We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dying Hotel in a Dying Town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sands Regency Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 65 hotels in Reno
Vancouver
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Dying Hotel in a Dying Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here ONLY because of the price, which was about the lowest I've paid for a "name" hotel for four years, and four years ago, I stayed here.
Reno has seen better days and so has this hotel. I get the feeling that, among the hotels that have already closed in town, this one is hanging on by a thread. Probably keeping the rooms full is what keeps the casino and restaurants busy. However, the owners probably realize that the only way to stay alive is to cut out maintenance. It's obvious that this hotel has been on a downward slide for a long time and every year will get a little older, a little dirtier and will never get the update/reno it sorely needs. One day it will join the ranks of the other dead hotels in Reno....no matter how cheap the rooms.

Room Tip: It's probably a good idea to see the room first before you agree to it but the low room prices k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    234
    166
    88
    103
See reviews for
93
217
94
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is my second time at the Sands and you get what you pay for at the Sands. So everybody quit your complaining. If you want premium Hotel then pay premium. The first time we got a room in a run down part of the hotel but it is what I expected. It was a place to sleep and that is what I wanted.
This last time was much improved. I was in the empress tower and on the 16th floor. Very clean and quiet up there. I don't recall exactly I was in room 1693 or 1696 down at the end of the hall away from the ice machine and elevator.

Room Tip: Empress tower 16th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The price was great and the room was clean. They only cleaned my room once in my four night stay. There was no fridge, microwave and no phone book in the room. My sleep was poor, because the bed needed to be replaced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Two blocks away from main Reno.nice little hotel id say ask for the regency tower.nice little cafe there and mel's diner was great. I didn't try the buffet.and there's bingo in this hotel if u like bingo.my family liked this hotel and the price was just right ;-) if u want a good price and a good hotel id stay here again.ilthe hotel has a work out area and a Jacuzzi and sauna which I enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Dated and used. room well appointed but three large spots on the carpet made me wonder where the filth ended. outside and inside showing lots years of use but little care. We will not stay here again and give the hotel a 1.5 rating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

All we needed was an inexpensive, basic, clean room and that's what we got. I requested a non smoking room at time of reservation and we had no problems with smoke at all.
Check in was not as smooth as it could have been since the lady behind the desk didn't seem to understand what "Prepaid" means and started arguing with us. The room was a bit dated and tired looking but perfectly fine considering the price we paid. The Hotel is located about a block away from the casinos on the main strip and easy to walk, we never felt unsafe returning at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights and more than likely will not stay there again. To put it bluntly, there is nothing spectacular about this place. i don't go out of my way to speak' Ill " of a place but it would be a stretch to say something nice. I guess I have come to expect the basics when traveling. ( Iron Board and IIron, in room coffee, a desk, a view. )
This is where the "locals" hang out. The location is on the edge of Downtown. really off the beaten path. The one saving Grace, The Housekeeping was Good.
Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money and stay at one of the Downtown locations

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel and if you do stay here, do not stay near the service room or the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.