We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Regency Casino Hotel to your Saves list
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Unionville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great play to stay and play in between doctor appts. We travel 350 miles round trip and need 2 days in town the rates are wonderful for this purpose. Their handicap rooms are great for my 87 yr old Mom to get around in by herself - (lots of room for her walker and wheelchair) The bellhop men (Greg and Andrew) are wonderful getting our luggage in and out of our room.
On the NEGATIVE SIDE - the Internet service they provide (Hotel Internet) is "horrible" I bought a 1 day pass for 10.00 and was able to get on the internet approx 1 hr. I spent most of the time on the phone with the internet service trying to get me connected and they were unsuccessful and kept sending me to the "supervisor back up" which I would immediately get disconnected and would have to call back, this is the ONLY BAD EXPERIENCE I HAVE HAD WITH THE SANDS

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    265
    193
    102
    121
See reviews for
109
251
110
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Round Mountain, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I come to Reno at least once a month. Altho I am a Nevada resident, I live quite a distance from Reno and have to stay one or two nights. I chose the Sands because the prices are great and it is convenient to most of the places I need to go. There is loads of parking and the lot is well lit. Altho the hotel is old and it could use some updating the staff is friendly and make you feel like family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Slight problem with first room, but rather than making us wait for maintenance, theY solved it with a room change, which is so much nicer than hoping they can fix it and still having to change later. This was our third visit to the Sands with no less than a positive experience every time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Got a $49.00 room on a Saturday night at the Sand's Regency Hotel/Casino. Great price, but by the time they add the taxes it's $57....just saying. The hotel is directly smack-dab next to the lowered train tracks that use to be street level. Trains were, what seemed, every hour and even two trains at once going in different directions! The rumble and noise woke us up all throughout the night.

On a Saturday at check-in time at 3pm there was a line to check-in. We were given the wrong room and had to stand in line all over again. Okay....can hang with that, but no apologies of any sort. A bit later the line was just outrageous.

The rooms are large and very basic. No refrigerators. No HBO. No WIFI. In this day of technology being what it is these casino's still want to charge you extra for WIFI?!? You have plenty of hot water at night, but in the morning it's just above luke warm.

The air quality in the casino is terrible so be prepared. The bartender was very nice and there seems to be locals that hang at the bar. The buffet was a Saturday Steak Buffet at $11.99 and possibly the worst buffet I'd ever been to...honestly. Sounds good that someone comes and asks how you want your steak, you tell them, and they return with this mall flat grisely piece of cow! The small selection the rest of the buffet were just as bad. I'm not kidding.

If you stay here, don't eat here, don't gamble here and don't breathe the air. Stay here and go someplace else to have fun. Prepare yourself so it doesn't bum out your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room the furthest away from the railroad tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Sayed at the sands before and I allways go back price is unbeatable rooms always clean ,rooms are large the views of Reno out the window great all the staff 5 stars,only one problem they need to give free wifi ,$10 a day come on please move with the times? come on the sands,get with It..........................................the best bed everrrrrrr comfortable and linen great too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alturas, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our stay at the Sands was nice everyone was helpful, they make you fell at home. The rooms are clean , beds are new in the rooms we have been in., some rooms have computer desks , some have chairs and a love seat . But in the most they are warm and cozy an we like it for the price you can't beat it. The bell hop staff are always helpfull with everything,the restrant staff also are always in good form (they are always cheerfull and fun ) and thats what makes for a grate stay anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband chose this hotel because it was Pet Friendly. We were married the week end we stayed here and have No Complaints! The Casino was clean with quite the vast selection of Games on the Floor. The Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The price per room was affordable. Because it is a Pet Friendly Hotel, we plan on staying here Every time we take a trip to Reno!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.