We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Reno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Reno to your Saves list
Residence Inn Reno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9845 Gateway Dr, Reno, NV 89521   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Reno
sac delta
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have stayed here several times before and have always liked it. Rooms are always clean, staff friendly and helpful. But breakfast is like a zoo. Food is always good and hot but the staff can not keep up with the cattle call. Seems free food brings out the worst in people. Especially parents who do not watch or control their kids. Great job anyway to the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    53
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
23
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel while traveling to Reno for our anniversary. Before arriving, I called the hotel and spoke with Griselda (very sweet lady) asking her if she could write a little "Happy Anniversary" note and place it in the room to surprise my hubby. Not only did she write the note but she even made a cute little basket of goodies as well as giving us a beautiful mountain view.

We checked in super late with Janice (another very kind associate). She wished us a happy anniversary as we walked through the doors.

During check out, Daniel helped us (who I believe was one of the managers) and didn't seem surprised at all to hear praises about his kind staff.

I would absolutely come back to this hotel when in Reno. We missed out on breakfast each day because we stayed out so late, but the room was clean, the hotel was quiet, the property looked very well maintained.

As a front desk Manager of another Marriott property myself, I pay attention to these kinds of things. This hotel was fantastic and the staff truly made our anniversary unforgettable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Close to the airport. My room was large, but it was smelly--like stale smoke. The grounds appear to be well kept, although lighting at night is very dim.

I tried to call the front desk on the phone, but it didn't a direct dial button. I ended up calling the front desk with my cell phone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Evan at the front desk was awesome. He was pleasant and he spent the time to give us recommendations on where we should go. We had planned to go downtown, but he mentioned the Peppermill had everything we needed and would be a cheaper taxi fare. The Peppermill was about a $20 taxi ride and had Food, drinks, gambling, and a night club with Dancing into the wee hours. Everything we needed in one place. Breakfast was very good and I was impressed that they continued to bring out fresh food right up until breakfast time ended. It would have been nice to stay downtown Reno, but this was a great alternate and probably gave us a better night sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Located in an "industrial/office" area, the area is pretty quiet with not too many dining options immediately around it.

We stayed at the hotel during memorial weekend so it was really crowded at breakfast. The hotel staff were nice and helpful.

The hotel has a small outdoor pool, basketball court and small gym - all pretty decent.

I had a comfortable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
461 reviews 461 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stay at a lot of Residence Inn's because they always deliver a consistent product nationwide. This one however missed on a couple of levels. I have never stayed at a Residence Inn that had a noisy air conditioner in the room. This one had one of the noisiest a/c units I have ever encountered at a Residence inn. It was so noisy we had to turn it off at night because there was no way we would be able to sleep. I saw a T/A review that said they were renovating the hotel, I sure hope our room wasn't one of them that had been renovated, because it needed some major help. The breakfast was ok, nothing special, just adequate. All in all not quite up to the standard Residence Inn, I wanted to give it a better review, but just couldn't and I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Friendly and accomodating staff members who were refreshingly polite. As a guest there for medical reasons, I'm certain that I chose the best place possible to stay. Ethan, Jared, Gricelda, Meaghan, Aaron, Carlos and Lucina were outstandingly hospitable. I will stay there again when I return to Reno.

Room Tip: Even room #s in the B building face north and avoid morning sun piercing through. The 2 bedroom suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Reno

Address: 9845 Gateway Dr, Reno, NV 89521
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Reno 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Reno Hotel Reno
Reno Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.