We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Spend a little extra $ and go to a beter hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sierra Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spend a little extra $ and go to a beter hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Extremeley rude front desk and manager regular rooms need to be updated slot are verry tight gamble else were I sugest Atlantis or Peppermill or Western Village hotel staff not friendley
Spend a little extra to get beter overall service for your money

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    768
    342
    134
    119
See reviews for
645
616
152
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the resort in December of 2012. We were very impressed with most everything and will definitely be back! We made our reservations through their website on "Black Friday" and recieved AMAZING deals on the rooms!! We stayed in the "Grand Summit Suite" on the 19th floor and were very impressed with the decor, cleanliness, and comfort of the room. The entire bathroom is marble. The shower is wonderful, lots of water pressure (which is important!!) TV in the bathroom, large flat screen in the room. Plenty of space in the double queen room with nice view of the pool and mountains. The pool was closed due to weather being cold, but we wouldn't of wanted to swim anyways. Great deal on breakfast (2 for 1 buffet at Cafe Sierra). Not the best breakfast ever but 10.99 for 2 people, all you can eat. Make your own omelette station and lots of other things to choose from, young children eat for free. We also used a 2 for 1 buffett at Elements Buffet for dinner! Great deal and lots to choose from! Starbucks, 50 lane bowling alley, arcade, shops...all sorts of things to do right at the hotel! Valet parking, bellman to bring everything right to your room, very convenient with the kids! Close to things to do, events center, other casinos. Right off of 395. Would definitely be back! We were very impressed!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I really did not have time to check out the resort. Hope to get back one day and check it out. Sad that the arcade was closed when I was there. The room was fine. Towels are a bit rough. I imagine the place was nice in its hey day. It does seem a bit old and dated. But it is still a fine place to stay. One thing I did not like was the resort fee. I do not even know what it is for. IWhen I booked and payed months in advance it was a seventy dollar charge but by the time all the other fees were tacked on it was close to a hundred dollars. Just be up front with the final cost.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the grand sierra for several reasons. This is the best hotel in Reno if you have a large family. The grand sierra has the biggest family fun area, with over 10,000 sq ft of activities for all ages. Also their cinema for kids and adults what a great value. We have kids from ages 7 to 17 and they always had something to do. Grand Summit II is where we stayed, clean and spacious rooms. Looking for a great value and unlimited activities this is the place to stay. Johnny Rockets great food and service. We will come back and stay again. This will be our family vacation spot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nv
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for a company Christmas party December 2012. Very good prices, the rooms are good and clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Very easy to find things in the hotel, and fun stuff is located close in the hotel (arcade, bowling, casino, bars, restaurants, Starbucks, ect). We stayed in the economy rooms - curious to see what the summit tower has!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Rooms are decent, clean and spacious. It's a basic room with no coffeemaker, no refrigerator, no microwave. There is a Starbucks in the hotel where you can get your coffee but I still missed having a coffeemaker in the room. It's a high rise hotel with many restaurants and shops. There is a nice big pool with a sandy beach but we didn't use it. Seemed like too much trouble to get to the pool from the 17th floor. The casino has a nice big non-smoking section although there were some people smoking and I had to tell them that it's non-smoking. They need much bigger signs for the non-smoking section.

Room Tip: The have newly remodeled rooms available at a higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I must start this review saying the hotel, restaurants and the remodeled rooms are Awesome! The restaurants all serve delicious food. The Chinese restaurant RIM AWESOME,
Charlie Palmers Steak House AWESOME! Ate at Charlie Palmers 2x's., Can't say enough.The service, food and drinks are as good as any restaurant in Chicago. (Much Cheaper too).

Now for the casino! I stayed for 9 nights, I was in Reno for other reasons. Not a gambling holiday.
I did however play the slot machines and black jack. Of those 9 days I was there, I played every morning before my wife was ready to leave the hotel. I played every night when I returned to the hotel. How much money did I win you ask? I won NOTHING! It is the first time in my life that I have been completely shut down at a casino. The remodel of the hotel must have taken any chances of winning away. The hotel is beautiful now, however I would rather stay at a dated hotel with good food than get completely shut out. When I say I got shut out I mean I hit one slot machine for a $100. And please don't think I didn't spend any money there because I did.
I lost plenty. I would not go to the GSR to gamble. My son lives in the Truckee area, whenever I visit him I always book a room at the GSR. I believe after this trip I shall look elsewhere.

On a positive note, I saw a concert at the venue at GSR. It is a beautiful theatre. If you get the chance to see a concert there I highly recommend it. (Just don't gamble there).

Room Tip: Stayed in the Remodeled Grand Suite Room. Very happy. Very Roomy and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reno
2.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.7 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#14 of 66 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#23 of 66 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#9 of 66 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
2.2 mi away
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Address: 2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Reno
#3 Green Hotel in Reno
#4 Spa Hotel in Reno
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#9 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.