We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay - with a minor caveat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Save Saved
You added Grand Sierra Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 65 hotels in Reno
Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice place to stay - with a minor caveat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent three days at the Grand Sierra during the Thanksgiving holiday. We got a very good price on the room, which was very clean and well furnished. The bathroom was marble throughout, and although there was no bathtub the shower was very nice. The king-sized bed was comfortable, with a Sealy PosturePedic mattress. Every hotel employee we dealt with was friendly and helpful. Customer service is obviously an emplhasis here.

Now the caveat. This was more an irritation than anything else, and it would not stop me from staying here. Still, it bears mentioning for informational purposes. Despite having a pre-paid reservation, I was charged an $11.30 daily "resort fee", and because I paid with a debit card the hotel held back $50 per day for "incidentals" (none of which I used). That means that they tied up $150 in my bank account until I checked out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    571
    510
    253
    95
    88
See reviews for
390
370
86
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in the summit towers with my boyfriend for the Marine Ball. It was definitely worth it. I would pay the extra money to stay in the summit towers, otherwise you'll get a really crappy room(my friends stayed in that). They were jealous. So much to do at this hotel and so many things within driving distance. Many places to eat at the GSR.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We needed a place to stay after a late fight arrival in Reno before we headed down to Lake Tahoe for a few days. Our daughter recommended that we check out the GSR. You could tell that our standard room had been renovated....and it was huge! The only complaint about the room was that the carpet was dirty. We had breakfast in the cafe the next morning. Our server was very pleasant and the food was good. We used the fitness room which was very nice! We walked around the lower level of the hotel after breakfast. There is a bowling alley, a cinema and lots other fun activities for a family! I would bring kids here to have some fun. I would come back here and spend a couple of days again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My hubby and I had tried GSR once and came out with a bad perception. We decided to try it again on our last trip to Reno and we were very surprised at the excellent customer service we received. The regular rooms do need to be upgraded, but the $ we paid was well worth it since we weren't really in our room. The casino floor had a good selection of machines and the cocktail servers came around often to freshen up our drinks. There were hosts by the casino kiosks helping people with their accounts and promos. I was very impressed! The buffet had a varied selection of foods for all tastes. I especially loved the Mimosas at Sunday Brunch, YUM! I rate the GSR as excellent as that was my experience. We signed up for their card and we receive promos in the mail, very nice touch!

Room Tip: Summit Rooms are very nice if you want to spend most of your time in. I don't mind the regular r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed at GSR 3 times in one month, the summit rooms are fine but if you get a regular room..BEWARE! I am very lenient on reviews but this was sad. when I stayed in the SUMMIT rooms I was treated much nicer at the front desk,I was treated Rude when I came for the cheaper rooms. the regular rooms were DIRTY, dirty carpets, dirty bathroom, (mold in the shower) not as insulated so you can hear your neighbors, the hallway smells like an old folks home. very unpleasant odor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Decent resort, casino and facilities but for the price makes it all worth. I liked casino at pepper mill better.

Good things about this resort - Price, Valet, bell desk, food, view. Food is good even at the late night menu restaurant. Rooms are decent and recently renovated. Good view from top floor suite where we stayed.

Few things that could be improved - room service was really bad, operator does not always answer the phone, casino in general, it doesn't pull enough to hit the tables...

I stayed at summit tower which has a separate desk so better service. But I saw a long queue at the other front desk.

Room Tip: Summit tower top floors have a great view and rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here years ago, but in the last few years have always stayed at the hotels on Virginia St. which turns out to have been a big mistake. This is a much more desirable environment than dealing with all the "less-fortunate" ones on Virginia St. I got one of the standard rooms which turned out to be more than adequate in my opinion. Nothing extra, but the room was clean and quiet and those are the important things for me. Free wi-fi. This is a very big place, so you are going to be doing some walking. I liked the casino and found some fun machines to feed. Only ate at Charlie Palmer Steakhouse which was GREAT! I highly recommend this hotel over those on Virginia St.

Room Tip: You can upgrade, but I think the standard rooms are more than adequate if you don't require a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Address: 2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#8 Business Hotel in Reno
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#11 Family Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.