We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place away from downtown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1981 Terminal Way, Reno, NV 89502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Vacaville
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place away from downtown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We earned a free night by staying at Best Westerns several nights on a long trip, and this was truly a free night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were put on the top floor, and it was very quiet. I heard two planes while awake and none disrupted my sleep. The air conditioner was a bit noisy, but we turned it off and were ok. The bed was comfortable, and the room was large. The shower appeared to be backward with the hot on the right and cold on the left, but we figured it out and were ok. It is a very large complex, and has a restaurant and conference room. We ate breakfast there, and it was very good, and very inexpensive. Two wings we walked through were non-smoking, our room was non-smoking, and it smelled very nice. They offer long term parking for guests that are flying out of Reno. We went to a show at the El Dorado Casino, and getting there was very easy and didn't take long. Very nice stay over-all.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from elevators and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
South Lake Tahoe, Ca
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a 6:30AM flight out, and this was the only less expensive hotel I could find with a 24 hour shuttle. Even if there was no shuttle, it is literally across the street from the airport, and we could have walked there. The shuttle has no time schedule, and is "on demand" so we waited about 5-10 minutes for it. It was very convenient. We paid about $96 for the 2 queen room, and it was very clean, but needs updating. I would stay there again just for the proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at this Inn for a job oriented training class. The cost was $100 a night which was a little on the high end for me but what do I care it was paid for by my company. I was surprised by this place. It has a sports bar that serves food and on the other side it has a nice restaurant. There's a lounge area outside with a fire pit. The rooms were very clean and had excellent mattresses. There conference room was right above the front desk lobby for easy access and the restaurant was right below it for lunch break. This place has it all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nvdsl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I think the hotel is in line for some updates. Our room was clean. There was a microwave and small fridge in the room. We used the hot tub which was nice, but the pool water was too cold for me. Beds were good but I didn't care too much for the pillows. The a/c was kind of loud, so we never heard any airplanes. The staff we encounted were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great hotel to bring your pet too. Labor Day weekend and most hotels wanted nothing to do with a large dog. Not an issue with the Airport Plaza. Great food in the cafe and a very good bar with daily specials.

Litterally next to the airport and highway 395 for ease of getting around town.

Did I mention--great weather too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatplacesnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I usually do not complain because my expectations are low when I book a budget hotel but I do expect certain things. The room was clean, it had a funny smell(the hotel itself smelled musty), nothing fancy(as expected), but I do expect the room to have towels when I check in. We didn't have any towels at all, not even hand towels. We called down to have them bring us towels, they stated that they would be brought up. We headed out for a couple of hours and I assumed by the time we got back that we would have towels. NOPE, this was now 2am, we called down and was told that they would not be able to get us towels till 8am when housekeeping came in. Not Good!
The other problem was when you are taking a shower be aware that the water temperature fluctuates. It well be fine then it will become very hot then cold. The very hot water caught me by surprise. Again not good for a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzy1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

It really starts the stay off right when the person checking you in is very helpful and friendly. All the staff was very pleasant to work with. Stayed here for 4 nights in Aug 2012 for business. Parking was a bit dicey (they have long term parking as well as parking for guests so make sure that you get a parking permit or your vehicle could get booted) but I always seemed to find a space near my room.

My experience is specific to room 307. Room was very clean and spacious with the usual amenities including a micro-fridge. WiFi was VERY fast and the TV had a large selection of free and pay viewing options.

Restaurant offered a small variety of items (fairly limited menu) at typical prices for the Reno area.

No problems finding the hotel and it is a short drive to downtown or the convention center (where I was at).

The reasons for a 4 star rating (versus a 5 star): beds are not triple sheeted, no free/discounted breakfast, CRT TV instead of a LED/LCD TV, and some of the electrical sockets in my room really needed some repairs (especially the one by the recliner).

I would stay here again if I am ever in Reno.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd (top) floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.6 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Reno
La Quinta Inn Reno
#22 of 65 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel

Address: 1981 Terminal Way, Reno, NV 89502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Reno
#12 Business Hotel in Reno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#14 Family Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't gamble when it comes to scoring a great Reno hotel, when choosing an affordable and luxurious room is this easy.This Reno airport hotel is close to both the airport for those early morning flights and many attractions in the area. Airport parking in Reno can be expensive and quite the headache, but that's all taken care of here. Save that money for testing your luck at the slots or craps tables. You've already hit the jackpot by choosing this Reno hotel.This Reno BEST WESTERN offers an unbeatable location, airport parking and stellar curb appeal. Business meetings are a breeze when working with our Reno hotel events staff and state of the art equipment. Of course, after that presentation has been given, or the deal has been sealed, it's time to make the most of the biggest little city in the world.Local event celebrations like air races, hot air balloon festivals, Street Vibrations, Harley Davidson events, Burning Man, and rodeos are all packed with fun. Sporting events including basketball, volleyball, soccer and baseball reign supreme here. Maybe you're in town for one of the many conventions. Maybe you're simply traveling through en route to Virginia City or Tahoe. No matter what your plans, our Reno hotel is your oasis in the desert. Avoid travel traffic out of the airport if you've just landed by selecting a great deal on a clean, comfortable room at this Reno hotel.The state capital and National Guard military base regularly brings in civil servants and service men and women for work. Get pampered even if you're on the clock.Book a wonderful room at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel for the easiest stay of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reno
Reno Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing