We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great if you're on a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Sands Regency Casino Hotel to your Saves list
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Reno
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great if you're on a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

the sands isn't exactly luxurious, but its good if you're on a budget. i usually stay here after snowboarding at Northstar (it's about a 40minute drive).

i was in the Empress tower, a newly renovated one--lucky, i guess. rooms are GIANT, with floor-to-ceiling windows. beds are veeerrrryyy comfortable, and i didn't hear much noise surrounding me. was i there on a slower night? cable channels are adequate.

i usually stay here when i'm traveling solo, because you can't beat the price!

the fitness center, jacuzzi and steamroom are pretty good. usually not very crowded.

parking is free, and easily accessible. if you're there in the winter, it gets VERY cold at night--you're likely to find lotsa frost on your car windshield in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    250
    177
    96
    113
See reviews for
101
234
102
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A must visit when in Reno to add more points to your Player's Card account. Great buffet too! The best part of the Sands Regency is the liberal Free Slot Play you can earn. You can also use your points to pay for your meals. The Health Club has the best jacuzzi and is seldom crowded. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Stay in the Main Tower as that's where the Health Club is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We traveled to Reno, the location was nice. The staff was friendly and made us feel welcome at home . They gave us good directions , which was very helpful. When we checked into the hotel, the rooms were clean and the view of downtown Reno was spectacular. The slot machines paid real well. I think that if I stayed another time, I would play bingo. To all of my friends I made , hope to see you again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

For an authentic Reno experience, you can't beat the Sands. I booked my room for just $15 using the hotel tonight iphone app, checked in without even putting a deposit down and couldn't have been more pleased with my spacious room, complete with a lounge area and view of the biggest little city.

I liked the cheesy imitation art deco furnishings in our room and the bright flashing lights on the building's exterior, though they might annoy some people. The room was quite large with floor to ceiling windows and even a sitting area. I didn't eat any of the in house food and wouldn't suggest anyone else do so either as there are plenty of cheap food options in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

The casino is very smoky but otherwise okay and the staff become very unpleasant when you are late checking out. There is also a free shuttle to the airport, though I wouldn't necessarily depend on it if I was running late!

Room Tip: Ask for one higher up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock Pines, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Sands probably about 4 times in all. Each time we have gotten rooms which are fine. It seems some of them have been remodeled/upgraded and some haven't. There's nothing wrong with the older ones, but the upgraded one was very nice. It would be nice to have some in-room coffee, but I know most casinos don't offer it. It is a very easy walk to the University, which was our main criteria for choosing this hotel. Would recommend it, but you may want to ask for an upgraded room just for a nice surprise.
The spa on the top floor is big with a great view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff that provides services to our annual North American Shuffleboard Championships held the last week of October every year for 23 years now are outstanding. They are always prompt, very helpful and friendly. We couldn't ask for better service from maintenance, our bar personnel and IT staff. Great job again this year guys. Thank you for the terrific hospitality you always provide us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitethorn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Sands is a basic, clean, comfortable hotel. The room was unexpectedly large. We had dinner at the Copa, where food was much better than I had expected. The next morning's breakfast at Mel's restaurant was also very good, with large portions. We found plenty of available free parking. Room smelled a tiny bit stuffy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.