We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3d stay, finally let down...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Legacy Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Silver Legacy Resort and Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$56 Room + 2 FREE Drinks
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Reno
plumas lake
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“3d stay, finally let down...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

WE LOVE THE LEGACY! This is our 3d stay, each time we stay a little better, either better room or longer weekend or do a little more by sight seeing. This trip is a late Christmas gift from our son. I just returned from a long trip out of country, so spending quality time with wife priority #1.

Great size suite with bubbler bath, nice....big, huge water damage stain on ceiling, NOT NICE

Views from window, good....elevator noise 24hrs a day, NOT GOOD

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    573
    223
    104
    87
See reviews for
219
464
100
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just moved to Reno, Nevada after a vacation and really love Silver Legacy! I went there with my husband and we signed up for our player cards first. The staff was really polite and helpful, making sure that we got signed up for everything we'd need; including taking our email address so they could mail us offers. We found some great machines to play at (penny slots!) and enjoyed a couple hours worth of gambling. We walked away after losing our planned budget but it was a great way to spend an afternoon together. The staff was awesome and kept bringing us drinks so we wouldn't have to go up to the bar. Definitely recommend this to any newbies in the Reno, NV area!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was in Reno for business and this was one of the two hotels that were suggested as good places to stay. When I checked in, I apparently won the lucky draw and got upgraded from a standard room to a small suite with an in-room spa. The suite is nice with modern furnishings and has a great view of Mt. Rose out the 32nd floor window.

The hotel itself seems nicer than the other hotels downtown, but it can't measure up to the glitz of hotels on the strip in Vegas. We arrived on a Tuesday and the town was nearly empty and the hotel seemed deserted compared to the number of guests it could hold. As I write this up on Thursday evening, the amount of people and the energy of the place has substantially increased. I imagine it will be relatively interesting place to hang out by tomorrow evening. One downside is that I can hear the elevators whisking up and down the building from my room. It's a bit of white noise to me after a while, but I can imagine it would bother some.

I don't gamble, so I can't say much about the casino, but the action there seemed to be comparable to other casinos that I've walked through. As a people watcher rather than a gambler, I like to see action in casinos and people on the street.

The service at the hotel has been adequate, but not stellar. The rooms are clean and fairly reasonably priced, though I am staying midweek as noted above. All in all, I would certainly be willing to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of Mt. Rose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The price of the rooms varied greatly depending on what Internet site you book on. We ended up paying about 45 per night which was the cheapest price we found. They do charge a resort fee of 10 dollars per night that is not included in internet bookings. The room was not what we expected or what it was advertised as and was fairly small however it was adequate. We had to request a mini fridge as they are not stock in the rooms. Our television didn't work at all during our 5 day stay. We called for assistance several times. Sometimes a technician would come and fiddle with it sometimes no one came. We complained to the manager who was very
helpful and offered us multiple comps including a free dinner and breakfast. The casino did not have great food or good food service. The food was overpriced. The dealers at the table games we quite nice and made our Reno experience a bit more fun. Overall I would return but I was not overly impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My sister and I attending the Bowling tournament last week and we stayed at this hotel. Very nice and classy but the service could use a lot of improvement. We received mixed attitudes from the employees both at check in and at the coffee shop. It was almost like they really didn't care if we stayed again since they were busy and the service in the coffee shop was horrible, cold food and very slow. When we complained we got a smile and a oh, well attitude. While the hotel was nice and the beds comfortable, next year we will stay somewhere else. I have to note though, the shuttle service was excellent and we did have fun spending our hard earned dollars in the casino and listening to the entertainment. For the price, I would have expected a lot more bang for the buck.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed here three nights while attending a conference. First and foremost, if you are a conference and meeting planner - do your attendees a favor and consider another location. Conference rooms are next to entertainment areas. This pavement causes a lot of ambient noise and heavy smoke smell.

The hotel rooms are average at best. At least one other reviewer noted the bed is hard, I agree... Very uncomfortable. The air conditioning never really cooled the room, and a small vent by the window didn't fully seal when closed causing a lot of noise during high winds. On the plus side, there is a coffee maker in the room. Yippee.

You will pay a resort fee. The fee includes Internet access. Thus is the worst Internet access I've ever used. Sessions frequently logged out, and the speed was unusably slow. I ended up paying for the premium Internet... Which was better, but should be the standard given the fee.

Plenty of parking in the parking ramp and an elevator to take you to the lobby. Common areas are clean (as was the room), but all smelled of smoke. Casino and hotel staff were friendly, but nothing outstanding.

I always ask myself, would I stay there again? No. Plenty of other options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The room was average, we had a non-smoking room but the entire hallway wreaked of smoke. The room doors slam shut and are very loud due to sticky lock mechanisms. We could hear people coming and going all night long.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Legacy Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Address: 407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#5 Spa Hotel in Reno
#7 Casino Hotel in Reno
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#17 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Legacy Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excitement of Silver Legacy Resort Casino, located in the heart of Downtown Reno. Elegance and luxury surrounds you with over 1,700 rooms and suites. Immerse yourself in the captivating atmosphere of this beautiful hotel, where the Sierra Mountains create an exquisite backdrop for your getaway; offering world-class skiing, golfing and outdoor activities just minutes from the comfort of your spacious Reno hotel room. Silver Legacy Resort Casino offers all of the amenities you've come to expect from a modern mega resort, and yet still emphasizes the award-winning customer service that the property has built its reputation on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silver Legacy Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Legacy Hotel Reno
Silver Legacy Resort Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Legacy Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.