We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Reno

Save Saved
You added Harrah's Reno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's Reno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 65 hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Bathrooms in the hotel room were very clean service was good restaurants in the hotel were very expensive I rather recommend going out of the hotel to eat instead of eating the restaurant...the location is okay...it is a little bit far away from circus circus reno but if you like going for a little walk and love found window shopping then its not that much of a big deal

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    263
    196
    89
    48
See reviews for
117
302
70
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creston, B.C.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

What a disappointment, I remember this hotel in the 80's. I stunk of smoke, my non-smoking room smelled like smoke, you could smell smoke coming in from the air conditioning. I went down to the casino and wash actually doing well on the black jack table, but after 20 minutes I had to leave because of the smoke smell. The hotel wants $10/day for wireless internet, ripe off, but if you go to STARBUCKS the internet is free.

Casino staff were friendly. I checked out several other casino's on the strip, some not as bad smoke wise. The quality of Harrah's has gone down hill big time. If you are a non-smoker I would strongly suggest you check out other hotels first. Usually I am not bothered by smoke but this was just gross.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel if you are a non smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great Location: Harrah's Reno is very central in Downtown Reno. The famous Reno sign is right outside the hotel doors. There is also a movie theater within walking distance.

Great Rooms: The rooms are very nice and the beds are pretty comfy. Our room looked out over the Nevada mountain range. The bathtub is big and the water pressure is great.

Great Deals: Harrah's Reno is always running Groupon specials and Total Rewards also has great prices. We paid $40 for a night with a $25 dining credit, making the stay almost free! You can't beat that!

Average Casino: They are a little limited on their penny slots (which is my specialty... or my downfall...). They had several table games with minimum bets of $5-$10. It was hard to get a drink girl, which was a bummer. However, they were there and there are free drinks if you are playing in the casino (normal for Reno).

Average Hotel: The hotel is a little run down, and could use a new face lift. Nothing to complain about really. This is the only hotel I have stayed in Reno, so it is impossible to compare. All of the surrounding hotels seemed to have the same wear and tear.

Overall: Great place to stay if you are in Reno, especially if you can snag a Groupon or great deal!

Tip: Know what you are looking for when trying to find a hotel. Be aware of your needs. Just because a hotel did not meet my needs does not mean it won't meet yours and vice versa.

Room Tip: Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. The views are better and who knows, they might upgrade you fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

While staying at Harrahs Reno, my girl and I decided to go out and gamble a bit but she had forgotten her makeup bag in my truck. I decided to go get it for her and found a Starbucks at the base of the elevators. I decided to look around at their wares and call my girl to see if she wanted anything. She asked me to wait until we were together and we could maybe get a shot of espresso together so I left to go get her makeup. Once I returned and she was ready to go we went down to the Starbucks and ordered our coffee and two security guards came and said that they were supposed to talk to us. They didn't know why but their supervisor arrived and said that "someone said we picked up something and dropped it." Then he flat accused us of taking something. I told him that I was not a thief and let him know that I was an authority in a local business myself and could afford whatever I might want at this establishment. He then asked me aside after the two of us told him that we did not appreciate the accusation ( we started to take it lightly at first until the three of them started to interrogate us). Again he flat out accused us of theft although neither of us had taken a thing. I told him that it was not acceptable what he was doing and we left the shop only to have him and one of his officers follow us in the casino while we were gambling. We decided to go play elsewhere. Silver Legacy was much more accommodating. Harrah's, I seriously hope you read this review. We spent good amounts of money in a different casino that we would have spent at your establishment. We are hard working honest people and your over zealous, underachiever of a security guard crew made our stay with you miserable. I will be posting this on every review site possible so people out there know how valuable your guests are to you. I don't know what made your crew do what they did, but I really don't care. You ruined our stay. I would have overlooked the 1970 style room or the fact that it smelled as if you had a recent fire. I will not overlook the way you made us feel. This review is from 11/18/2012

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This Harrahs hotel and casino is the original property in the Harrahs chain. It has been added on to in bits and pieces - sort of like lean-tos in the olden days. The staff is proud of its history and it was interesting to know that I was at the beginning. That said, you should not expect a Las Vegas-type venue. It is small, midweek, it was quiet, the Noodle Bar closed at 8 p.m.
On the positive side, the staff is very attentive. I received a welcoming phone call the day before I arrived; my "account executive" found and greeted me while I was there and he called me at home a few days later. Another staffer personally invited me to come and participate in some free spins for prizes. I had a really nice big room and it was immaculate I was passing through enroute to Squaw Valley and I was only there for 24 hours but I had a good time and I would stop again..

Room Tip: My room was a corner suite and a bit of a distance from the elevator. I did not have any noise issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights. The rooms were a little dated, as were the rest of the hotel corridors. We paid $10/day extra to stay in the West Building, but it didn't seem to be worth the extra cost. My girlfriend enjoyed their massage service. The buffet is average (nothing compared to Vegas!). Overall, it was a fun stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is now an "older" property, but the staff are the best-trained one could find anywhere. Everyone, from the slot techs to the executive staff, greets guests with a "Hello!" and a big smile. The rooms are well maintained and the housekeeping staff seems to really care. We've been staying at this property for almost 25 years and just love going back.

Room Tip: West tower is older but better. Upper floors all have refrigerators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Reno

Address: 219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Reno
#9 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Reno 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Harrah's Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Reno Hotel Reno
Harrahs Hotel Reno
Reno Harrahs Hotel
Harrahs Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.