We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average plus budget hotel with limited service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sands Regency Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 65 hotels in Reno
Redding, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Average plus budget hotel with limited service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Sands had cleaner room during this stay :-). They have raised the prices on the seniors menu. An ice cream was $.50 on our last stay and was $.99 this stay. Depending on who serves you and when; the cone can be large or small. They had some free party favors of cupcakes and a special bar drink and plastic cup (these folks were quite friendly). The bartender at the bar - back by the front hotel desk - was in a bad mood and treated us very badly (3:20pm). I told him I no longer wanted a drink from him, as I did not understand his rude behavior. The woman bartender in the front area by the gambling tables was sweet and polite. We were kept awake both nights by a yelling couple in room 1189. We had 1191. When we called the Front Desk (2:30 am) and complained that a woman was screaming: "call 911"; no action was taken- (the woman clerk said she would contact "Security") ..?? I finally pounded on the door and they finally stopped. The hotel recently changed ownership. I believe the management is trying to do a good job with very limited resources and a few employees are 'jaded'; not realizing they may 'kill' their own jobs. I would go back (I am deaf); however, my wife says: "never again!" the "2for1" food coupons only covered select restaurants and those restaurants were not open on some days.This hotel caters to very budget minded folks; such as myself, however, a number of us seem to lack 'social graces'; thinking only of the immediate.I will return only with my men friends.

Room Tip: We thought higher room may be quieter; but not so this time?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    241
    171
    91
    110
See reviews for
98
223
100
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was at the Sands as I go up there once a month. Decided to give the Copa the final last try after 2 dinners already. Ordered Soup, got my soup, being raised in North Beach San Francisco, I asked for cheese for my soup, I was appalled, Was told CHEESE IS EXTRA $. Are you f______ kidding me. If you had a restaurant in North Beach, they would have shut you down. Cheese is on every table in abundance. As I was eating my soup.......here comes my entree....Hello...I haven't eaten my soup yet. Ordered pasta, the waitress asked if I wanted cheese....I of course asked is it extra $??? She was affended. I WILL NEVER EAT AT THE COPA AGAIN. Management please pay attention.... Maybe we should have Chef RAMSEY come up there and help you out!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great play to stay and play in between doctor appts. We travel 350 miles round trip and need 2 days in town the rates are wonderful for this purpose. Their handicap rooms are great for my 87 yr old Mom to get around in by herself - (lots of room for her walker and wheelchair) The bellhop men (Greg and Andrew) are wonderful getting our luggage in and out of our room.
On the NEGATIVE SIDE - the Internet service they provide (Hotel Internet) is "horrible" I bought a 1 day pass for 10.00 and was able to get on the internet approx 1 hr. I spent most of the time on the phone with the internet service trying to get me connected and they were unsuccessful and kept sending me to the "supervisor back up" which I would immediately get disconnected and would have to call back, this is the ONLY BAD EXPERIENCE I HAVE HAD WITH THE SANDS

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Mountain, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I come to Reno at least once a month. Altho I am a Nevada resident, I live quite a distance from Reno and have to stay one or two nights. I chose the Sands because the prices are great and it is convenient to most of the places I need to go. There is loads of parking and the lot is well lit. Altho the hotel is old and it could use some updating the staff is friendly and make you feel like family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Slight problem with first room, but rather than making us wait for maintenance, theY solved it with a room change, which is so much nicer than hoping they can fix it and still having to change later. This was our third visit to the Sands with no less than a positive experience every time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Got a $49.00 room on a Saturday night at the Sand's Regency Hotel/Casino. Great price, but by the time they add the taxes it's $57....just saying. The hotel is directly smack-dab next to the lowered train tracks that use to be street level. Trains were, what seemed, every hour and even two trains at once going in different directions! The rumble and noise woke us up all throughout the night.

On a Saturday at check-in time at 3pm there was a line to check-in. We were given the wrong room and had to stand in line all over again. Okay....can hang with that, but no apologies of any sort. A bit later the line was just outrageous.

The rooms are large and very basic. No refrigerators. No HBO. No WIFI. In this day of technology being what it is these casino's still want to charge you extra for WIFI?!? You have plenty of hot water at night, but in the morning it's just above luke warm.

The air quality in the casino is terrible so be prepared. The bartender was very nice and there seems to be locals that hang at the bar. The buffet was a Saturday Steak Buffet at $11.99 and possibly the worst buffet I'd ever been to...honestly. Sounds good that someone comes and asks how you want your steak, you tell them, and they return with this mall flat grisely piece of cow! The small selection the rest of the buffet were just as bad. I'm not kidding.

If you stay here, don't eat here, don't gamble here and don't breathe the air. Stay here and go someplace else to have fun. Prepare yourself so it doesn't bum out your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room the furthest away from the railroad tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Sayed at the sands before and I allways go back price is unbeatable rooms always clean ,rooms are large the views of Reno out the window great all the staff 5 stars,only one problem they need to give free wifi ,$10 a day come on please move with the times? come on the sands,get with It..........................................the best bed everrrrrrr comfortable and linen great too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.