserts, but they looked terrific!)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosie's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rosie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosie's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.