We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Save Saved
You added Silver Legacy Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silver Legacy Resort and Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free Special
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Clean, nicely decorated, reasonably priced and friendly staff. Huge parking garage with suitable free parking. Love that it is connected to two other properties. My teens were able to walk over to Circus Circus and play in the arcade for hours.

Room Tip: Higher room facing the mountains for a great view of the Sierras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    544
    214
    100
    84
See reviews for
209
425
91
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

First time to Reno and I decided to give Silver Legacy a try. Stayed 09/09/13 for 2 nights. I go to Vegas quite often, so I was skeptical as to what Reno would have to offer. I must say, I was impressed. Silver Legacy has everything you could want in a hotel/casino. Cheap and high end restaurants, clean rooms, quick and delicious room service (Get the chocolate cake and brownies!), a huge casino floor and friendly customer service. Silver Legacy is also connected to both the Circus Circus and Eldorado. My only complaint is the casino staff should open more tables. I was left waiting for a roulette spot. I ended up playing a lot at the Circus Circus and Eldorado. Otherwise a great experience and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Good stuff:

Friendly staff. Needed extra towel and they delivered four and it took less than 15 minutes. Gym has new equipment and very clean.

Good coffee (two little packets per day that cost $3 each if you want more). Sheets were of high quality.

Towels in bathroom were large, soft, and absorbent. Adequate water coming out of shower head.

Pool towels were excellent for a which is rare as it seems to be a place hotels save money. Spa staff was excellent.

Problems:

Resort fee was $11 per day. There's nothing special that is extra, just the standard 4 star amenities. It's just a tax on top of the regular taxes.

Parking. We had to drive up 10 stories of spiral all but one of the times we parked. There was a lot of traffic in the opposite direction to contend with on very tight turns. There was a lot of waiting for oncoming traffic to clear the turns. I think the next big capitol investment the property should do is to put in a better parking structure in an adjacent lot with people movers to make it easy. This works really well in several Vegas properties.

Room had two queen beds. The bed closest to TV had edge roll-off. With two sleepers it made it an uncomfortable night and I slept oddly so my arms wound up stiff.

Our toilet had a flush issue. If you didn't quite depress the button enough it would make a lot of noise and very slowly release the tank into the bowl which didn't fully clean up things.

Other stuff:

Free Wifi was quick enough. They ask for an additional $3/day for 3 times the speed which we did not try. Probably need higher speed for streaming video or skype.

TV probably allowed Skype because we saw a camera in it.

Pool was small and a bit less than clear on a Sunday morning. Hot tub was a bit small and also less than clear on Sunday. But both were in good shape. There were very nice cabanas you could reserve and good deck chairs for everyone to use. Because you had to check in with the Spa staff there were plenty of towels. The pool area had restroom access and a snack bar.

Room Tip: The higher rooms in the pool tower tend to have a good view. We were in 1141 and could watch the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Silver Legacy is a really pleasant place to stay in Reno. As expected from a casino, it has massive public areas including several casinos and even more restaurants and bars. The hotel is connected to two neighboring hotels, which only increases the food and gambling choices. The rooms are a bit dated but very large and comfortable. Everything smells like air freshener and has a lingering scent of cigarettes but it is obvious that the staff works very hard to keep the hotel clean. The pool and fitness center are exceptionally large and well-appointed, including a separate women and men's area with steam room, sauna and whirlpool. The staff at the fitness center, and really everywhere, could not have been more pleasant and accommodating. The hotel gives guests a bunch of coupons for the shops and restaurants, which was nice. It is also within short walking distance of Reno's new river walk district, a great grouping of restaurants and bars on the Truckee River. It is worth getting out of casino world to check that out as well.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel offers beautiful views of the surrounding mountains while the others look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This will be our 10+ stay at the Silver Legacy. We get free rooms on the weekdays occasionally and did get Monday and Tuesday free. We went to celebrate a birthday and asked for and got 3 rooms all next to each other. Rooms are spacious enough and nice view from the 19 th floor. One free wifi connection per room but the wifi is pretty slow if you are used to cable. If you are used to casinos that are very smokey you will be happy to know that it is not noticeable in the casino here. There are new restaurants including Hussongs cantina. Circus Circus adjoins and is connected to Silver Legacy so the kids have something to do.

Room Tip: Floors 17 and 26 share 2 elevator banks so during crowded times you won't have to wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The rooms are very nice and have plenty of light for work, unlike other hotels in Reno which are not conducive to the business traveler. The desk lamp had two electrical outlets in it, which made it convenient to charge a laptop and phone. When I checked in, I was given a $5 coupon for the buffet, Flavors, which was reasonably priced to begin with. The coupon made it even cheaper.

Room Tip: There are 3 sets of elevators. The best room to get is one that is on the first floor the express e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was impressed on how well the air ventilation system worked at this casino. I come from a state where smoking is not permitted indoors and was dreading this aspect of the trip. I spent time in other casinos and their ventilation systems are not half as good as the Legacy's. It was a full house near the end of my stay due to a off road race in town that weekend. I am glad I checked in before this group arrived to town because the young lady at the front desk let me help pick the location of my room. She was quite friendly and very helpful. Everyone was great through out my five day stay. The only complaint I have is my shower drain did not drain all the way after two visits from maintenance. I grew tired of calling for them to fix it so I just let it go. Also, be careful in the parking garage. People drive WAY TOO FAST and do not stay in their own lane. There were too many close calls entering and exiting the garage. I felt like I was in Fast and the Furious Tokyo Drift. They could benefit from painting a line to divide into to lanes and post speed limit and caution signs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Legacy Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Address: 407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#5 Spa Hotel in Reno
#7 Casino Hotel in Reno
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#14 Family Hotel in Reno
#19 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Legacy Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excitement of Silver Legacy Resort Casino, located in the heart of Downtown Reno. Elegance and luxury surrounds you with over 1,700 rooms and suites. Immerse yourself in the captivating atmosphere of this beautiful hotel, where the Sierra Mountains create an exquisite backdrop for your getaway; offering world-class skiing, golfing and outdoor activities just minutes from the comfort of your spacious Reno hotel room. Silver Legacy Resort Casino offers all of the amenities you've come to expect from a modern mega resort, and yet still emphasizes the award-winning customer service that the property has built its reputation on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Silver Legacy Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Legacy Hotel Reno
Silver Legacy Resort Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Legacy Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.