We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable room close to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1981 Terminal Way, Reno, NV 89502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Reno
St. Louis - USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable room close to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice spot as close to the airport as you can stay. Clean, comfortable room. Quite because air flight stop later in the evening. Do ask about how to use the "eco" key and the air conditioning. It's not difficult, just new until more hotels start using systems like this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    101
    52
    27
    38
See reviews for
78
88
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Temple Terrace, Florida
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a great location for those flying from the Reno airport! It is so close that we were able to drop off our rental car the evening before our early morning flight and walk back to the hotel (ask airport employees to direct you to the path - it's a very busy road). The room was fine, but make sure you get help from the desk concerning the air conditioning system. We initially thought our unit wasn't working because we didn't know how it functioned. We found a sign that explained it and all was well, but the people at the desk should have told us what to do. It is part of the hotel's mission to be "green" which we applaud, but it also leaves the rooms and the restaurant a bit on the dark side due to energy saving bulbs. The restaurant on the property was very nice for dinner and there is a lovely seating area in the inner courtyard where you can sit with a drink or coffee. The shuttle was very efficient and got us to the airport with our luggage in about thirty seconds!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I spent last night in the hotel during their over 100 heat wave. I choose BW for their great service and value. Last night I was disappointed. I checked in around 10pm when the outside temp had cooled to near 90 and was looking to get some rest after a long drive across the desert only to find the room had not been cooled all day. It took me over an hour to get the AC to cool the room down to a point I could stop sweating and try to sleep. It took a couple more hours before I could pull a sheet over me.
I appreciate their trying to be green or save electricity, but in this heat, I was miserable and it kept me from getting to sleep for at least an hour. Add to that they do not cool the hallways and it is not an inviting respite from a days travel in the desert.
The staff, the service, the room were all great, just not the policy of letting the rooms heat up during the day. If they want to save money, turn off the pilot light, a big one, in the gas fireplace in my room! Seeing that flame added to my feeling hot.
One other note, this BW does not include a free breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel during the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skudeneshavn, Rogaland, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Only stayed for a short time due to our early morning flight. Big rooms, with everything you need. The offer a free airport shuttle, it only takes a couple of minutes. Our driver was really friendly and helpful with our heavy luggage. Great value for our money!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to elevator. The walk can be pretty far if not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We got assigned a huge room with a fire place. The room setting was a bit weird though. It was fine to have the sink and mirror outside of the bathroom, but somehow the counter was so long and stood in the way, which made the room setting very weird (photos attached).

There was a microwave oven and a fridge in the room. Internet connection was pretty good. The decor was pretty dated but the room looked clean and homey overall.

Everything seemed to be so far until the next morning.....I saw a long, white stain on the head board of the bed (photo attached). I didn't want to guess what it was -- it was just gross. We could also clearly hear the conversations of the several men staying next door and the "bang" of the doors when people left their rooms.

Having said the above, the location was good. It was very close to the Costco, where you could get cheap gas, and a couple of fast food shops. It was also located right at the entrance of the highway, which could save you a lot of traffic time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Whenever we fly into or out of Reno airport we stay here as its just across the road so very convenient. The staff are always friendly. We have eaten breakfast in the restaurant and it was good. The pool is nice for a dip and then a sunbath after in the grounds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Airport hotel with a restaurant. The check in was very efficient, The breakfast was great, but not complimentary. The hotel has a very basic fitness room. However the fitness equipment needs a makover and the fitness room was to small for stretching excercises, There is spacious backyard with a pool, fireplace and several statues and an indoor hot tub. The hotel room was spacious, but there was some noice. There was also some renovation workers who started quite early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel

Address: 1981 Terminal Way, Reno, NV 89502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
#12 Family Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't gamble when it comes to scoring a great Reno hotel, when choosing an affordable and luxurious room is this easy.This Reno airport hotel is close to both the airport for those early morning flights and many attractions in the area. Airport parking in Reno can be expensive and quite the headache, but that's all taken care of here. Save that money for testing your luck at the slots or craps tables. You've already hit the jackpot by choosing this Reno hotel.This Reno BEST WESTERN offers an unbeatable location, airport parking and stellar curb appeal. Business meetings are a breeze when working with our Reno hotel events staff and state of the art equipment. Of course, after that presentation has been given, or the deal has been sealed, it's time to make the most of the biggest little city in the world.Local event celebrations like air races, hot air balloon festivals, Street Vibrations, Harley Davidson events, Burning Man, and rodeos are all packed with fun. Sporting events including basketball, volleyball, soccer and baseball reign supreme here. Maybe you're in town for one of the many conventions. Maybe you're simply traveling through en route to Virginia City or Tahoe. No matter what your plans, our Reno hotel is your oasis in the desert. Avoid travel traffic out of the airport if you've just landed by selecting a great deal on a clean, comfortable room at this Reno hotel.The state capital and National Guard military base regularly brings in civil servants and service men and women for work. Get pampered even if you're on the clock.Book a wonderful room at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel for the easiest stay of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reno
Reno Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.