We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to play to win” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sands Regency Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 65 hotels in Reno
1 review
“Got to play to win”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We traveled to Reno, the location was nice. The staff was friendly and made us feel welcome at home . They gave us good directions , which was very helpful. When we checked into the hotel, the rooms were clean and the view of downtown Reno was spectacular. The slot machines paid real well. I think that if I stayed another time, I would play bingo. To all of my friends I made , hope to see you again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    234
    166
    88
    105
See reviews for
93
217
96
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

For an authentic Reno experience, you can't beat the Sands. I booked my room for just $15 using the hotel tonight iphone app, checked in without even putting a deposit down and couldn't have been more pleased with my spacious room, complete with a lounge area and view of the biggest little city.

I liked the cheesy imitation art deco furnishings in our room and the bright flashing lights on the building's exterior, though they might annoy some people. The room was quite large with floor to ceiling windows and even a sitting area. I didn't eat any of the in house food and wouldn't suggest anyone else do so either as there are plenty of cheap food options in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

The casino is very smoky but otherwise okay and the staff become very unpleasant when you are late checking out. There is also a free shuttle to the airport, though I wouldn't necessarily depend on it if I was running late!

Room Tip: Ask for one higher up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock Pines, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Sands probably about 4 times in all. Each time we have gotten rooms which are fine. It seems some of them have been remodeled/upgraded and some haven't. There's nothing wrong with the older ones, but the upgraded one was very nice. It would be nice to have some in-room coffee, but I know most casinos don't offer it. It is a very easy walk to the University, which was our main criteria for choosing this hotel. Would recommend it, but you may want to ask for an upgraded room just for a nice surprise.
The spa on the top floor is big with a great view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff that provides services to our annual North American Shuffleboard Championships held the last week of October every year for 23 years now are outstanding. They are always prompt, very helpful and friendly. We couldn't ask for better service from maintenance, our bar personnel and IT staff. Great job again this year guys. Thank you for the terrific hospitality you always provide us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitethorn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Sands is a basic, clean, comfortable hotel. The room was unexpectedly large. We had dinner at the Copa, where food was much better than I had expected. The next morning's breakfast at Mel's restaurant was also very good, with large portions. We found plenty of available free parking. Room smelled a tiny bit stuffy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were a big fan of this hotel because of their dog-friendly policies. Even that isn't enough for us to come back. We arrived with a pre-paid reservation package, only to find that the smoking room we'd reserved--and had paid for in advance--was no longer available. Our choice: A non-smoking room (not acceptable to my spouse, who smokes) or a smoking room where we couldn't have the dogs (no suggestion as to where the dogs were supposed to stay). Eventually, after 20 minutes of ridiculous negotiations with a know-nothing clerk who apparently lacked any authority to do anything, a smoking room with two beds that the dogs could be in was "found." Meanwhile, the reservations clerk kept disappearing with first my driver's license and then my credit card for 10 minutes at time--doing what, we have no idea. (Given the problems with identity theft, this seemed to us like a very bad policy, if indeed it is a policy at all.) It took nearly a half hour to check in, a ridiculous length of time. And the dogs, who used to be able to stay for free, are now charged $17.50 per dog with a $50 refundable fee. (We don't object to paying extra for the dogs; we object to not being told in advance, when we made the reservation that there were fees for the dogs.)

Finally we arrived at a room that can only be described as "grubby" and "shoddy." The carpet was filthy with rips and holes in it; the bathroom floor appeared not to have been washed in a very long time; there was the tiniest bar of soap I've ever seen that was expected to serve as both the facial and bath soap. The parking facility was difficult to navigate and very dark, and didn't feel very safe. The menu in the buffet restaurant was extremely limited and decided carb-heavy.

All-in-all, it was a terrible room in a hotel that has downgraded from okay to awful in the last couple of years. Every time we've visited, we thought maybe next time will be better. Now, it's hard to imagine how they could bring it back without a major upgrade. This time when we say, "never again", we mean never again. The dogs will stay home next time and we'll be staying in a decent hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

i've stayed here many times over the years and have always had a nice clean room, at a bargain price. the only reason i don't give them a 5, is because they aren't super fancy, just nice, clean and comfortable. i also like there buffet, cozy and good food, seems more like a resturant. the casino is a bit smokey, but it's a casino. look for week nightr specials for $25 and below, certain times of the year.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing downtown[east] as they are larger. get as high up as possible. non-smoking roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.