We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Reno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Reno to your Saves list
Harrah's Reno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed only for one night the price was so cheap compared to others in the area.The guy on reception on check in was so rude our booking said we wanted a non smoking room when we asked to be put in a smoking room he gave us a look like we were scum all the other staff were great.We stayed in the west tower on the 18th floor which had an amazing view of the snow topped mountains.The hotel was in a great location,the room was comfortable and clean but could do with make over.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    289
    213
    98
    59
See reviews for
124
334
82
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

During a long road trip of close to a month in the desert southwest, we happened to pass through Reno, Nevada, and booked a stay at Harrah's. Knowing that this was the original Harrah's hotel location and having been to Reno many times over the years, I decided to stay here.

Price was reasonable: about $50. Location downtown was prime and right next to the famous "Biggest Little City in the World" sign. We were given a room on the 16th floor.

Check in personnel were friendly yet not too accommodating. We dropped hints that we were willing to "upgrade", (even for an extra fee), but didn't catch my play. (not like the Rio Hotel and Suites did in Las Vegas: see that review if you wish!).

Room was ok. Basic needs were met: coffee machine, safe, and sit down area. Extra fee for internet, REALLY?? At least the standard casino self parking was free. The scary part of the rooms were the anti-pry bars on the doors (ugly yet probably necessary due to the miscreant clientele that lurk the casinos...read on further in my review ). Rooms were basic yet nothing to write home about.

The all-you-can-eat salad bar (make sure you get and use the 2 for 1 coupon hotel guests are given) looked nice. Yet sadly, upon paying admission and pursuing my favorite diner items, the buffet was terrible. I left early to find a few winnings at the casino, while my friend stayed and insisted upon trying almost everything at the buffet. Verdict: the food looks and presents great, but is horrid and pure garbage. McDonald's presents as a gastric orgasm compared to Harrah's buffet. Sad to say, but you people need to know this.

On the casino floor lured the omnipresent crack and crystal meth addicts that circled in hopes of some gratuitous luck and/or victims to get some money. Spoke to a nice lady in the cashier cage and she admitted that these types of people lurk about, and security attempts to do as much as they can about this...*sigh*.

Reno is a tough town. Don't forget that. If you're here to just hit the craps table hard and grab a cheap show you will like Harrah's. If you are a seasoned traveler and (forgiving in heart), you will find Harrah's just so so....

If you really like the higher end experience when you go gaming in Nevada, Harrah's will disappoint. But I did enjoy the unpretentious nature of Reno. The hard working people here in Reno are the best things. The urban blight of social problems on the streets of downtown Reno are another thing all together...

I'd only be back for a night, and only if it was super cheap...

Room Tip: At least ask for a high floor room to enjoy the view of downtown Reno!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel has gone downhill. Room appeared clean, but had a shabby appearance. Carpet was stained, vanity in bathroom looked a little beaten up. Walls are thin; if you are unfortunate enough to stay there when there are noisy people next door or in the hall, you'll hear every word. This happened on our last visit. To Harrah's credit, we called the front desk to complain and they sent security up right away. Anyway, I would have been more disappointed if we'd paid full price for the room. (If you choose to stay here, keep an eye on the room rates. They jump all over the place. We re-booked this room three times because of this. Started out at ~$130/night before tax, wound up with ~$60/night.)

It wasn't completely horrible, but we won't stay here on our next trip to Reno.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulee City, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here thinking it would be a noisy, smelly property. We were dead wrong not only did we receive a killer rate. but the staff bent over backwards to welcome us and make out check in a breeze. We opted to stay in the east tower as the rate was half of what they wanted for the West tower. The difference? You have to walk a few hundred feet further. We really did well on the slots, the food was great and the staff awesome. The room was large, updated and very clean, and very quiet. This was our first stay here and its our go to location for Reno!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hotel needs a facelift rooms old we had a 3 day comp asked for a room upgrade at check in $100 a night also was going to charge for early check in after many phone calls they gave us a room upgrade for $50 a night buffet ok could be better went to eat breakfest across the street at Cal Neva $4.99 for breakfeat $5.99 for luch and dinner Harrahs Steakhouse not bas could be better service ok also nothing to do in Reno boring as hell go to Laughlin or Lake Tahao Reno needs alot of updating..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel needs a face lift. The rooms were very dated and the casino lacking. We stayed in the east wing and the gift shop was only open in the evening.
The staff was very helpful and pleasant to work with. We asked for an early check-in. We were able to check-in, but at a cost of $8.00 for checking in 3 hours early. We gladly paid, but in other hotels if they have rooms available we have never been charged.
We will probably not stay here again. There are so many other hotels to stayed at in Reno.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Obvious the place is old but kept up . We got 2 rooms and were ready when we arrived at 2pm. The rooms are a bit narrow but size is ok , the bathroom is small and ladies there is no makeup mirror . The bed was hard . We were on the 15 th floor west tower and heard the street noise and the train that runs through the middle of downtown ( yes at all hours , no need for an alarm clock with the horn in the am hours ) . The walls are a bit thin you can hear the doors closing in the hallway . Only paid $26 for a Thursday night we were satisfied for the price . Eat breakfast at the Hash House the chicken and waffles are the best ( share) serving size is huge . Overall I would stay again " if the price is right " .

Room Tip: Ask for something quiet away from the Main Street .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Reno

Address: 219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Reno
#9 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Reno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 928
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Reno Hotel Reno
Harrahs Hotel Reno
Reno Harrahs Hotel
Harrahs Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.