We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice diner in Reno” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
2323 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502-3410
775-827-5570
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 804 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A nice diner in Reno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I visited in late August before attending Burning Man. There were plenty of choices on the menu, and the waitress was very good about sharing her opinion regarding certain items. I really wanted to try one of thier homemade pies, but just didn't have time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    55
    11
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sparks NV.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Get Togethers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ive been going here at least once a month to meet with a business associate and Lifetime friend.All the way from the newspaper style menu"s to the great food, and terrific staff ,Sue ect. Always a good time to be had by all, i highly recommend this establishment for meetings,birthdays, or just a great lunch, with a very lighthearted staff. Enjoy your visit tell em gary and dale sent ya...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ate breakfast here and liked it so much we went back the next morning. Excellent coffee. Whatever kind of breakfast you want...light or go all out....they have it and it's good. I have to add that their biscuits are the biggest I have EVER seen, but were as light as can be. I especially loved those.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

After reading reviews on tripadvisor, my wife and I decided to give it a try. The diner was very clean, the staff was friendly and most of all, the food was good. My only regret is that I wasn't able to take home one of their pies. They looked delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
598 reviews 598 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
422 helpful votes 422 helpful votes
“Fried Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've been to many Black Bear Diners over the years and this is a very good diner. The fried chicken was wonderful and the service was very good as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.