We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Needs An Update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Reno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Reno to your Saves list
Harrah's Reno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersBronze level
Spring, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really Needs An Update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I only spent one night here as we were traveling through Nevada. When you first walk into the reception area you know that this is a old resort. Customer service was OK as was the food. However the furnishings were dated, carpets were old and stained, place reeked of smoke and the room smelled of air freshener which indicated that they were trying to mask some smell. Doubt we will ever stay here again unless it is updated.

Room Tip: If you stay in Reno, be sure to check hotel reviews on Trip Advisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place is a tired, dumpy casino full of smoke and low-class "entertainment." Surly check in person explained to me that my booking.com price quoted would not be honored. I still have to check into that. My room smelled like urine and had bizarre stains on the decorative bed pillows. Yuck. No room safe and a mini Keurig charging 1.50 for a cup of coffee. The gym charges 5- day for use What three-star hotel charges for things like inroom coffee and gym use? Nickel and diming...

The East Tower is not only inconvenient, but you have to walk down this lonely corridor to the elevators past Quizno's and the public bathrooms that smell like there's a sewer pipe leak somewhere. The lonely corridor seems unsafe. The Quiznos has its own unappealing smell. The whole place is just gross.

One evening there was a pole dancer essentially in the lobby. The poor girl looked like someone's kid, just barely legal age, gyrating in what looked like a pair of Fruit of the Loom boyshorts and a ripped t-shirt. It was just sad. The girls in the halter tops looked more sleazy than glamorous. There is an air of desperation to the place. If you wander down the street to the Eldorado, it's completely different. Much nicer.

I'd chosen Harrah's because it was a known name hotel. If I had to do it over again, I'd book the Eldorado. Cleaner, more updated, classier.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel. IF you must stay here, ask for the West tower.
See more room tips
Green Features: Are they saving money by not laundering things like decorative pillows, like mine covered in mystery stains?
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineMcMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reno hotels

Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

After being snubbed after staying loyally at another location for my semi-annual trips, I decided to look around for another hotel and am sold on Harrah's! Excellent customer service the moment I walked up to the counter and the room was very nice as well (and low-priced). Easy location to get into downtown and plenty of choices for food and entertainment. Had a blast on the floor and never had to leave. Went back a second time a few days later on my way out of the area and had a similarly good time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I only stayed at the Harrah's Reno one evening before heading to Tahoe. I got in late so I didn't get to spend too much time as I went straight to bed.

The rooms were pretty average and dated, but I wasn't expecting too much as the night stay was around $40/night. The bed was comfy, but I was so tired after flying in from Sydney that the floor would have been amazing. None the less it was an overall comfortable stay in the room.

Staff was friendly and helpful. I left in the morning so I didn't get much time in the casino, but it had it's Reno charm to it. This place is CHEAP and it's very central if you're planning on staying in Reno.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themattkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
757 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This used to be one of the best in the area, but it's common areas as well as it's rooms are worn and shabby. Prices were really exceptionally reasonable. Their buffet for breakfast & dinner was 2 for 1. It was not great but you could find something worth eating. Our room in the east tower was quiet and clean. Hotel staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Reno. We are very used to Vegas but wanted to try something different. The staff at reception were very friendly and put us on the 20-something floor with an amazing view! I wasn't too impressed with the slots, but I have pretty high standards there. The restaraurants were nice and it was in a good location. There was some weird parking stuff going on and areas were closed so we had to loop around the hotel a couple times to get in, but all in all it was a nice stay and I would do it again if in Reno. I would give it about a 3.5 - it was nice but hard not to compare it to Caesar's properties in Vegas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Landing, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you have a choice, and trust me you do, do not stay at this hotel. First, there is a $50 per day charge that is not listed on the booking sites. This charge is to cover any amenity you use, which include in room bottled water @ $3 each, in room coffee @ $1.50 per cup and wifi @ $10.95 per 24 hours per device. Be careful, something in the way the clerks swipes your credit/debit card triggers a fraud alert with many banks. The bank will then freeze your card.

Desk staff was not inviting and we were made to feel like it was a chore to check us in. Then when the credit card was declined, see above, we were treated even worse and had to give a $100 cash deposit.

The room was out dated with many areas needing touch up paint and wall paper fixes. he bathroom floor had several strands of long hair and short curly hair stuck in the exposed grout. In room coffee was $1.50 per cup and bottled water which the hotel states was provided for convenience and comfort was $3 per bottle. The beds are super extra firm and more a kin to sleeping on the floor they are so hard. A request was made for softer mattresses but we were told none were available.

Casino staff was very unfriendly and dealers were almost scared to speak. A new 21 area which was advertised to be staffed by vivacious young ladies was more of an upscale strip club with pole dances, each with enough cellulite to keep a plastic surgeon employed for a long time. Not at all as this area was advertised. ATM's charged a fee of $11.95 per transaction, and you then had to go find a cashiers cage to fill out and sign paper work to receive your money.

Restaurants which included a Quizno's, two Asian style, a typical steak house, a modern fare hash house and a buffet. We only took part in the buffet and wished we had chosen somewhere else. All the food items were of the quick frozen or deep fried variety, and the prime rib, although well seasoned and prepared was served in paper thin slices, forcing you to return for more.

On our last night, we were shocked to find a large bug in one of the beds which crawled onto my leg. We tried to call the front desk but found our room phone was not working. We took the bug to the front desk and were quickly moved from our room to a suite. No one from management personally spoke to us. we did receive a call from management which was quick and really only to make sure this new room was to our liking. A member of house keeping came and collected the insect from us, but not before we took pictures of it to remind us.

Check out was very fast, quicker than others who were ahead of us in line. They were asked about their stay. When it was our turn as soon as the clerk entered our room number, she quickly processed us out and said thank you for coming. The valet was there with our vehicle and we were led out. We are sure this was due to the bug being found in our room so we would not make a fuss.

We will not be staying at this hotel or it's affiliates ever again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Littlewolfpublishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reno
0.3 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.3 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#10 of 65 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#18 of 65 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
2.9 mi away
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Reno

Address: 219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Reno
#5 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Spa Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Reno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 928
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Harrah's Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Reno Hotel Reno
Harrahs Hotel Reno
Reno Harrahs Hotel
Harrahs Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing