We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable weekend stay at this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Reno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Reno to your Saves list
Residence Inn Reno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9845 Gateway Dr, Reno, NV 89521   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable weekend stay at this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Located in an "industrial/office" area, the area is pretty quiet with not too many dining options immediately around it.

We stayed at the hotel during memorial weekend so it was really crowded at breakfast. The hotel staff were nice and helpful.

The hotel has a small outdoor pool, basketball court and small gym - all pretty decent.

I had a comfortable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    48
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
22
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stay at a lot of Residence Inn's because they always deliver a consistent product nationwide. This one however missed on a couple of levels. I have never stayed at a Residence Inn that had a noisy air conditioner in the room. This one had one of the noisiest a/c units I have ever encountered at a Residence inn. It was so noisy we had to turn it off at night because there was no way we would be able to sleep. I saw a T/A review that said they were renovating the hotel, I sure hope our room wasn't one of them that had been renovated, because it needed some major help. The breakfast was ok, nothing special, just adequate. All in all not quite up to the standard Residence Inn, I wanted to give it a better review, but just couldn't and I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Friendly and accomodating staff members who were refreshingly polite. As a guest there for medical reasons, I'm certain that I chose the best place possible to stay. Ethan, Jared, Gricelda, Meaghan, Aaron, Carlos and Lucina were outstandingly hospitable. I will stay there again when I return to Reno.

Room Tip: Even room #s in the B building face north and avoid morning sun piercing through. The 2 bedroom suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had to switch accommodations during a working trip and left an apartment complex to stay here. I was pleasantly surprised by the room and staff! The rooms have a new economy based light and HVAC system. You have to put your room card in a slot to activate the HVAC which is maintained at an "ECONOMY" mode when you're gone BUT it saves energy AND keeps room about right temperature anyways.

This place is for extended stays so there is a LARGE refrigerator / freezer, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker and such which are ALL good quality AND silverware / dishes are provided too. Even so, there is HOT breakfast every AM (eggs, waffles, sausage) along with cold cereal, toast, yogurt and fruit to go. Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday nights (6pm to 7:30PM) there is a "Happy Hour" with hot food including beer and wine! Menu is placed on your fridge. This week we had Tacos with Nachos, Cold Cuts for the "Managers Toast" and Hamburgers with Baked Beans. All were better than expected and there was PLENTY to eat. Soda and juice available for the kids.

Wireless Internet for each room is free. Pool and whirlpool are clean. Pets are welcome but I heard no barking dogs @ night yet! Staff is VERY PROFESSIONAL. Maid staff keep my room spotless. Granny Smith apples @ front desk all the time. Coffee (strong) available in the lounge 24/7. Rates appear good but my company is paying so I have to confess to the cost. However, I think it is worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

As the other reviews note, the staff here is excellent. Special recognition to Evan, who checked us in. I had a slight twist to my reservation and he was very accomodating to my change request. The rooms are very roomy with ample desk space, a comfy sofa and very comfy bed. Housekeeping did a wonderful job, the grounds were nice and the socials were excellent. I have to agree with the previous comment about the air conditioner and also noted that the ceiling by the vent had a black soot. Not sure if the filter needed changing. Other than than, we really enjoyed it. The social area with fire pit was also a very nice touch. There are fresh apples at the check-in desk and also the fitness room. A nice touch for the health concious. The location is convenient to Lake Tahoe, Pyramid Lake, Downtown Reno, and South Yuba State Park. There are tons of shopping and dining choices in every direction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The air conditioning unit in our room was right at the foot of our bed. When it came on, it made so much noise that it was impossible to hear the TV - except by turning the sound up extraordinary high. Then, when the A/C stopped, the sound was blasting! It was a very warm night so the unit went on and off several times in the night - never failing to wake us up. Never had a bad experience at a Marriott before, but this was really a bit of bad engineering.

Room Tip: Stay away from 126!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip. I prefer to stay at a Marriott Courtyard as I don't need a full kitchen for a quick business trip, but all of the non-casino hotels were booked. I must say... this place was really nice. The rooms were clearly renovated with granite counters and modern furniture. The room and grounds were quite and clean, and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Reno

Address: 9845 Gateway Dr, Reno, NV 89521
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Reno 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Reno Hotel Reno
Reno Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.