We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Desk Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1981 Terminal Way, Reno, NV 89502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Winnemucca, Nevada
1 review
“Horrible Desk Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We are frequent guests at this hotel because of the pet accomodations. Have never had any problems with desk clerks until our most recent stay.I made reservations over the phone with DIANA. Checked in with Diana. Had billing problems, called to clear them up and spoke to DIANA. All interactions with Diana were met with snotty attitude from her and she blamed me for a reservation mistake that I DID NOT MAKE. Rude, snotty comments were made by DIANA in a condescending manner. I don't appreciate being blamed for someone elses mistake and then being told,"But that's ok,we fixed it," as if I should thank her for being rude and sarcastic. I hope I don't get this one as a desk clerk the next time we stay here!!
Also, the rooms say non smoking but that doesn't stop people from smoking in them and smelling up all the other rooms and hallways.

Room Tip: Non smoking rooms doesn't necessarily mean "non smoking"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

An appropriate coaching and counseling was addressed to our team member Diana. Please accept our apologize for the unpleasant experience and any inconvenience it caused. Please let us know when you are coming again, Diana would love to apologize to you in person.

Thank you again for your business. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    111
    53
    30
    38
See reviews for
89
94
37
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Battle Mountain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

When I booked our room, I did so because I would not have to walk through smoke to get to our room. A week later I booked a room for my son/daughtet and two grandkids. I called and asked if our rooms could be next to each other, and you were able to do this for us. My grandkids both got sick, housekeeping cleaned the room more than once a day as was needed. The staff is very accommodating to customers, and we appreciate their help!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I'm very glad to hear that you are satisfied with our housekeeping services.

Thank you again for your business. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!


Best Regards,

Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Moderate pricing. Very convenient to the airport. Shuttle can have you there in 5 minutes or less. Nice modern rooms and clean. Breakfast was great. Can't go wrong at this place! I will say though that it was a bit noisy through the walls if you happen to have some noisy folks next door.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I'm very glad to hear that you are satisfied with our airport shuttle services, as well as the restaurant.

Thank you again for your business. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, OR, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a noisy hotel. But at $70 a night, you really can't complain too much. You might want to bring a pair of headphones if you're looking for a good night sleep. Fitness center is poor. But if you're spending the night in Reno, chances are working out isn't the top of your priority list.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't sleep well due to the noise. Please consider stay with us again and we would love to provide you a nice & quiet room facing our beautiful courtyard!

Due to the fitness room & facilities, we have just started the "Best Western Property Improvement Program", during the program; we are going to upgrade the entire hotel. Thank you for your patience!

Thank you again for your business. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!


Best Regards,

Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, NV., United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Airport Plaza Hotel in Reno was so nice. The rooms had all the amenities of home, Beds were comfy. The lobby area was set up well for meeting and visiting with friends and the atrium outside the lobby made a lovely setting to relax and enjoy the outdoors.All the hotel staff worked hard to make the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I'm very glad to hear that you are satisfied with our staff members, as well as your room amenities.

Thank you again for your business. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Since I was able to get the room rate down to a dull roar, I was OK w/staying at this hotel. Our room was adequate and clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was an added plus as well, even though it was quite crowded. We were able to get a shuttle to the hotel from the airport when we arrived late Friday night. However, they now charge to get to the cruise ship terminals.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Thank you again for you business. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Huge hotel / motel but several exit doors enable you to park (free) close to your room. Is two story with an elevator but we were on the ground level.. Reception staff were friendly and efficient and made you feel welcome. Reasonable rates and the concierge who could not have been more helpful, will provide transport to and from Casino's. Does not include breakfast, but has a full service restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner and the prices are very reasonable for good quality.
Has free WiFi throughout the motel and a guest laundry.
Although we don't generally have dinner in motel dining rooms, we were tired and it was freezing outside and we were really pleased we had dinner in the Crosswinds Lounge section of the Plaza Restaurant and the 8 oz sirloins were perfectly cooked - one medium and one medium rare. Came with a very fresh salad (or soup) and baked potato and vegetables that were also fresh and perfectly cooked. Another diner was having a Cobb salad and not only did it look really good, he told me it was as good as it gets. Dinner is from 5 pm to 9 pm. Service was friendly and efficient and the prices inexpensive.
We also had breakfast in the Plaza Restaurant and again the service was friendly and efficient and the poached eggs cooked to perfection.
The Motel provides a complimentary shuttle to / from the airport for those who fly in.
All rooms were the same size and were of a good size. Nothing flash, but well decorated, clean and comfortable with a good king size bed.
Having stayed at up-market Casino hotels in the past in Las Vegas where you had to take your luggage past the gaming machines and have an endless walk to your room, this was a much better alternative.
If you have a car, is convenient to the Freeway and to Meadowood Shopping Mall which has a Macy's and a good selection of specialty shops and a good food court for a reasonable light lunch. Also if you have a car, all the major casino's seem to have valet or self parking and they are not too far to drive to.
The temperature was -16c (-3.f ) in Reno when we woke up, but the Motel was warm and cosy.
Our rating is Very Good rather than Excellent given its age, but we would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I'm very glad to hear that you are satisfied with our staff members, as well as the food & lounge services.

Due to the age of the hotel, we have just started the "Best Western Property Improvement Program", during the program; we are going to upgrade the entire hotel. Thank you for your patience!

Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future! Thank you again for your business!

Best Regards,

Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel

Address: 1981 Terminal Way, Reno, NV 89502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Reno
#13 Family Hotel in Reno
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't gamble when it comes to scoring a great Reno hotel, when choosing an affordable and luxurious room is this easy.This Reno airport hotel is close to both the airport for those early morning flights and many attractions in the area. Airport parking in Reno can be expensive and quite the headache, but that's all taken care of here. Save that money for testing your luck at the slots or craps tables. You've already hit the jackpot by choosing this Reno hotel.This Reno BEST WESTERN offers an unbeatable location, airport parking and stellar curb appeal. Business meetings are a breeze when working with our Reno hotel events staff and state of the art equipment. Of course, after that presentation has been given, or the deal has been sealed, it's time to make the most of the biggest little city in the world.Local event celebrations like air races, hot air balloon festivals, Street Vibrations, Harley Davidson events, Burning Man, and rodeos are all packed with fun. Sporting events including basketball, volleyball, soccer and baseball reign supreme here. Maybe you're in town for one of the many conventions. Maybe you're simply traveling through en route to Virginia City or Tahoe. No matter what your plans, our Reno hotel is your oasis in the desert. Avoid travel traffic out of the airport if you've just landed by selecting a great deal on a clean, comfortable room at this Reno hotel.The state capital and National Guard military base regularly brings in civil servants and service men and women for work. Get pampered even if you're on the clock.Book a wonderful room at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel for the easiest stay of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reno
Reno Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.