We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel-If You're 70” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Save Saved
You added Silver Legacy Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Silver Legacy Resort and Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 65 hotels in Reno
Atwater, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel-If You're 70”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

By all means, this hotel is very nice. The nicest hotel in downtown Reno, and believe me when I say we went into every single one. The staff was beyond friendly and even sent up a complementary bottle of champagne for my husband and my anniversary. The room was clean, had a lot of problems though. When we tried to turn on the a/c it wouldn't turn on so we had to call down and get a mechanic. Turned out the entire fan motor needed to be replaced, so they replaced that. Then, our TV had this horrible black bar on the left side of it and then went completely fuzzy. We called down again and the front desk called up a tech guy who just wheeled in a new TV for us. Besides that, that's it. When you walk into the lobby every day, there are about 20-25 old people just hanging out in the chairs (looks like when you walk into a retirement center and you aren't quit sure if they're dead or just sleeping). This was our first time in Reno and I must say we won't be back. The casino has no great bars or anything to do. We found ourselves extremely bored and just having drinks in our room. We won't be back, but this is no reflection on the hotel, just Reno.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganFinn, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Legacy Resort and Casino, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hello cheermom81,

Thank you for posting a review of Silver Legacy Resort Casino on TripAdvisor! We appreciate the feedback of all of our guests so we can work to create the best possible experience for our guests! We are thrilled to hear you found Silver Legacy to be the nicest hotel in downtown Reno, and are delighted to hear you had a great experience with our staff. We are however disappointed you did not enjoy Reno. We love our city and are sorry to hear that you did not experience the things that make our city great! We truly hope to have you back again to improve your impression of Reno.

Sincerely,

Silver Legacy Resort Casino
Reno, NV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    509
    204
    93
    79
See reviews for
189
395
82
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

SL is a place that I've stayed at for at least several dozen times over the years. 6 months ago it declared bankruptcy. Just before we left for Reno, we received a letter from SL notifying us that they were out of bankruptcy & thanking us for our patronage. I never had any doubt that they would continue operating but the effects of the slow economy have been showing for the last 2 years. We've stayed in everything from the smallest room (located in a corner of the building) to very roomy suites. What we've noticed over the last 2 years is a slowdown in renovations and limited hours for the restaurants. This was typical of every casino in Reno. In spite of this, SL has managed to offer a farily decent product for its guests. On this trip we stayed in a deluxe room with 2 beds which seem to have had some updating & a flat screen TV & a large bathroom.

One of the things that I enjoy is the friendliness of everyone who works there. From check in to check out, I can say that we always felt welcome by all the staff. We came on Thanksgiving Day, one of the their busiest days which was evidenced by the garage which I had never seen so full ever. If I have a quibble, it is parking in the garage which is a 10-story not-so-merry-go-round. You have to be careful for oncoming traffic and the ends sticking out of the oversize vehicles whose owners are too lazy to park where they ought to. Other than that, I can say that I usually have a good experience here. Since we came in late, we only had dinner at Cafe Sedona which is open late. Our normal fare is to order Chinese at Cafe Sedona but the special caught my eye. This day, they had a Thanksgiving turkey special which was good. Normally, if we're around on weekends, we make it a point to get up for their Sunday brunch which is the best brunch for the money in NV & that includes LV.

TIP: If you're set up for room charge, try going next door to Eldorado & try some of their restaurants. Since both places have the same owner, cross-property charges are permitted & Eldorado's cafe has a deli and jars of coffee beans which have made great gifts for friends.

Room Tip: I've never had to ask for a change in rooms but the hallways are long so you might want to ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganFinn, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Legacy Resort and Casino, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hello calnevatraveler,

Thank you for posting a review of Silver Legacy Resort Casino on TripAdvisor! We always appreciate feedback from our guests so we can know how to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Thank you for your steady patronage to us over the years through both our hard times and good. We are delighted to hear you had a good stay and that you enjoyed our Cafe Sedona's Thanksgiving Dinner! We hope to have you back as our guest at Silver Legacy again soon!

Sincerely,

Silver Legacy Resort Casino
Reno, NV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Visited between Thanksgiving and Christmas. The place was very reasonably priced. All staff were friendly.
Caution: Watch out for the "Resort Fee"--this adds another $11.00 per day to any rates that you are quoted or you see online!

Room Tip: East facing rooms will give you glorious sunrise vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lgdtexoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

99% great, 1% really bad! This hotel is great. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are good size for a non-suite, the beds are oooh so comfy, and fixtures were current. Everything was very well laid out and the elevators were plentiful. Restaurants were also plentiful. Try the Oyster Bar restaurant. The chowder was good. Now the bad….There was a single cup coffee pot in the bathroom area. You were given two pods of coffee (2 very small cups......total) If you needed more coffee, $3 per pod. Each pod makes about 5 ounces of coffee. If you have two people in the room, you do not even get a full cup of coffee! This to me was crazy. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Just bring your own coffee (or purchase $100 worth at the check-in desk when you arrive.)

Room Tip: 2377 was away from the elevator and on the 23rd floor. King bed was comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

You may circle around a bit before you find the hotel parking entrance. Expect to find your spot on, say, 8th level (that was July and a weekend). Our room's window was overlooking some half- star motels and a Chinese fast food. But this is Reno. Reno is no Vegas. A few blocks of razzle dazzle and the rest looks a bit like the Thirld World. Hotel felt like home, though. Nice lobby and casino. Cost less than half of Bellagio and did not scare us with snacks connected to electronic sensors.
The hotel restaurant that serves steak, etc. was not good and the service was poor. Better to look outside for food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's Reno, for goodness sake. The town is like a very poor, very unfortunate Vegas. The megacomplex that is Silver Legacy, Circus Circus, and another major franchise (El Dorado? Sundowner? other?) there is something to behold. The denizens of this nuthouse are even more interesting to watch. So whether it's watching the Fresno fans in town for the Nevada football came, or before the TMOS show at the Circus Circus, or after you've been thrown out of the show, the people are a hoot to watch, The room was perfectly pleasant. If we're back that way, we'll stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spent the night at the Silver legacy so I could catch a early morning plane. The rooms wee nice, the casino fun and those beds were so comfortable that I am going to call and find out what mattress they have so I can buy one for my house!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganFinn, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Legacy Resort and Casino, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello Mary C,

Thank you so much for posting a review of Silver Legacy Resort Casino on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us, and hope to have you back as our guest again soon!

Silver Legacy Resort Casino
Reno, NV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Legacy Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Address: 407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#5 Spa Hotel in Reno
#7 Casino Hotel in Reno
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#18 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Legacy Resort and Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excitement of Silver Legacy Resort Casino, located in the heart of Downtown Reno. Elegance and luxury surrounds you with over 1,700 rooms and suites. Immerse yourself in the captivating atmosphere of this beautiful hotel, where the Sierra Mountains create an exquisite backdrop for your getaway; offering world-class skiing, golfing and outdoor activities just minutes from the comfort of your spacious Reno hotel room. Silver Legacy Resort Casino offers all of the amenities you've come to expect from a modern mega resort, and yet still emphasizes the award-winning customer service that the property has built its reputation on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Silver Legacy Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Legacy Hotel Reno
Silver Legacy Resort Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Legacy Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.