We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was better than the casino” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Regency Casino Hotel to your Saves list
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Baldwin Park, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Room was better than the casino”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The casino rating is poor because all you can smell is smoke and the eating places are not impressive. It is also small. It took 45 min to check in because their computers were freezing up...

The room was better. We were on the 14th floor in the tower with the fitness room. It was quiet.

The fitness room is nice but it gets hot there since you're surrounded by windows but a great view. They have cardio machines and weights, sauna, and jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was empty each time I went to take advantage of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    269
    198
    104
    123
See reviews for
115
257
112
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reno
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is located 2 blocks from the strip, the food is great, the room was very clean. Nice place to gamble, not to packed. All employees were very nice and helpful. We couldn't beat the price of out stay. This is now our only place to stay in Reno.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ait Ben Haddou, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The first impression upon entering the Sands is the smell--as though a cigarette had been put out on a pile of dog crap. There is a distinct urine odor in the elevator. The room is even worse. Silverfish in the bathroom. Examination of the pillow revealed one curly little blonde hair, one curly little brown hair, two or three curly little black hairs, and one frighteningly long curly white hair. Yuck. NOTHING has changed except the ownership. This germ and dung hovel should've been torn down 30 years ago, or in Sand's terms, the last time the place was actually cleaned. You can't escape the stench of plague by hanging out in the casino either. The dealers are rude, unhelpful and greedy for tips. The pit boss looked like an escaped mental patient who lived in a 1930s flophouse. At least comb your hair, buddy! Despite buying in for $10,000 the first night, $15,000 the second and $5,000 the third night, we earned nothing but the scorn of the staff. The dealer was too busy flirting with a drunk invalid and mispaid constantly. The law in Nevada says that it's a felony for stealing if you keep the chips, but the dealer shouldn't have the right to grab your chips and take whatever amount she thinks was bet without checking upstairs. When the error was in the casino's favor, we didn't reach into the chip tray and make things right. It's the little things that make the Sands so damn crappy. You couldn't create a worse place to stay if you tried. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Let this POS fail for good so it and its staff can bed replaced by a dirt lot. It would certainly be cleaner.

Room Tip: You're better off walking down the street to the Greyhound station and sleeping on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed one night at the Sands Regency on the 14th floor (Nr. 1429) of the Dynasty tower. The room was large and clean but very noisy due to the elevator shaft that is nearby and very thin walls. The noise kept waking me up all night even after a 24 hrs trip with no sleep. If you stay at the Sands make sure you get a room well away from the elevators.

Room Tip: make sure to NOT get a room close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for a night on a long road trip. The room was good sized, clean, and the air conditioning worked. It's a smaller hotel, the staff was very busy with a convention, but were extremely friendly and helpful. We book the room from our phone 5 minutes before we walked in the door and they were able to get us next to our traveling companions.
The casino is smaller, gambled at the larger ones on the main drag, had a little bit of a walk off the main drag, but the streets were well lit and I felt safe.
Would recommend for a convention or if you just want a room, not an experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Top Contributor
1,116 reviews 1,116 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 209 cities Reviews in 209 cities
578 helpful votes 578 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a property that offers value for the room. Their food and the specials are not bad especially for the price.
The casino and gambling are not the best. It eludes a feeling of cheapness. While playing machines I asked for another cup of coffee and the song and dance and crap I got we'll--time to move on.
Rooms are nice and spacious in the newer tower.
Pool is nice enough but they police it like it is a drug trap.
Which is what rumor has it as.
Plenty of free parking!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

the check in staff were obviously harassed and as a result pretty snappy and had difficulty understanding my (scottish) accent which i found unusual as it was fairly touristy and had many different nationalities, including other scottish people i met at the bar (which was reasonably priced).

the buffet thing was pretty lukewarm and vile so i'd avoid. and i'm not a gambler, but the slots were pretty jam-packed, and there was a lot of closed tables.

the room itself was huge with cable tv and a very comfy bed with nice linen. i had a smoking room and there was clean ashtrays, a window that opened and good AC. an ashtray in the toilet too, which i found odd, but endearing.

some folk say it's in desperate need of a makeover and spruce up... i'd say it's cheap as chips - just think of it as retro! if you don't like it, there's several other casino hotels in reno for the same price range but i imagine them all to be the same.

the only really odd/bad thing... another guest walked into my room via an adjoining door to her room next to mine which wasn't locked and i'd assumed was a cupboard. these adjoining doors do lock, so make sure yours is before some poor, confused tourist steps into your room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.