We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reliable comfortable stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Reno-Virginia Plumb

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Reno-Virginia Plumb to your Saves list
Motel 6 Reno-Virginia Plumb
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1901 South Virginia Street, Reno, NV 89502   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A reliable comfortable stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have family here so have stayed a few times. Its convenient to walk to the casinos (Peppermill, Atlantis), clean, friendly and quiet on the pool side. standard Motel 6 features. Good price and great location for downtown exploring.

Room Tip: stay on the pool side, away from the intersection
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
6
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As a fairly new resident to Reno, I've had multiple stays at this property while I'm searching for an apartment and a full-time job.

For the most part, it's just another Motel 6, but I've stayed in all three locations in Reno and this is by far the best out of all of them. The location is excellent - on the corner of a very busy intersection, Virginia Street and Plumb Lane, with major shopping centers, restaurants, and the Peppermill casino all within a stone's throw.

Staff members and management are great - Troy, Anthony and Tammy are really nice people and always helpful.

All in all, an great place to stay. I've found that the rooms on the back side are slightly quieter, as you'll get less noise from the roads.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Chose to stay here as opposed to all the alternative casino resorts which were much more pricey than I expected for Reno. Stayed here to attend a 5-day conference at the Peppermill Resort. I requested a room with a small fridge and microwave which was very convenient in that I didn't have to eat out three times a day. I really appreciated that. Room was clean with the very basics--towels, soap, and TP. Don't think there was even any tissue/Kleenex but I wasn't looking for anything fancy either. No issues with the staff. They were helpful when I had questions. I also paid a few dollars extra to have internet access so that I could work on my laptop. No problems with it either. I can't recall the exact price for 24 continuous hours of internet access but it was reasonably priced also ($4?). The motel is conveniently within walking distance (across the street and then a few steps beyond) to a grocery store, a park where I went running (about 1 mile around the pond), and to Peppermill Resort (less than a mile away which isn't a big deal to me and I like to fit in my exercise when I can). I had a room towards the back of the building away from the busy streets so didn't have a problem with that as per some of the other reviews. My only complaint was for the first couple of nights, some of the other occupants were a bit noisy but once the weekend passed, it was much better. Cant have much control over some of the clientele, I guess, given the price. The noise eventually subsided later in the night and I was well rested anyhow. As a single woman visiting, I didn't venture out at night but overall, I felt safe in that area during the day. There always seemed to people walking along or jogging so didn't have any concerns walking to Peppermill in the morning and evening before the sun went down.

Room Tip: Request a room not along the major cross streets. Some rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Arrived late and checked in without checking location. This motel 6 is actually in the middle of a very trafficked junction with noise 24H and too far outside center Reno for comfort. Rooms are poorly insulated, small but everything works and at $35 a night and free parking outside, it just barely suffices.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have a 2 yr old and being from CA, we definitely wanted a non-smoking room. So we reserved a non-smoking room, and when we checked in, I specifically asked again that it is a non-smoking room, right? And the clerk said yes. We go to the room and voila, it's a smoking room. We were already so tired and it was a packed weekend so we were going to just suck it up. But I thought I'd give the front-desk a try. I said that I was very disappointed that she lied to me about the smoking room. She said she was very sorry and that I would talk to the manager in the morning to get a refund or she could give me a refund now. What good would that do, all the rooms in town were already filled that night, where could we go?

So we started to unpack but just a few minutes later, we couldn't take it anymore. I was literally choking, my eyes were blurring, and I was going to pass out, except the smell was so strong that I dont think I could've stayed passed-out as I would be choked awake. So I called the front desk again and said that I have a 2 yr old and whether they could perhaps let us take a room that someone else hasn't checked in yet. It took a few minutes but finally she found us another room, which we rushed into. It was literally like being brought back alive. Later that night, another guest tried to get into our room but we said it was ours. I think the front-desk changed shifts and they didn't update the room numbers. ANyhow, we got to stay in the non-smoking room.

The room itself was small, nothing fancy, just your basic amenities. I wish the fan would be self-adjusting. We kept having to get up to turn it off, then on, then off, as it would get too hot, then too cold again once we switched off. It was really stuffy, too. But it's a motel, you know.. we weren't expecting a whole lot.

Anyhow, as you can imagine, we finally got the non-smoking room that we thought we had reserved, so that's the good news. But the fact that we had to struggle to get them to honor what we reserved in the first place is obviously frustrating. I would almost swear that I would never ever stay there again (and further, given it a 0 star review if i could) had the clerk not righted the reservation, which frankly, she could've actually messed up / decided us on in the first place.

If you're looking for a cheap and ok place, this is it. Just remember to insist on real non-smoking room when you reserve/check-in, or they might give you a smoking one hoping that you don't notice. But for non-smokers, you will definitely notice, so be careful.

Room Tip: Make sure to insist on real non-smoking rooms if that's what you reserved. We were initially gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this motel. Room was clean. Rooms we were given were on back side by the pool and seemed to be a quiet area. Bathroom was clean. I would comment that the tub was extremely slick. Overall I would stay here again. Great value!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Prior to my trip this summer, I read a lot of reviews for economy motels in Reno. I was discouraged by what I read on more than a dozen different establishments. Since I had a good experience with this Motel 6 about 8 years ago, I decided to take a chance and again give it a try.

I found the desk clerk to be very helpful when I checked in. I asked for a quiet room, and she assigned a room over the manager's office on the pool side (away from the noisy traffic on Virginia and Plumb Streets). Shortly after entering my room, the desk clerk called to find out if I was satisfied with my room -- a nice move that is not often done in my experience. On this hot summer day, the room was already cool. I was actually surprised by the quality of the room. The bathroom and bath/shower unit was quite upscale and very clean. The room was clean and comfortable. It was much nicer than many other Motel 6 accommodations I've visited over the years.

I found an IHOP restaurant diagonally across the street, and there were a number of other restaurants within walking distance. I had a quiet night and the next morning I made reservations for accommodations 10 days later on my return trip home.

On my second visit, I again found the staff to be helpful and I was able to get the same non-smoking room. Again, the room was already cool when I checked in, the desk clerk (a different one) again called to see of everything was ok. The room was quiet, reasonably clean (just some hair in the bathtub, and I had a quiet night.

I liked the location, and if I should ever again be passing through Reno, I'll certainly return to the Motel 6 at 1901 S Virginia Street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Reno-Virginia Plumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Reno-Virginia Plumb

Address: 1901 South Virginia Street, Reno, NV 89502
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Reno-Virginia Plumb 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Reno-Virginia Plumb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Reno-Virginia Plumb Hotel Reno
Motel Six Reno
Reno Motel 6
Reno Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Reno-Virginia Plumb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.