We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“There are 2 sides to this Grande Sierra” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sierra Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Quebec
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“There are 2 sides to this Grande Sierra”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Grande Sierra while attending a convention between January 21st through January 27, 2013. Upon check in, there was a slight mistake in my reservation and I was assigned to a room in the older and lower section of the hotel. The area was a bit tacky and I found the room large but very dated. I was missing plug-ins for my computer, cell phone etc. The desk was too small and furniture was beat up, the desk chair was far too low for me and the television was not a flat screen either. There was no coffee maker in the room and there was a plastic bucket for ice. My first overall impression was not a very good one considering that I was paying over $130.00 per night. I was pretty beat with my travels from Canada and spent the night in the room anyway. The only good thing about the room was the very large and nicely tiled bathroom, loaded with mirrors.

The next morning, after checking out the comments on the internet, I went down to the front desk and requested a room change. The front desk staff were very accommodating but charged me $30.00 dollars more per night and sent me up to a newly renovated room in the summit tower. "Quite a difference" The new room was well appointed, had a new flat screen TV, nice long desk area with a modern and comfortable chair and also a plug-in station for anything electronic that was incorporated into the desk area. As you entered the room there was a modern kitchenette area equipped with a high tech coffee maker and coffee, micro-wave, small fridge, glasses and a stainless ice holder etc. The bathroom was also very modern and fully loaded including a large walk-in tiled shower area with a massive glass door. "It was almost like I had changed hotels." The bed was very comfortable, lots of pillows and the rest of the furniture was great. The room offered a free wi-fi service with decent speed.

I am not a gambler so I will not comment on this aspect. I must say, however, that the food services were very good and reasonably priced. There is a restaurant row with everything from coffee shop cuisine to high end steaks and sushi. I tried the morning buffet and also found it to be very good and also well priced. The wines and alcohol were a bit pricey but this goes with the turf. Hotels everywhere make more money with the booze than they do with the food.

To conclude: The only reason that I gave the hotel 3 stars instead of 4 was because of them over charging me and sending me to an older room that was not suited for my travel needs. I mentioned to them that I was with a convention, staying for 7 days and was a business traveller. I also had found out later that many people I talked to had paid just $40.00 dollars for other rooms. I paid much more than many people that were staying at the hotel. " What were they thinking ?" Just check out the internet.....

Reno is definitely a better deal for families compared to Las Vegas. Do your homework and be prepared to deal.

Peter Palmer

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room or you will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Peter,
Thank you for choosing Grand Sierra for your visit and for taking the time to write a review. While not all of the rooms have been renovated, we will be upgrading the lower-level rooms throughout 2013 including new carpet, new televisions and fresh paint. We appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    656
    308
    120
    105
See reviews for
518
529
129
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It was a surprise to come back to this hotel the second week of January 2013 after more than 6 years. It's been completely remodelled and now it's great! You can take it into account when visiting Reno. And the prices are very accommodated.

Room Tip: Higher floors (new and remodelled) have refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Liliana,
Thank you for returning to the Grand Sierra and taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Upon my entrance to the Grand Sierra Resort and Casino I was embraced by its decor and amazing presentation. The grand entrance was inviting and an introduction to what awaited me for my stay. My weekend was attended to by pleasant staff and abundance of ammenities available. There was much to enjoy, but one weekend only allowed me a taste of the best resort in Reno, which wil forever remain on my taste buds. I can't wait for my next visit to the GSR and Casino, it was Simply Amazing!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Robert, Thank you for choosing Grand Sierra and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you had a great experience, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Heights, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Grand Sierra Resort and I’m delighted to say our overall experience was superb … I will definitely recommend the resort to our family and friends.

From the moment you arrive you are greeted by friendly courteous staff that genuinely enjoys serving you. Our room was not only spacious but had recently been renovated with all new furniture, multiple flat screen televisions very nice upgrades to a very comfy king size bed. The resort has done a great job catering to everyone from friends looking to getaway to a family vacation.

