We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will not be staying here ever again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1981 Terminal Way, Reno, NV 89502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #21 of 65 hotels in Reno
Gardnerville, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We will not be staying here ever again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have stayed at this Hotel both for business and pleasure in the past and it WAS a good value for the price. However I made the mistake of not booking directly with them and was charged $50 extra for parking our car there without prior notce or warning. My letter to the manager was simply ignored. This is a warning for others. We will either find another hotel with similiar service or just get up extra early for those early am flights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    82
    42
    25
    37
See reviews for
62
73
25
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western Airport Plaza in Reno about 18 times in the past 2 years under a contract that i had no control over. The staff are always very nice and helpful, including the front desk, restaurant, housekeeping, and the shuttle driver. However, the place is in serious need of remodeling. I LITERALLY put my foot through the bathtub once when i was showering. They had apparently tried to patch the tub with a tacky no-slip sheet. Lucky I didn't cut my foot, but the smell that came back out of the hole was atrocious -- moldy mildewy yuck! The staff were quick to put me in a different room and they apologized. I blame the owners, not the employees.

Another time my curtains (first floor!!!) wouldn't close. Many times the air conditioner doesn't cool the room in the hot summer. Sorry -- i hate writing negative reviews (this is my first one). but in this case i hope to save travelers a lot of money on a bad room and maybe wake up the management / owner of this property to put in the investment to remodel and bring this hotel up to the normal standards for a Best Western.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay at this hotel, at least get an upstairs room. That way, when your curtains won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Having stayed at other smaller Best Westerns I had come to expect an inconsistent level of service and amenities but this place was way better than expected. Friendly, helpful front desk staff and large open lobby gave the place a nice feeling. Rooms were fine too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Picked this hotel for a late arrival into Reno and an early flight. Extremely convenient to the airport and car rentals, shuttle service was good, check-in/out went smoothly. Wireless internet (complimentary) worked well. Bed was comfortable. I do not believe the breakfast was complimentary but I did not have a chance to sample it in any case. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We are members of the Best Western Rewards program and we found this hotel quite comfortable and convenient to both the freeway and to downtown Reno. It's next to the airport and only 3 miles from downtown. We expected airport noise to disturb our sleep but it didn't. Rooms were large and comfortable. Only negative is that this Best Western doesn't offer a free breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very convenient and very good service. Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times while visiting Reno, and both times my experience was very good. Staff is always there to help, and if something is needed they are very quick to respond.


  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel

Address: 1981 Terminal Way, Reno, NV 89502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't gamble when it comes to scoring a great Reno hotel, when choosing an affordable and luxurious room is this easy.This Reno airport hotel is close to both the airport for those early morning flights and many attractions in the area. Airport parking in Reno can be expensive and quite the headache, but that's all taken care of here. Save that money for testing your luck at the slots or craps tables. You've already hit the jackpot by choosing this Reno hotel.This Reno BEST WESTERN offers an unbeatable location, airport parking and stellar curb appeal. Business meetings are a breeze when working with our Reno hotel events staff and state of the art equipment. Of course, after that presentation has been given, or the deal has been sealed, it's time to make the most of the biggest little city in the world.Local event celebrations like air races, hot air balloon festivals, Street Vibrations, Harley Davidson events, Burning Man, and rodeos are all packed with fun. Sporting events including basketball, volleyball, soccer and baseball reign supreme here. Maybe you're in town for one of the many conventions. Maybe you're simply traveling through en route to Virginia City or Tahoe. No matter what your plans, our Reno hotel is your oasis in the desert. Avoid travel traffic out of the airport if you've just landed by selecting a great deal on a clean, comfortable room at this Reno hotel.The state capital and National Guard military base regularly brings in civil servants and service men and women for work. Get pampered even if you're on the clock.Book a wonderful room at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel for the easiest stay of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reno
Reno Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.