We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club

Save Saved
You added Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 West Street, Reno, NV 89501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 65 hotels in Reno
Standish
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here for a week. It is located right downtown across from one end of the River Walk. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. You have to pay a small charge for each day of parking (5.50/day), but a car is not necessary; if it isn't within walking distance (most things are), you can catch the bus. They even offer a tour of Virginia City, Carson City, and other locations in the area (lasts 7-8 hours) for $70.

The staff is very friendly and willing to help. They offer complimentary juice and pastry in the morning, and they leave hot water and coffee/tea/hot chocolate mix in the lounge area 24/7. The rooms themselves are quiet, spacious, and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
27
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany ny
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we just returned from an 8 day trip to Reno. (10/8-16/13) at the Plaza Resort Club down by the riverwalk. The staff was great and free coffee, pasties and juice was complimentary. I loved the antique furniture throughout the building. The hot tub was the best. Everything we needed was within walking distance. Reno is so much more laid back and friendlier than Vegas. Sitting down by the riverwalk listening to the running water on a sunny day was wonderful. We had a corner studio with windows floor to ceiling. You could see the snow capped mountains when you woke up in the morning. We can't wait to go back again next year. One little thing I didn't like was how hard the pillows felt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent a week at the end of September at the Plaza Resort on the River in Reno and found it to be a very nice choice. The property is well maintained and although this is basically a timeshare property, all the rooms are studios. However, the rooms are large and well equipped with lots of closet and storage space even for people spending several days. They have a microwave and a small refrigerator. The furniture is older, in keeping with the theme of the place, but very functional. The only thing that is a little strange is that they still have the older, smaller TVs and not flat screens in the rooms. The location is within a couple of blocks of Virginia Street where many of the casinos are located and there are several restaurants and a nice convenience store near the resort. Parking is by valet only, but at $5.50 per night is quite reasonable and convenient.
Most of the rooms at the Plaza don’t have much of a view, except possibly some of the corner rooms near the river. You also do have some ‘street’ noise, but we weren’t bothered by it even though we were there during the time of the Street Vibrations motorcycle rally. We did not utilize any of the recreation facilities at the resort (pool, sundeck, exercise room) but we did look at them and they seemed like they would be quite useful for those who took advantage of these. The ‘breakfast’ offering was juice and a packaged pastry with coffee being available in the 7th floor lounge. This won’t be adequate for those that want a real breakfast, but there are several restaurants in the area and in most of the nearby casinos. The staff at the Plaza is very accommodating and ready to answer any question and assist with any need.
Reno itself doesn’t offer the variety and magnitude of entertainment that other cities like Vegas do, however, there are some interesting things to do in the area such as the Riverwalk, Automobile Museum and a movie theater. Of course in the winter, there are numerous skiing opportunities within easy driving range. It seems to be (at least through the week) an older more laid back group that is present in Reno, but that seems to be appropriate for the city. If you’ve been wondering about a trip to Reno, it should prove to be entertaining for several days and I would recommend the Plaza Resort as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: A higher room on the west side of the building would probably get the least street noise. Unless th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a large comfy room on the 18th floor w/ a great view of downtown, though the city was under a blanket of haze and smoke from the Yosemite fires the 4 days I was there. Front desk staff are personable, helpful, and very friendly, I loved the old, antique like furniture on every floor, the old prints on the walls, and the larger pieces throughout the lobby. Outdoor pool, coin-op laundry, and a very convenient location, though if there is no baseball game and one doesn't visit casinos, there ain't much join on...(.was there for "Burning Man" opening)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The lobby is incredible. It is full of antiques and worth a trip just to see it. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and more than adequate . They park your car and charge $ 5.50 a day which is reasonable. There is a microwave and mini fridge in the room but no utensils. We found out you just have to ask for the utensils and they send up a package of dishes, bowls etc. The riverwalk is right next door as it a nice movie theatre and you can walk up the street to the casinos. We didn't use the pool or gym but everything looked nice and clean.
The bed was comfortable. The place right next door looks boarded up so that's a bit of an eye sore. We found a great little place across the street called Z Pies, for gourmet pot pies. Yummy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very nice welcome, quick check in. When I asked if our room had a river view, it didn't but they were able to switch it so we did.We totally enjoyed our visit and would love to go again. It was close enough to walk if you wanted casinos, movies ,the river walk. Refreshing clean pool, and places to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air. it was very hot, but the air conditioners worked wonderfully. Love the old time atmosphere and decor. Pastries, hot coffee and orange juice every morning.
The only negative I could find was that it was not in our information pack that they charge for your car. It is only 5.00 a nite, but with a tip to pick it up, and a tip to bring it down.Very different.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnemucca, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My BFF and I had been planning a girl weekend in Reno for quite some time so we were dismayed to find out the weekend we'd chosen wound up being a very busy one for the hotels in Reno. The Plaza was one of the only places with any availability so we booked it, not expecting much.

We wound up loving it! First of all, we pulled into the garage and were greeted by a friendly valet that parked our car and brought our bags directly to our room for us. The lobby is charming and wonderful. It's like a Victorian era sitting room. No slot machine noise and no smoke- that was the best part. The halls are lined with the most amazing antiques. The room was enormous and had floor-to-ceiling windows with a really neat view of the city. It was very clean and all of the furniture and fixtures were in great shape. The bed was quite comfortable. There's a pool and hot tub on one floor, along a big roof deck and some game rooms with pool tables, foozball, etc. It was a very pleasant stay and all of the staff was very friendly and kind. It was so homey and comfortable.

If I had to choose something to complain about, it'd be that the free breakfast was just coffee and convenience store danishes- but there's a coffee shop one block away that makes all kinds of nice breakfast sandwiches and stuff, so that wasn't an issue at all. There's a bunch of really good places to eat right within walking distance. Such a great location!

I will most definitely stay at the Plaza again.

Room Tip: We loved the city view but it can be noisy on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club

Address: 121 West Street, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 65 hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River At Plaza Resort Club Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.