We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a Reno Casino” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Save Saved
You added Silver Legacy Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver Legacy Resort and Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 65 hotels in Reno
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Okay for a Reno Casino”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The price of the rooms varied greatly depending on what Internet site you book on. We ended up paying about 45 per night which was the cheapest price we found. They do charge a resort fee of 10 dollars per night that is not included in internet bookings. The room was not what we expected or what it was advertised as and was fairly small however it was adequate. We had to request a mini fridge as they are not stock in the rooms. Our television didn't work at all during our 5 day stay. We called for assistance several times. Sometimes a technician would come and fiddle with it sometimes no one came. We complained to the manager who was very
helpful and offered us multiple comps including a free dinner and breakfast. The casino did not have great food or good food service. The food was overpriced. The dealers at the table games we quite nice and made our Reno experience a bit more fun. Overall I would return but I was not overly impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    510
    205
    94
    78
See reviews for
195
396
82
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My sister and I attending the Bowling tournament last week and we stayed at this hotel. Very nice and classy but the service could use a lot of improvement. We received mixed attitudes from the employees both at check in and at the coffee shop. It was almost like they really didn't care if we stayed again since they were busy and the service in the coffee shop was horrible, cold food and very slow. When we complained we got a smile and a oh, well attitude. While the hotel was nice and the beds comfortable, next year we will stay somewhere else. I have to note though, the shuttle service was excellent and we did have fun spending our hard earned dollars in the casino and listening to the entertainment. For the price, I would have expected a lot more bang for the buck.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed here three nights while attending a conference. First and foremost, if you are a conference and meeting planner - do your attendees a favor and consider another location. Conference rooms are next to entertainment areas. This pavement causes a lot of ambient noise and heavy smoke smell.

The hotel rooms are average at best. At least one other reviewer noted the bed is hard, I agree... Very uncomfortable. The air conditioning never really cooled the room, and a small vent by the window didn't fully seal when closed causing a lot of noise during high winds. On the plus side, there is a coffee maker in the room. Yippee.

You will pay a resort fee. The fee includes Internet access. Thus is the worst Internet access I've ever used. Sessions frequently logged out, and the speed was unusably slow. I ended up paying for the premium Internet... Which was better, but should be the standard given the fee.

Plenty of parking in the parking ramp and an elevator to take you to the lobby. Common areas are clean (as was the room), but all smelled of smoke. Casino and hotel staff were friendly, but nothing outstanding.

I always ask myself, would I stay there again? No. Plenty of other options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The room was average, we had a non-smoking room but the entire hallway wreaked of smoke. The room doors slam shut and are very loud due to sticky lock mechanisms. We could hear people coming and going all night long.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I'm not a gambler so I can't speak to the quality of the casino portion, so I'll focus on the hotel and conference aspects.

Ground transportation: There's a free shuttle that runs every 30 minutes from Reno's airport to the Silver Legacy. It runs more frequently during peak hours, but doesn't run at all during off hours (first shuttle is at 5am, and I think the last leaves at midnight). I had to take a 4am taxi to make my flight, but there are always taxis available at the hotel so you don't have to call for one. The hotel->airport trip was $18 (metered, not flat rate).

Front desk: They won't let you check in early (I arrived around noon, check-in doesn't start until 2:30) but you can leave your bags at the bell desk. Check-in was a little inefficient - the clerk didn't explain how to log into the room wifi (I overheard another clerk explaining it, luckily) and I still have no idea what the other slip of paper in my key envelope was for (it looked like a voucher, but for what I don't know). Front desk staff was also somewhat confused on the concept of taxis; we had to talk to three different ones to confirm if we needed to reserve a taxi so early in the morning, and none of them had any idea how much the ride would cost.

Room technology: The room had a combination desk/dresser which also held the TV, so it was a little awkward to work on my laptop while watching the news. The room was not really set up for business travel, as the outlet was under the desk and it was difficult to thread the power cord behind the desk. There was no easily accessible outlet by the beds (we had to unplug the alarm clock and lamp in order to access power!). The hotel charges a daily resort fee ($8, I think) which includes wireless internet access for ONE device. You'll have to pay extra for each additional login. The wifi is painfully slow, not much better than dial-up, and it imposes a banner across the top of your web browser prompting you to log out and purchase premium wifi access for 3x the speed. I gave up and just used my smartphone.

Room in general: I have few complaints about the room itself. Our 17th floor 2-queen room was sufficiently large for two people, and had a clean modern decor. The beds were very comfortable with good quality linen. The room and bathroom were very clean and in excellent repair. However, the bathroom had no ventilation fan. There was a towel rack (the kind you put folded towels on) but no towel hooks in sight. There was some hardware on the bathroom door which looked like a hook should have been there, but was missing. Odd. The hotel encourages you to be green by hanging up towels, so you'd think they would provide something on which to hang them? Oh well. Great water pressure in the shower, but a colleague two floors up had the opposite experience.

Conference facilities: The rooms available for our conference were fine, although the moveable walls let too much sound leak out between rooms. I was impressed at how quiet the rooms were considering that they were right next to the casino chaos. The staff appeared to be well-rehearsed in keeping the rooms organized and conference attendees fed. We weren't enthusiastic about the lunches provided, but the coffee was plentiful and the dessert reception was delicious.

Other things: Eldorado, Silver Legacy, and Circus Circus are all linked by a mezzanine, so you don't have to step outside to access a variety of food and gambling options. The only SL restaurant we tried was the Cafe Central - good breakfast, mediocre dinner. There's a new Starbucks in the SL casino (by the sportsbook); if you need fast wifi, go there! Slot machines are absolutely everywhere, and you'll have to walk past/through them to get anywhere. Smoking is allowed in the gambling areas so there's a pervasive smell of nicotine everywhere. A surprising number of children were there, staring in rapt fascination at the blinking, noisy gambling machines.

In the extremely unlikely event that I visit Reno on a leisure trip, I wouldn't mind staying at the Silver Legacy again. It's a well-managed property in a convenient location. If I have to visit Reno on business again, I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I was here for a conference. The conference facilities are below average as well.

Hotel needs updating. It was clean. Mattresses are hard and cheap. I didn't sleep well any of the nights. Hard to shake the smell of smoke even in a smoke free room.

The staff is very helpful and friendly.

Sterling steakhouse was delicious! Hotel had a Starbucks!

I would not attend another conference here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very well managed property. Without fail all associates were friendly and nepful. For instance, Belinda a cleaner when we asked where a room was located took us there...three floors away! Sonia K. in catering seemed to read our minds about what else we would like while dining in group events, and their manager did not hide in an office but was on-site seamlessly orchastrating good food and outstanding servive.

The food was good, especialy Sterling's and casual food we good and very reasonable priced. The rooms were a bit dated but clean and everything worked.

We would come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a good room. They are candid and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Legacy Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Address: 407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#5 Spa Hotel in Reno
#7 Casino Hotel in Reno
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#18 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Legacy Resort and Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excitement of Silver Legacy Resort Casino, located in the heart of Downtown Reno. Elegance and luxury surrounds you with over 1,700 rooms and suites. Immerse yourself in the captivating atmosphere of this beautiful hotel, where the Sierra Mountains create an exquisite backdrop for your getaway; offering world-class skiing, golfing and outdoor activities just minutes from the comfort of your spacious Reno hotel room. Silver Legacy Resort Casino offers all of the amenities you've come to expect from a modern mega resort, and yet still emphasizes the award-winning customer service that the property has built its reputation on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Silver Legacy Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Legacy Hotel Reno
Silver Legacy Resort Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Legacy Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.