The resort has many amenities you couldn’t possibly experience them all in a two day weekend no matter how hard we tried. We were absolutely blown away by the hotels restaurant row the variety of food offered amazing.

GSR we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Diana, Thank you for choosing the Grand Sierra Resort and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that the service, room and amenities were enjoyable. We hope to see you back at GSR for your next birthday celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for about a week for a business trip. It was my first time in Reno, and my last. The hotel's pictures on their website are totally misleading--the pictures make the hotel seem like a luxury resort, whereas in reality the hotel is extremely dated and in need of renovation. The rooms have very old, dirty carpet, and the beds and bathrooms aren't that great. I suppose you get what you pay for. However, the rooms are reasonably large.

Pros of the hotel include: variety of food options in the hotel (so that you never have to leave), shuttle to/from the airport, activities like Laser Tag, gigantic bowling alley. Note that the "beach" is closed during certain months of the year so you should check ahead of time. The hotel itself is huge, with a convention center.

If you leave the hotel, there's nowhere to go unless you take a bus or have a car. There's downtown Reno, which is even more depressing than this hotel, so I wouldn't recommend that either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Julia, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you were disappointed in your visit to Grand Sierra and to Reno. We have renovated our Summit rooms, and will be upgrading the lower-level rooms throughout 2013 with improvements such as new carpet, new televisions and fresh paint. We hope you will give us another chance if you find yourself back in Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

First time in Reno and I had a blast! GSR has everything you can think of, great restaurants-love Charlie Palmer, awesome pool and not to mention the bars!!!The newly remodeled rooms are beautiful and very clean. The staff was very friendly and service was fast! Great for families as well; lots to do if you have kids- theater and a bowling alley & kid friendly pool! My friends and I kept busy gambling and going from the Wet bar to Mustangs bar. Definitely going back and definitely staying at GSR, all around a great place reasonably priced. It's a must try!

Room Tip: Must get a Summit room--incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi Laura, Thank you for choosing Grand Sierra for your first trip to Reno! We appreciate the review and are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel as well as the restaurants, bars, casino and other amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recently visited and stayed here after many years and I have to say that I was relatively impressed. While I haven't been to Reno many times in recent years, I used to come often and remember this property as the MGM, Bally's and the Hilton. Throughout those iterations, the layout of the hotel has remained the same, and today is not much different. But it seems there are changes being made, starting with an updated sportsbook, and indoor pool/nightclub, and modern upgrades to some rooms. The casino feels newer and refreshed, and the restaurants are higher end than I expected.

The upgraded rooms are now called "the Summit" at the Grand Sierra Resort, so if you're used to modern decorum, flat screen televisions, and color, then pay the extra money and get one of these rooms. Unfortunately, we didn't on this trip, and the room was extremely average. While it was clean, the room looks like it was staged in the 1990's, and the hallways felt dark and old. The upgraded rooms look much nicer, along the lines of more modern resorts in Vegas.

The activities that the resort offer are still great - with a golf driving range, large video game arcade (mainly "ticket-win" games), movie theater (second run movies, but cheap!), a 50-lane bowling alley, and some assortment of shops. The gaming was great, with a wide selection of slots, and good number of table games. The sportsbook is a bit dated, but as I stated, they are renovating and the new sportsbook looks to be a great upgrade.

Overall, the only complaint I had was that the rooms were really old, and other aspects of the resort need upgrading, but it is a good price, has a lot of rooms, tons for a family to do, and I would return. It was pretty average for me - it wasn't bad, but I wouldn't say it was very good. The only thing I would do differently is try staying in an upgraded Summit room - if those rooms are as nice as they look - I think this would be a "very good" to me.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get an upgraded room in the Summit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi Derek,
Thank you for returning to the Grand Sierra, and for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We will continue to upgrade the hotel rooms throughout 2013, and make improvements to the hallways and other common areas of the property. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Address: 2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#3 Casino Hotel in Reno
#3 Green Hotel in Reno
#4 Spa Hotel in Reno
#7 Family Hotel in Reno
#9 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.