We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Inexpensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sands Regency Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 65 hotels in Reno
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed here and the only reason is because it's so cheap. You can find rates as low as $15/night sun-thur. It costs $9.99/day for internet if you need it. The rooms generally are old and need an updating but are clean and comfortable. At that price, it's hard to complain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    233
    164
    88
    101
See reviews for
92
217
94
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Was in Reno for a 3 day volleyball tournament at the convention center. Picked the Sands based on price. The hotel is a little worn and outdated but room was clean and that's what is important. Pool was not open yet and that was a little disappointing but fitness center had a great view. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Had dinner twice from Mel's and food was good. All in all, I feel that it was good value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Your rooms are very clean and we always enjoy our stay there. We also like the restaurants that are available there. The rates are very affordable, especially since we get the rates from having the club card.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

A true embarrassment! The rooms were decorated like a 70's cat house and all the hotel stunk SO bad!!! You have NO hospitable amenities and it was truly mind blowing how rude the staff was ( with the exception of 1 or 2 ). I vow to Never stay there again and to keep all my friends and family from staying there!!! Pay the extra to stay else where... I promise you will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Sands Regency while driving from California to Idaho because we got a great deal through the hotel tonight app for a weeknight stay for only $15. First of, for $15 I don't expect much. All I cared about was a bed and a clean room and on both of those points I was satisfied. We checked in around 8 in the evening and there was a brief line, probably because there was only one person at the desk. Because the reservation had my wife's name on it the gentleman checking me in said I couldn't check in until he saw her id, which was something of an inconvenience since I've never had an issue checking in for my wife before. The bed was very comfortable and the room was large and although others on here have had issues with cleanliness we didn't find anything wrong at all with the room besides its dated decor. For the price I really couldn't complain. If you just want a basic, cheap room this is the place, if toy want anything more I'd suggest looking somewhere else.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The first trouble started at the reservation desk when the clerk said we only reserved one room. Then he was surly when I wanted a room on the same floor. The rooms were old but clean. No amenities, thin stringy towels and expensive Wi-Fi. DO NOT EAT THERE. We ate at Mel's and 1 of our party got sick. The service was very bad and the food was worse and that was breakfast. We were too scared to eat at the buffet if we could have found the hours of operation. Management really needs to wake up and really look at that place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is an older hotel that has had some renovations over the years but is still way below standards. They have two guest room towers, a smoking and non smoking be sure to inquire which you want. The casino inside is very small only a few tables however the dealers typically provide good service. Stay away from the food at the attached Mels Diner, I wound up with food positioning and in urgent care getting re-hydrated. It does have an outdoor pool however it is right of the street so somewhat noisy.The rooms are cheap but it directly reflects the hotel and the type of guest staying their. Within walking distance to some of the other larger casinos in downtown.

Room Tip: Inquire about which guest tower to stay in as one is smoking and the other non smoking. The non smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.