We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel (for Reno)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Save Saved
You added Silver Legacy Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver Legacy Resort and Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 65 hotels in Reno
Windsor, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good hotel (for Reno)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The lobby is very pretty, gold rush CA era decor. Check in was easy, got the room I requested. Didn't appreciate that we could not stay Sat/Sun. If you stay Sat., you HAD to pay for Friday! So we went Fri/Sat. Nice room, 2 comfortable beds, clean enough. Good TV, few channels, scratchy and not many towels in room. Nice view of mountains and desolate town. The restaurants are very mediocre, for the most part, and the Happy Hour at the Mexican place is to be avoided. The "queso fundido" was like runny cream of celery soup! It's cheap, but only the $1.99 chips and salsa is worth it. The bars are all fun, although I expected the dance club to be better. Didn't care for the stripper type girl shaking her bottom on a mini stage the whole time. It IS very hard to get used to the smoke everywhere.
I didn't really gamble, but the areas seem fine, and fun, on Sat. night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    512
    206
    94
    78
See reviews for
195
397
82
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent 5 days at the Silver legacy in Reno for a food convention. Love having a shuttle to and from the airport. Front desk staff was very friendly. I asked for a room away from the elevator. Good thing I had running shoes, because it's a long walk. Banquest food was grea. Flavors Buffet was excellent. Only drawback was the smell from smokers.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Silver Legacy is in a complex of three casino-hotels that are connected via skyway at the 2nd level. Once you have checked into one it takes a bit of trial and error, but you can generally figure out how to get from one to the other. All three properties have ginormous casinos and while smoking is technically only permitted in the gaming areas, there are few places in any of the properties where you can't smell cigarette smoke. If you are offended by smoking, this would not be the place for you -- you have to walk through the smoky casino areas to get to almost anything near the hotels -- restaurants, coffee shops, etc. While the rooms may be non-smoking (supposedly), as soon as you walk out into the hallway, a waft of secondhand smoke smell greets you. The first night, I heard yelling from the room next door pretty much all night -- walls are pretty thin and you can hear people on either side pretty easily -- luckily the second night and on was pretty quiet. The Silver Legacy is designed to look like a turn-of-the-century hotel and the designers did a great job with the main lobby and other areas.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer beautiful views and are further from the street noise as there seems to be a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargo
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

First, I do not like public smoking areas and I am no big fan of big casinos. Don’t get me wrong, I do not care if you smoke and gamble, but I do care that I have to co-exist in the smoke-filled environment with you. With that background, I generally do not like casino hotels and Silver Legacy is a casino hotel. However, I had no choice of hotel accommodations for this trip and, after I trudged through the large, smokey casino to get to or from outside or to or from my parked car, I have no complaints about the Silver Legacy.

The front desk personnel were polite and efficient. The rooms were adequately equipped. The room and bathroom were clean. The exercise facility was clean and well equipped. And the free airport shuttle was both convenient and ran on time. So if you want to or must stay in a downtown Reno hotel, Silver Legacy is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Good location for downtown reno. 3-in-1 all hotels easy access to circus circus and el Dorado With out having to go outside which is a good thing kinda sketchy outside especially at the wee hours.

Rooms are decent. Similar to holiday inn/ best western experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for four days with six guys for national bowling. Stayed on the 16th floor. Room was fine - nothing great - bathroom was outdated but everything was clean. Beds were advertised as pillowtop - NOT!! They were super firm with a very thin mattress pad that covered about 75% of the mattress. Pillows were a joke - no fill to any of them. Same for all four rooms we had. Health club was nice. Was actually nicer to shower and shave down there than in the room. Sauna and steam were perfect after a day of bowling. Best part of the hotel by far! We have stayed everywhere downtown and unfortunately this place is the best there is. Will stay again there next year but hope the pillow tops show up!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains so you don't have the 10 million candlepower lights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel has always been a positive experience. Although we've encountered lines at check in, they seem to have an "all hands on deck" attitude that makes the best of the situation. There is security at the elevators checking for room keys. Rooms are very comfortable for 2 people. Bathroom is separate from makeup area. Furnishings are fairly standard: bed, dresser with flat panel tv, table and chairs. Bed was very comfortable. The rooms on higher floors have the best views of course. My wife really enjoys the spa/fitness room. Although closed this trip, the outdoor pool on the fourth floor is small but nice.

I enjoy the casino at the Silver Legacy. Nice selection of table games. Casino is more spacious and light than the typical dark casino environments. However, my wife prefers the slots elsewhere. They removed the blackjack machines that she enjoyed since our last visit.

This is a "hotel" review but, I think some broad statements about the restaurants are appropriate. We were never really happy with the restaurants here and the changes they're making aren't going to improve my opinion. It appears the the "cantina" restaurant currently being built will be managed by an outside corporation. I suspect that might be the only improvement to come out of the current plan. The right half (the patio) of Café Sedona will now be "Pearl Oysters" which is a remake of Sterlings. Looks to me like the cantina made an offer the SL couldn't turn down and now they're making room for it.

This is our favorite hotel in Reno. We've stayed in the suites here and they're very nice. These rooms are nicely sized for two people but any more than that would be a bit cozy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Legacy Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Address: 407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#5 Spa Hotel in Reno
#7 Casino Hotel in Reno
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#19 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Legacy Resort and Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excitement of Silver Legacy Resort Casino, located in the heart of Downtown Reno. Elegance and luxury surrounds you with over 1,700 rooms and suites. Immerse yourself in the captivating atmosphere of this beautiful hotel, where the Sierra Mountains create an exquisite backdrop for your getaway; offering world-class skiing, golfing and outdoor activities just minutes from the comfort of your spacious Reno hotel room. Silver Legacy Resort Casino offers all of the amenities you've come to expect from a modern mega resort, and yet still emphasizes the award-winning customer service that the property has built its reputation on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Silver Legacy Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Legacy Hotel Reno
Silver Legacy Resort Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Legacy Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.