We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot August Nights 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Regency Casino Hotel to your Saves list
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hot August Nights 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have blocked off space for a group from Canada every two years at this hotel without any problems but it seems that it has changed hands now and they would not block off space so 8 people stayed at other places like Circus Circus -only 4 of us stayed at the Sands - we were told we would have rooms side by side - ours was on the 12th floor and theirs was on the 15th !!! - The other couple were not given our messages when they checked in later than we did either - the rooms seem to be newly painted and re decorated and are large (we were in Dynasty Tower) and we really like Mels diner - the A/C is sooo loud and old and on all night in August !!! Our room was near the elevator and we got all the noise from people in the hallway !!! I think that next time we will be looking elsewhere as the advantages that we got by staying at the Sands are not there now.

Room Tip: don't stay near the elevator and ask if the ice machine is working on your floor - it was not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    253
    185
    99
    114
See reviews for
104
242
105
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

You cant beat the prices of this hotel.. No resort fees either. Our room was so retro and what I mean by that is i think they have not updated the decor since the early 60;s. It brought back memories of me as a child traveling to Reno with my parents. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. What I liked most about it is that it was so crowded like the bigger casinos are. We will defintely stay here again. One word of advise though we didnt realize at the time there are 2 towers and when we cked in we werent told where to go, so we got confused finding our room, but once the confusion was gone we were happy. Oh the buffet was great too. Got a free one when we booked our room, but the prices are very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

While its likely well known among travellers to Reno as an economy hotel ( ie: don't expect top drawer facilities ), the Sands Regency can have some nevertheless surprising disappointments. I just spent a week there ( Nov 5th to 11th 2012 ). On my check out day, I was in the shower about 8:30 a.m. about to rinse off a well soaped body and shampoo lathered hair when the water started to run cold. No amount of tap adjusting could get warmer water and in no time the water was running pure cold. There was little sympathy or even an apology from the front desk when I checked out, though they did offer a modest meal voucher as compensation. The latter is not important but travellers choosing the Sands should be aware the water problem can happen. One final note: Sound-proofing between rooms is below standard. If you're unfortunate enough to have noisy neighbors ( mine were adolescent kids who were allowed to stay up way late), you may have your sleep time interrupted. If you're on the railroad track side of the hotel, you will definitely be awakened by the Amtrak roaring by at any hour of the night.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from elevators ( in the event of fire, you won't want to use them anyway ); Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte Meadows, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I have spent a lot of time traveling to the Reno Area the last two years. Mostly on family business. Probably 15 trips in that time frame. We started using the Sands Regency for about 11 of those trips. A very affordable place a couple of blocks off Virginia Street. Staff is friendly and it has some good dining places. Mels is always serving up some good coffee house food, the Copa Bar and Grill is nice as are the other places. They have pet friendly rooms, a pool and hot tub outside. I feel the games and slots give you a sporting chance. At casinos if you join a players club, you get perks back, some are small some are big. At the Sands you can get cards in the mail every so often offering rooms at rates of $19 to $30 a night for many nights through out the year. We were up during Hot August Nights, room rates were very reasonable and the food was very good. It was nice to see a lot of cars that people put a lot of hard work into. Now back to the Sands. If your expectations aren't to high, this is really a pretty nice place, but it needs to over come a few things to be better. Reservations, you make them, get a confirmation number. show up and you can find your King bed has turned into two double Queens. Now there is the pool and hot tub area. Kids don't have a lot to do at most casinos. They need access to the pool. Adults though need adult time. Sands offers this one day a week for a couple of hours at their pool party. Hey Sands folks, I think you forgot who pays the bills there. Give the adults just a couple hours a day. We want the kids there, but it is nice to get a little time without them. Now the bar at the pool. It's real operating time is anyones guess. They have hours posted, but the roll up doors are rolled down a lot. You don't charge a drink to your room, they want you to bring your wallets and purses around so people can get into them when your not looking. Towels, bring your own. They do supply them, but it takes far to long to replace them and they run out often and for long periods of time. To be fair my wife and I as I said spent several times at the Sands and most of them were pretty good times. This time not so much. We are thinking we will save the Sands for trips when the weather is cooler and when we want to use the pool, go to another place. If your expectations are higher the Grand Sierra has just put $25,000,000 into remodling. The Peppermill is a great place. I have several friends that love how Atlantis treats them. The Circus Circus, Silver Legacy and Eldorado are tied together with very nice above ground walkways. You can travel through three casinos without stepping outside. If you want to pay less the Sands Regency is pretty nice most of the time.

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms are on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Sands Casino has had the best deals on comps. I love how easy it is to earn points that don't expire to be used in their buffet. I also enjoy the regular free nights offers they send me which I try to use as often as possible. Their jacuzzi in their health center is the best in Reno for the best massage. I don't know if I'm just lucky or Sands has the loosest slots, but I always win when I play at the Sands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

we have not been to reno in about 20 years.the reason is that it was dirty and had to walk alot.but we went down in july 2012 and was very surprise by the cleansness of the whole town we stayed at the sands anthe d was very surprise at the level of friendlyand helpful and the how clean the whole place was. It started at the front desk as I got one day earier then planned they change everything for us,the was big and very clean. the service we got was out of this world. we are going back in sept ands that is where we are staying

Room Tip: depens on your needs or what you want remember you are there to have and sleep in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alturas, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The casino is a great value for the price, older casino but clean and restaurants have great food at a very reasonable price. Its a low key place, I want to try the Bingo sometime, friends say its great. Strawberry Daquaris are great too.

Room Tip: I always ask to stay in the Empress tower - its newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Regency Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.