We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place to Stay in Reno” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Silver Legacy Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Silver Legacy Resort and Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room + 2 FREE Drinks
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Stay in Reno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the Silver Legacy on a Friday night while visiting family in the area. My room was on the 20th floor and the view was excellent. The hot water in the shower took forever to heat up, which is something that others have included in their reviews as well. The casino area of the Silver Legacy connects with Circus Circus and Eldorado Hotels, so there is plenty to do without leaving the property. The staff at this hotel is extremely helpful and professional. There are several restaurants between the 3 hotels and a wide variety of food to pick from. The hotel can be a little noisy with people partying late into the night, but that should be expected at hotel and casino in Reno. If you are looking for the big casino experience in Reno, I recommend the Silver Legacy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    556
    216
    100
    85
See reviews for
211
439
92
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I am an attorney in Reno at least once per week from Los Angeles, I have stayed at the peppermill and Atlantis. Both were great. Upon arrival at Silver Legacy, I was informed that there was absolutely no way I could check in for hours. I explained that I needed to change into my suit, tights, heels for federal court prior to that time. Hotel reply "you can use the public restroom" Seriously. Wow. There isn't one single room in the entire hotel that is ready? Don't expect understanding or any type of compassion or accommodation at this hotel. Go to the Peppermill or the Atlantis instead, nothing but positive customer service at either.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staff was always pleasant. Rooms were always clean. Toilets sit low with tissue about chin height. Hot water takes some time getting to the tub/shower and even longer to the sink. Friends stayed at Eldorado and their toilets and tissue and hot water was the same for them too. The buffet was closed Monday and Tuesday, so we ate the buffet at the Eldorado. Beds were comfortable, pillows were not. Keeping a comfortable tempertaure in the room was a challenge. The TV would freeze up and we had to call for service to the room, there is a reset button on the back of the set that needed to be pushed every so often. Kind of a pain, if you rented a movie and the set froze, then you had to call down and have them reset the movie and the TV. The chairs provided in the rooms were only good for putting your shoes on, uncomfortable for sitting any length of time. The constant announcements of "another Silver Legacy Winner has hit a jackpot" on the casino floor was annoying after a while. The penny slots are such a great marketing tool - play max bet at 190 - meaning you just played a $1.90 spin of that machine. But they seemed to hit more than the quarter slots, winning 50 pennies at a time. Room service was quick and the food was great. We wanted to rent a car for the day to go to Tahoe and Donner Pass, Hertz (there on site) gave us an outragious price for a car ($250 for the day), but I went to a chair and sat down then reserved a car on my phone for $30, and they had to honor the internet price. We rented a nice SUV for the day for the price of a compact car. Overall it was a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room West facing, higher up, for a great view of the sunset and mountains. We stayed in 2570...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Silver Legacy is at the heart of all things good about Reno. Spacious rooms, professional staff, exemplary housekeeping, nice amenities including as user friendly exercise room. The location attached to the El Dorado provides several blocks of sights, sounds, entertainment, restaurants, bars and options without leaving the building, so to speak. Its convenient mid town location is an easy access points to nearby establishments and the trendy river walk. The added bonus is the off season rates that render it cheaper than staying at home. Always my first choice in Reno.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We are 2 seniors and were excited to combine a train trip over Donner Pass with a 4 day stay in Reno. Silver Legacy is easy walking distance from the Amtrak station and the low, mid-winter rates seemed compelling. Our 16th floor mountain-view room was spacious, clean, comfortable and had a gorgeous view of the Sierras looking northwest. Housekeeping was wonderful about accommodating odd hours. The downstairs buffet was delicious and reasonable. All of that said, we were very disappointed to learn the advertised free wifi was for only one connection. We travel with multiple computers. This was just one of many things set up to get extra money. We found out that we would be charged an additional $11.06 per day for "resort tax" on top of the $4.50 per day in taxes we had pre-paid. The flat screened TV had PBS was blocked, and all the outlets and portals were blocked. It would be impossible to plug in another device like a video camera. The free internet connection crashed for several hours on two days. We tried calling the concierge for help. A recording said that the concierge was gone and to contact the bell hop. Bell Service referred us to the Front Desk. The Front Desk gave us an 877 number and basically said "get it fixed yourself." When we asked whether to dial the usual 9 + 1 to make the outgoing call, we were told "no, just dial that number." This was wrong information. We eventually got the internet connection fixed, but it took a long time. Lastly, Café Sedona were total rip offs! Sedona even tacked on a 30% “gratuity” fee for take out! Walk across the street to McDonalds for coffee, and to the excellent Mexican Restaurant for a truly delicious meal. For gamblers, Silver Legacy may be perfect. For us, it might not be.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed at several hotels in Reno, but I continue returning to the Silver Legacy. The staff has proven to be very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping has done an excellent job of cleaning our room at all hours of the day. The rooms have always been clean and needing no maintenance. Safety has never been an issue. The restaurant selections are super, whether you are looking for fast food or a five star meal. I highly recommend the Silver Legacy.

Room Tip: High floors offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was in Reno on business and was told to stay at the Silver Legacy. As long as you stay in the Tower floors (18 and above), you will have a good night's sleep! I was put up in a room with a view of the mountains lit with morning sun; the bed was comfortable and the room spacious. The exercise room is cramped, though the changing facilities are good.

If you want to eat in the casino area, walk to the El Dorado restaurants, which are better than Silver Legacy or Circus Circus. Better yet, go to Campo (with chef Mark Estee, who won a James Beard award).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Legacy Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Address: 407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#5 Spa Hotel in Reno
#7 Casino Hotel in Reno
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#19 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Legacy Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excitement of Silver Legacy Resort Casino, located in the heart of Downtown Reno. Elegance and luxury surrounds you with over 1,700 rooms and suites. Immerse yourself in the captivating atmosphere of this beautiful hotel, where the Sierra Mountains create an exquisite backdrop for your getaway; offering world-class skiing, golfing and outdoor activities just minutes from the comfort of your spacious Reno hotel room. Silver Legacy Resort Casino offers all of the amenities you've come to expect from a modern mega resort, and yet still emphasizes the award-winning customer service that the property has built its reputation on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Loews Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Legacy Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Legacy Hotel Reno
Silver Legacy Resort Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Legacy Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.