We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is improving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Regency Casino Hotel to your Saves list
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The place is improving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed at the sands about a year ago and had some problems with it, though I returned last moth and I can tell you they are working very hard to improve, They are very concerned about making your stay there enjoyable the buffet is one of the best in town and most of the people working there are friendly . If your on a budget The Sands is your best bet.
.

Room Tip: some towers are better than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsRegency, General Manager at The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and continue to come back to enjoy your buffet. Thank you for your business, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    274
    209
    109
    129
See reviews for
121
269
113
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

No tea maker, no microwave, limited choice of breakfast, location is pretty good, clean room. Great view from the top floor btw. So basically, you get what you paid for. Would recommend for people who only stay there for one or two nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsRegency, Public Relations Manager at The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We're glad you enjoy spending time with us and always look forward to your visits. Thank you for your continued business, we really appreciate it and you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Bright and spacious, cleaner than average air quality, lots of penny poker machines (that's all I do in casinos!). The location of this hotel is often said to be scary- I disagree. Because it stands apart a couple blocks away from the Strip (nearer to high-rise apartments and vaction condos than to the other casinos), the area is cleaner and more open than downtown. Notably I didn't see a single homeless person around this hotel. I did not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsRegency, Director of Sales at The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time playing the Penny Machines. Thank you for your business, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RENO,NV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We are locals but if we get the chance to stay in a hotel, we also prefer Sands Hotel. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, beds are soft and comfy. If you get a room somewhere at the Dynasty Tower, you'll see the other casinos nearby. There are good restaurants, too, and most of the slot machines are new.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room located at the Dynasty Tower. Most of the beds are new and the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Worse New Year's I Ever experienced! When I Got to the Hotel, I had to Wait forever to get my room! Even after it was Pre-Booked. The Room Was $159.77 just to Watch a few fireworks that Only lasted every bit Of 6 mins. so it Seemed! The Elevators are atrocious, thought I was gonna get Stuck inside! The place Smells like a Boxing Gym in the Bronx! It was Cold Out that night so had to wait almost an hour to heat the room after turning on the heater! Most Hotels Offer a Free breakfast, Or Free WiFi, Sand's Offers neither! Was suppose to Stay for 3 days bt Opted to keep it Moving! Went downstairs to Checkout and end up getting into an argument with the young girl at the front desk because she tells me I dont get a Checkout receipt, all I do is leave and they'll refund the Money back to my Card! Well Im Still Waiting for my Damn Money!!! Never Again! SILVER LEGACY For Me, and all my family and friends! This place needs New Management!!! Its really falling apart!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsRegency, General Manager at The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear you weren't pleased with your stay. Please email us at sandsreno@gmail.com so we can discuss your dissatisfaction and hopefully remedy this situation. We do appreciate your business and look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Good Thing about this hotel:
Close to the strip

Bad things about this hotel:
Extra charge for everything including a 2.00 room fee, business center, printing, to go orders, and internet. No movie channels, iron, or coffee in the room.

Will not stay there again, Ramada was a much better choice...

Room Tip: Don't stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

On a positive note, the service and food at the Copa restaurant were both outstanding! The Third Street Bar was non-functional during our visit. Seems the bartender did not show up for work and there was no back-up plan. The drink specials at the Copa were outstanding and the Main Bar had exceptional service ev en with the overflow crowd from the rest of the casino.
This hotel is inexpensive, clean, and most often reliable; this was not the time. Due to the pre-New Years crowd, the hotel was crowed with children and loud adults. There was a broken pipe in the Regency Tower which made for extremely cold water and no morning shower. Other rooms for our party had additional plumbing problems, burned out light bulbs, missing towels. The elevators were a great challenge which required the service man from Otis to arrive on scene.
Everyone has off days, so will give it another try and hope things improve since the price for a clean room and good bed are VERY reasonable.

Room Tip: City views have lights, train sounds, and sunrise light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.3 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#21 of 66 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#12 of 66 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#9 of 66 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.