We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, casino just ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Reno

Save Saved
You added Harrah's Reno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrah's Reno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 65 hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersBronze level
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice room, casino just ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice room that was large. They call it a junior suite, but It was just a large room. Service was excellent. The casino could use more machines, but service was good. We say the Four Tenors show and it was fabulous and that alone was worth the trip.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    257
    191
    86
    48
See reviews for
114
294
70
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at Harrah's in April on a business trip. I picked Harrah's because I always stay at the Harrahs in Vegas. Of course, Reno is no Vegas, but I chose it for the name and to gain Total Rewards points. The hotel is OK- it could use a few upgrades, but its fine to stay in for a few nights. Rooms are older, but they serve basic needs. Be sure to stay in the West Tower- they have the newer remodeled rooms. One thing I really didn't like was there were very few outlets. I had to charge my work phone and iPad in the bathroom and literally had to crawl on my hands and knees around the bedside tables to find an outlet to charge my personal phone overnight. Other than that, room was fine.

In terms of the casino itself, it has a good selection of slot machines and table games. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, but I really would've liked if the Lounge had been open (only open Fri/Sat). I found myself going across the street to the other hotels, to be able to just sit and enjoy a glass of wine after dinner in one of their bars/lounges. I did like though that there was a Starbucks in the casino, and the pool area looked nice. The steakhouse is supposed to be very good (it was recommended to me by coworkers), however I didn't eat there during my stay.

Overall, I'd recommend the hotel as they have good rates, but it is lacking in a few areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We enjoyed our weekend at Harrahs Reno. It took awhile to figure out how the hotel is laid out -- with different sleeping towers and different casino areas. It can be very confusing!!

We got to see the IV Tenors Show -- which was affordable cheesy entertainment. Then there was also the Lingerie Bowling -- what?? <yes, they had it.> Beer Pong Tournament ?? <yes, they had it.> Bikini Party Pit Dealers <yes, they had it.> Friday and Saturday night Seafood Night with crab legs <yes, they had it.> An Arcade for kids <yes, they have it.> Starbucks in hotel <yes> Buffet <yes> Diamond Lounge <yes> Steakhouse <yes> Japanese Steakhouse <yes, they had that, too.> Fireworks out your window at the baseball stadium. <yes.>

The hotel is at the heart of downtown. It is an easy walk to El Dorado, Circus Circus and Silver Legacy. Short walk to the Truckee River and the Automobile Museum. Also, close to the bowling-palace-of-the-world and the Baseball park.

The staff was friendly. (Wendy at the Seafood Buffet went out of her way to be gracious to us.) The hotel offered turndown service on Saturday night. Nice touch.

Some of the drawbacks:
* Not all of the elevators must have been working in the West Tower because they were chronically slow.
* The Cage Cashiers in the casino were also the Total Rewards Reps <not the best cost saving idea.>
* Hotel charged for each device in the guest room using Internet.
* Hotel charged for parking on Saturday night only. (complimentary for Diamond members.)
* The hotel rooms in the West Tower were renovated just a 3 years ago and many of the furniture pieces in the rooms and bathrooms could use some touch-up as the veneers are peeling back. These rooms are the ones with the hairy ceiling lamps shown in the pictures.

Would stay there again if a good value as it was this time!

Room Tip: West Tower rooms are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for the National Bowling Tournament. Staff is very accommodating, the beds are a bit hard, pillows are standard size and hard to get used to when you are accustomed to larger pillows. Us southerners like our rooms cold, and the air conditioning in my room did not get cold enough. Good location for that area. Men bowlers will love that the stadium is so close, no need for a car. The women, well, it's a short haul to the Convention center, but the hotel provided shuttles that were good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel and casino are up to date and comfortable. The choice of restaurants and the quality isn't all that great. The breakfast spot is too foo-foo for my taste but the buffet was good. They try hard to keep you on the property but things like Internet access in the business center and in room Wifi are way too expensive. A few other places close locations have better food.

Room Tip: The elevators can be pretty noisy if you're close by but otherwise for a casino with 24 hr activ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The room was good and comfortable. It was super convenient for the bowling tournament. I would stay here again.

The hotel is connected to the casino which allows smoking so you have to walk through the casino to get to the tower.

Room Tip: Join the total rewards program to get room discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just got back from Harrah's Reno, the Hotel is a bit dated but the staff is great, the food was delicious, practically no wait for drinks while playing the slots. I love to order room service while on vacation, room service is only available Friday, Saturday & Sunday :(, if you are there Monday thru Thursday, you are out of luck. The Steak House was awesome, 5 star food & service. We also ate at Ichban Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, also dellicious but not affiliated with Harrah's, you cannot charge to the room. The Buffet and Hash House was great too, I gotta say, we didn't have one bad meal. Free shuttle bus to and from the airport, great deal.

We did a one day tour with the Hotel to Lake Tahoe/Carson City, it was great and well worth it. Our driver Jim was on the money, funny and informative. We were going to rent a car for the day at the Hotel from Hertz, they started out by telling us $40.00, $40.00 turned into $130.00 with a credit check, we ran out of there. The tour was the way to go anyway, no driving, no hassels. Lake Tahoe is beautiful, the Harrah's casino there is more Vegas like and upscale compared to Reno, Carson City is a great little town way on top of the mountains, a long and winding drive. Unless you like gambling, Reno is not the place for you. There is really nothing else to do but gamble. We saw people hitting on the slots, not me, :(. The town is pretty run down, a lot of vacant stores, plenty of pawn shops... Actually, the streets are a little scary. I hate to say that but it's the truth, i heard quite a few people saying the same thing.

I had a great time, if you plan on going, 3 days is more than enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harrah's Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Reno

Address: 219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Reno
#9 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Reno 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Harrah's Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Reno Hotel Reno
Harrahs Hotel Reno
Reno Harrahs Hotel
Harrahs Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.