We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little off the beaten path” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Sands Regency Casino Hotel to your Saves list
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little off the beaten path”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for a night on a long road trip. The room was good sized, clean, and the air conditioning worked. It's a smaller hotel, the staff was very busy with a convention, but were extremely friendly and helpful. We book the room from our phone 5 minutes before we walked in the door and they were able to get us next to our traveling companions.
The casino is smaller, gambled at the larger ones on the main drag, had a little bit of a walk off the main drag, but the streets were well lit and I felt safe.
Would recommend for a convention or if you just want a room, not an experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    246
    173
    92
    112
See reviews for
99
228
100
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Astoria oregon
Top Contributor
770 reviews 770 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a property that offers value for the room. Their food and the specials are not bad especially for the price.
The casino and gambling are not the best. It eludes a feeling of cheapness. While playing machines I asked for another cup of coffee and the song and dance and crap I got we'll--time to move on.
Rooms are nice and spacious in the newer tower.
Pool is nice enough but they police it like it is a drug trap.
Which is what rumor has it as.
Plenty of free parking!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

the check in staff were obviously harassed and as a result pretty snappy and had difficulty understanding my (scottish) accent which i found unusual as it was fairly touristy and had many different nationalities, including other scottish people i met at the bar (which was reasonably priced).

the buffet thing was pretty lukewarm and vile so i'd avoid. and i'm not a gambler, but the slots were pretty jam-packed, and there was a lot of closed tables.

the room itself was huge with cable tv and a very comfy bed with nice linen. i had a smoking room and there was clean ashtrays, a window that opened and good AC. an ashtray in the toilet too, which i found odd, but endearing.

some folk say it's in desperate need of a makeover and spruce up... i'd say it's cheap as chips - just think of it as retro! if you don't like it, there's several other casino hotels in reno for the same price range but i imagine them all to be the same.

the only really odd/bad thing... another guest walked into my room via an adjoining door to her room next to mine which wasn't locked and i'd assumed was a cupboard. these adjoining doors do lock, so make sure yours is before some poor, confused tourist steps into your room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Best poll of any hotel downtown! Best mid week prices of any hotel in Reno. Loose slots. Rooms are not updated, at all and look like you've stepped back to 1992 but the bed is comfy and the ac works.as a local this is the place i stay when Im broke. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Sands in the past, and altho it wasn't great, it was certainly alot better than it is now. This trip found it even more run-down, one elevator was out of order, the others weren't always working...
Biggest complaint was NO hot water! We stayed for 3 days and never had really hot water. One day the water totally shut off in the middle of a shower and came on cold, the last day was barely warm, so I didn't even shower.
The check in line was so long it took about 40 minutes to check in, not enough staff.
The first nite we went to have a drnk in the main part of the casino and it smelled of marijuana smoke, hard to believe they allow it? Possibly clove cigarettes? We weren't sure...
It is in a very sketchy neighborhood so posibbly.
The rates were really high, someone said because the rodeo was in town, tho didn't see any "Cowboys or Cowgirls"....But definately way over-priced.
Will not stay ever agin!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at the Sands on June 21st and June 25th and had 3 rooms and we all enjoyed our time at the Sands. The rooms were in great condition and a very nice hotel for the price. We didnt do much gambling there due to not enough open tables but they have great drink specials and very friendly staff.

Casino Host Craig Mcgregor was a big help and sorry if I mispelled his name.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are not clean nor has it ever been updated. No amenities, no rom service, place stinks, service horrible. Casino Host (sic) did not even have courtesy to return my call! Absolutely the worst of the worst!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.