We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reno visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sands Regency Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 65 hotels in Reno
Pollock Pines, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reno visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Sands probably about 4 times in all. Each time we have gotten rooms which are fine. It seems some of them have been remodeled/upgraded and some haven't. There's nothing wrong with the older ones, but the upgraded one was very nice. It would be nice to have some in-room coffee, but I know most casinos don't offer it. It is a very easy walk to the University, which was our main criteria for choosing this hotel. Would recommend it, but you may want to ask for an upgraded room just for a nice surprise.
The spa on the top floor is big with a great view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    240
    170
    91
    109
See reviews for
97
222
99
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff that provides services to our annual North American Shuffleboard Championships held the last week of October every year for 23 years now are outstanding. They are always prompt, very helpful and friendly. We couldn't ask for better service from maintenance, our bar personnel and IT staff. Great job again this year guys. Thank you for the terrific hospitality you always provide us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitethorn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Sands is a basic, clean, comfortable hotel. The room was unexpectedly large. We had dinner at the Copa, where food was much better than I had expected. The next morning's breakfast at Mel's restaurant was also very good, with large portions. We found plenty of available free parking. Room smelled a tiny bit stuffy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were a big fan of this hotel because of their dog-friendly policies. Even that isn't enough for us to come back. We arrived with a pre-paid reservation package, only to find that the smoking room we'd reserved--and had paid for in advance--was no longer available. Our choice: A non-smoking room (not acceptable to my spouse, who smokes) or a smoking room where we couldn't have the dogs (no suggestion as to where the dogs were supposed to stay). Eventually, after 20 minutes of ridiculous negotiations with a know-nothing clerk who apparently lacked any authority to do anything, a smoking room with two beds that the dogs could be in was "found." Meanwhile, the reservations clerk kept disappearing with first my driver's license and then my credit card for 10 minutes at time--doing what, we have no idea. (Given the problems with identity theft, this seemed to us like a very bad policy, if indeed it is a policy at all.) It took nearly a half hour to check in, a ridiculous length of time. And the dogs, who used to be able to stay for free, are now charged $17.50 per dog with a $50 refundable fee. (We don't object to paying extra for the dogs; we object to not being told in advance, when we made the reservation that there were fees for the dogs.)

Finally we arrived at a room that can only be described as "grubby" and "shoddy." The carpet was filthy with rips and holes in it; the bathroom floor appeared not to have been washed in a very long time; there was the tiniest bar of soap I've ever seen that was expected to serve as both the facial and bath soap. The parking facility was difficult to navigate and very dark, and didn't feel very safe. The menu in the buffet restaurant was extremely limited and decided carb-heavy.

All-in-all, it was a terrible room in a hotel that has downgraded from okay to awful in the last couple of years. Every time we've visited, we thought maybe next time will be better. Now, it's hard to imagine how they could bring it back without a major upgrade. This time when we say, "never again", we mean never again. The dogs will stay home next time and we'll be staying in a decent hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

i've stayed here many times over the years and have always had a nice clean room, at a bargain price. the only reason i don't give them a 5, is because they aren't super fancy, just nice, clean and comfortable. i also like there buffet, cozy and good food, seems more like a resturant. the casino is a bit smokey, but it's a casino. look for week nightr specials for $25 and below, certain times of the year.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing downtown[east] as they are larger. get as high up as possible. non-smoking roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went to Reno to compete in the Women's National Bowling Competition. The Sands is 2 blocks away from all the hustle and bustle but within walking distance of the bowling stadium in Reno. Service was great, food was good and it was a good week of being there. Will be going back in 2013 for next Women's Nationals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Sands Regency during the 2012 TravelNevada.com Reno Air Races. Hotel provided timely ground transportation between the airport and the hotel. Knowledgeable check-in staff gave extremely helpful advice on the air race and local attractions. The room, although basic, was clean, quiet, and more than adequate to meet my needs. All three restaurants within the hotel provided well-prepared meals for very reasonable prices. Although there are flashier places to stay in Reno, the Sands-Regency should more than meet all your needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.