We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Save Saved
You added Grand Sierra Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 65 hotels in Reno
Ohio City, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok hotel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice now. Once in 2011 & once in 2012 both times for a conference. The first time I stayed in the "upgraded" rooms that are on the higher floors. There was black marble in the bathrooms, richly-designed bedrooms with nicely appointed furniture.

However, the second time I stayed, I ended up on a lower floor. the hallways were rather dimly lit & looked rather antiquated...along with the furniture in the rooms. The sofa was kinda dingy along with the carpeting in the room.

Overall, the 2nd time I stayed, it wasn't bad...just a stark difference between the room décor & cleanliness.

There are several places to eat throughout the facility. The sub shop in the basement was pretty good! Also, the restaurants around the casino area were also pretty good. I mainly ate at the main buffet place for breakfast, but it was still pretty good.

Room Tip: Higher floors with the upgraded rooms are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We strive to create the best possible resort experience for all of our guests. We are currently undergoing a $25-million remodel as a commitment to provide the best amenities for our guests. We’d like to discuss your stay further, please email us at social@grandsierraresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    409
    424
    231
    84
    72
See reviews for
308
303
72
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino again this time it was for even longer than expected. The staff was very accommodating when I needed to stay longer because I wasn't feeling well. The rooms are excellent especially the Summit building if your looking for nice updated decor and comfortable beds this is the place. Another selling point lol my husband loves that the upper floors have the sci-fi channel. This trip we tried two of the other restuarants and the Cantina Mexican restaurant was great=Huge portions on some things large plate is LARGE plate. Going back in September can't wait.

Room Tip: Go with the Summit rooms they are more updated. I have stayed in several types from the floor they l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Cherie, thank you for posting your review to TripAdvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, even though you were not feeling well. We're glad our team took great care of your while you were here. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed in a summit room on 23rd floor. The room was very nice. It had a microwave,fridge, and was very nice. We stayed for 5 days for a volleyball tourney and everyone we dealt with at the hotel was super friendly. The hotel is what it is and that is a casino. Gambling everywhere and being from the midwest i could not belive they allowed smoking. The ventalation is very good but place is packed on weekends and the cigarette smell can travel some even upstairs. In the evenings the dancing girls come out in the casino area which is across from restaurant row and it makes you wonder why they book youth events to stay in these casinos. The restaurants were good. The buffet is about $20 but if you gamble and get a rewards card you can get it free. Mexican restaurant is affordable, great wet buritto for $9. No breakfast and long lines at Starbucks and snack cafe in mornings. Outdoor pool is very nice $4 beers and $5.50 mixed drinks. A nice,clean, friendly hotel and I would recommend even though i don't gamble. My few knocks are these: smoking,the sinks in the summit rooms splatter every time you use them beware and stand to the side if you are dressed and ready to go, Sunday at the pool is loud music, a bikini contest and a very undesirable clientele of non hotel guests. People hauled off in handcuffs and it's awful stay away. Spa was under construction and i did not visit during our stay.

Room Tip: Summit rooms are nice but stayed night on 10th floor for 1 night return trip and very was similiar f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Mike, thank you for posting your review to TripAdvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the Summit tower. Over the last year, we have invested more than $25 million into property renovations, including the spa. We apologize that it was not open during your stay. However, construction is complete it the new spa is now open. We hope you will enjoy it during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Okay so I don't gamble so what am I doing at Grand Sierra Resort ? Enjoying my stay at a lovely resort hotel. Check in no problem. My first thought was that this must be a non smoking Casino however I was wrong. The ventelation is that good ! Everywhere you look sparkles and shines. Some of my favorite highlights would have to be the quiet rooms. I dont know how they do it but the guest room doors dont slam all day and night ! (a big pet peve of mine). I ate at the Hotel two nights in a row another first for me. Sushi was great and a local favorite for all you can eat. The Italian food at Briscola was fantastic. I did not venture to the pool but really enjoyed the Zumba classes at the gym. Group fitness classes at a hotel what a great concept. I am on the road often and I am pleased to say I will return home from this trip rested and relaxed thanks to the staff at Grand Sierra Resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Amy, thanks for sharing your experience at GSR with TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you were well taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was here for business but had previously been in Reno and stayed at another hotel. This one blew it away! The cost couldn't be beat for the amenities and quality of the rooms. We upgraded to the club level but we couldn't get our keys to work (all 3 of us) so they removed it from the charges without hassle or incident. There was quite the line at check-in but moved quickly enough. Location is very convenient to the airport.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CO
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Was stopping over in Reno for a night while waiting for a return flight home the following day. Scored a good rate but honestly I have seen nicer Motel 6's than this place. Checked in and were given the dirtiest room ever. Food wrappers from previous guests, crumbs on the table, bugs in the bathroom that has not seen a mop in years. Old cracked drywal, sinks, showher caulking, carpet was so nasty we had to wear shoes 24/7. The drinking glasses in the bathroom were not washed and had food particles on the inside and out. The sheets on 1 bed had either dirt or posibly dried blood. All we wanted was a pool for the kids to relax in for a bit before getting some rest. Turns out the pool is reserved for 21+ on Sundays so kids were not allowed...more like Reno's skankiest and drug induced were all that came...kids may have caught a disease if they were allowed in the pool so we may have gotten lucky actually...make sure you are up to date on your immunizations. The entire downstairs is under some sort of renovation, holes in walls, ceiling tiles missing, blacked out store fronts, workers using polyurethane and enjoying the fumes was a kick...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We strive to create the best possible resort experience for all of our guests. We’re disappointed to hear this was not the case for you. We’d like to discuss this occurrence with you further, please email us at social@grandsierraresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel was big and has a lot of extras. Clean and nicely appointed Summit room complete with fridge, micro wave large flat screen TV with nice views. Large shower and king sized comfortable bed were a plus. Had fun enjoying the pool area on a extra hot day. Good food and lots of variety from deli to upscale restaurants including a Starbucks on site. Free parking, 50 lane bowling, lots of kid activities available and nice shops including a movie theater. The gaming area was large and air quality better than most casino hotels I have stayed at.

Room Tip: The view of the pool, lake with golf range and mountains was really nice. Hotel was accommodating wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at GSR with TripAdvisor. It sounds like you got to experience all of our great amenities. We hope to service you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit
Address: 2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#6 Casino Hotel in Reno
#9 Business Hotel in Reno
#13 Family Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.