We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Reno is sold out, Boomtown is not bad.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boomtown Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Boomtown Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boomtown Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Garson Road, I-80 Exit 4 (Boomtown), Reno, NV 89439   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 65 hotels in Reno
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If Reno is sold out, Boomtown is not bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Having just left Burning Man, we wanted a place fairly close to stay. Reno was all booked. We ended up at Boomtown. It was nice. The food was good. The service was nice. The scenery is stunning. If I had to stay again, I would. The KOA was nice too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Boomtown. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our hotel and casino is situated in a beautiful setting in Verdi just outside of Reno with views you can't get downtown.
We also hope you come back to enjoy the live music we have every night at the Guitar Bar. Please come back and visit us soon and enjoy what Boomtown has to offer. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    398
    435
    242
    118
    101
See reviews for
417
484
118
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Run down. Carpet held together by duct tape (literally). Cigarette smoke comes through the air conditioning vents so even the non-smoking rooms are filled with it. Needs renovation and better maintenance . Staff not familiar with anything beyond their own immediate area.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Charlotte
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and casino. I was sorry to hear that your visit with us was not up to par. Boomtown recently aquired new owners that are planning an extensive remodel of the hotel and casino to better fit our guests needs. We are looking into the issues you discussed and your feedback is greatly appreciated in helping us with these improvements. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to give us a call. We hope you reconsider and come to visit us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a wonderful week end at Boomtown. Room was great deal for price, nice amenities, easy parking and freeway access. Room was spacious, nicely appointed. Had a wonderful prime rib dinner at the Bistro, food quality was far above expectations. Overall probably the best value in the area. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Linda
Thank you for your recent review of Boomtown. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy the prime rib at our Bistro. It is delicious!! We hope you come back and visit us soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We used to stay downtown, but have since changed our preference to Boomtown. Although it is a few miles outside of Reno, it is much more affordable and quiet than a room downtown. Request a renovated room for a nice, clean, comfy stay. Extra bonus, no minimum stay on weekends, so if you want a spontaneous trip for the night, they are willing to accommodate you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Amy
Thank you for your recent review of Boomtown. I'm glad to hear that your experience with us has met your expectations and you continue coming back. We are always striving to make sure our guests get the best possible service. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and helps us improve. Come back and visit us soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Boomtown is a great place to eat, gamble and see concerts. It is a also a great place to hold kids birthday parties in their Fun center at a great value. I have attended several weddings there as well and they always turn out beautifully. My family always has a good time at Boomtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Kristen
Thank you for your review of our Boomtown. I was happy to hear that you and your family have had wonderful experiences with us. We are continuing to improve the hotel and the casino to make sure we meet everyones expectations. We appreciate your feedback on how we're doing. Come visit us again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico, california
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We apparently reserved the last room available on Sunday night of Labor Day weekend, and were charged $200.00 for the night. (gouged.) Upon arrival in the room, there were no bath towels or floor mat, the shower stopper was broken and laying in the tub, the sink handle was broken. Three light bulbs in the room were burnt out, and the fridge was sitting on the floor. Everything was grungy. We called immediately to order up towels and Housekeeping did not answer. Called the main line, and stated our request. After an hour, called again, and was advised that they (main line again) were really busy..... No offer of time estimate, no break on the room rate for the inconvenience.
In the morning, went to Peet's (inside the casino) for a coffee, and the cashier was in training (in the morning on a holiday weekend). He didn't know the register codes, wrote each order on a notebook page, tore it out and laid it on a counter. There were 2 women mucking around and not at all attentive to the growing line behind me (there were 5 in front of me and by the time I got to the counter, approximately 20-25 behind me). They couldn't read his writing on the order paper, and had trouble filling the orders in front of me. I ordered a 3x espresso in the hope of simplifying and speeding up my coffee. This was definitely NOT a typical Peet's operation, and Peet's should be ashamed to have their name associated with this circus. The wall AC unit was very, very loud.

Room Tip: Parking a large vehicle required a very long walk to the complete other side of the complex (North T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Boomtown. I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you had a poor stay with us. We recently aquired new owners that are doing their best to turn Boomtown around. An extensive remodel is planned for the hotel and casino so we can better fit our guests needs. We will look into the issues you discussed not only about the room but the staff as well. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to give us a call. Any feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope you reconsider and come visit us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We all enjoy Boomtown, We are locals and Boomtown has become our favorite place to spend time We recommend the Hotel and Casino to everyone...family and friends, locals and out-of-towners alike. The main draw for us is the super staff and their fabulous service they provide. We especially enjoy Hope Ramirez and Casey Magnuson at the cashier center. Their consistent polite professional demeanor and friendly attitude is something we can count on each and every visit. Karen and Lana at the Players Club are so patient, helpful and courteous with everyone regardless of how many customers are waiting to be served. They are great! We really enjoy the slot tournaments and the drawings. Everyone gets a big kick out of these events and we hope they continue. Sam, Mike and Mike Milano are an especially important ingredient at these events. They all are very personable, professional and polite to everyone. Those big smiles and warm welcoming handshakes tell us they are having fun too, and they enjoy what they do. We have stayed several times at the hotel and have always enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very nice... clean, comfortable and quiet. We recommend this Hotel/Casino. The Holidays are coming...we can't wait!

Room Tip: We have only been in the North Tower and we really like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Mary
Thank you for your recent review of Boomtown. We love to hear from our locals and get feedback on how we're doing. I'm glad to hear that your visits with us have been so enjoyable and we hope you keep coming back. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boomtown Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomtown Hotel & Casino

Address: 2100 Garson Road, I-80 Exit 4 (Boomtown), Reno, NV 89439
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Reno
#8 Casino Hotel in Reno
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#17 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boomtown Hotel & Casino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Boomtown Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boomtown Hotel And Casino
Boomtown Nevada
Boomtown Nv
Boomtown Hotel Reno
Boomtown Hotel Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boomtown Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.