We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice, clean, soft place to lay your head” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Reno

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Reno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Reno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9920 Double R Blvd, Reno, NV 89521   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 65 hotels in Reno
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A nice, clean, soft place to lay your head”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After a long road trip arriving after mid-night we were greated by warmly and efficiently allowing us to head up to the room which was clean and a comfortable bed. Its in a good area, though a bit south of town. We had breakfast the next morning over at Peg's Glorified Ham & Eggs, a great place to have some greasy spoon food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Reno, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I am so glad we were able to take care of the both of you while you stayed in Reno. Hope you have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    79
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
48
38
18
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is in a very good position for both Reno and Lake Tahoe . The lady on the front desk,I believe her name is Malari,, was so helpful and friendly. She convinced us that we would be better staying there 6 miles from the Reno Arch than going on into downtown Reno itself.We made the right decision
The rooms were of a good size and the breakfast well served.
An excellent hotel for service cleanliness and position

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Reno, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I agree that we are in a great location for Reno and Tahoe. It is less than an hour to some beaches in Tahoe so we have a lot of guests that travel there for the day.
Thank you for your wonderful response! Malari does a truly awesome job for us and I will share you response with the whole team. Have a great week:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had high hopes for this stay and was sorely disappointed!!!

As a hhonors member HGI is supposed to have room availability for a confirmed stay ready by 3 pm on the day of the arrival. This is the hhonors guarantee. I arrived about an hour early and was told to come back at 3 pm with the understanding my room would be ready. I stretched it out till 3:30, returned and the room was not ready. I was told to give it 20 more minutes. I gave it 30 minutes and finally got into the room. I'll preface this by stating that I was extremely tired on the day of arrival.

The next day I leave the room around 10 am and see housekeeping on the hall. I return to the room later that evening to discover that the room had not been cleaned. There was no sign of the door when I left 'declining room service' so I couldn't understand how this was missed given that housekeeping was still on the floor when I left. I discussed with the on duty agent, Jessica, who by the way was very helpful, horrified and understanding.

The next morning I leave the hotel around 11 am. This time there is no housekeeping on the floor which is curious but perhaps they start later on the weekend. I arrive back at the room around 4 pm because I'd forgotten an item. I discover that once again the room has not been cleaned. Fortunately, I locate a housekeeping staff member and question them directly. She was helpful and took me to the person responsible for cleaning the rooms on my floor. She agrees to come up to the room and clean it. I follow-up with a visit to the front desk to ensure that the cleaning occurs. It's then that I notice the sign that says, in effect, that if you are dissatisfied with your stay let us know and we will reimburse you. I mention these words, my dissatisfaction, specifically to the 'assistant manager' (I believe) who unlike Jessica, does not apologize but rather suggests that they would have gotten to my room eventually even though I found the housekeeping person responsible for my floor on the floor below. Note he never addressed the fact that no cleaning occurred at all the day before. I can only wonder what I would have returned to if I had not happened to stop by to pick up that item.

That said all of my consternation during this trip stemmed from poor or rather lack of timely housekeeping. I was disappointed that HGI did not honor their dissatisfaction pledge and reimburse me the money for my stay.

I do not recommend this establishment at least not until they work out the housekeeping issues (staffing, work ethic or whatever...).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This property is typical of Hilton Garden Inns. It is fairly new and has all the amenities you would expect. Free WiFi, nice rooms with excellent beds, business center with computers, printers and copy machine which are available at no charge. Staff was friendly and competent. Breakfast available from 6am to 10am and is a combination buffet and cooked to order for the hot items. The hotel is located about 8 miles South of downtown just off the Interstate in a nice, newer area which is a plus since downtown (including the casinos) is pretty much a slum these days. There are a couple of newer casinos within a couple miles of the hotel. I would stay here again if I was going to be in Reno. Lake Tahoe is about a 35 to 40 minute drive from the hotel. Virginia City is just about 10 minutes down the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Reno. Found this hotel to be nice. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. The staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the Atlantis. It is conveniently located near a nice shopping center with a McDonald's, grocery store, Starbucks, Taco Bell and a fabulous breakfast place called Pegs Glorified Ham and Eggs. The bed was comfortable as we're the pillows. Loved the showerhead also....nice stream of water. Hate the ones that are a trickle or a hard single stream of water. We asked for a few additional pillows and they were delivered within 5 minutes of our phone call. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Staff asked us if we wanted to be close or far from the elevators. We said far and got a room at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Last minute business trip and arrived very late in the evening (1:30am). Staff was friendly upon arrival and was easy to chat with. Check out was quick and easy and provided information on directions to a local bank. Room was clean and plenty of towels in the bath. Really enjoyed the stay even though it was very short.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Of all the Hilton Garden Inn's I have stayed in this my absolute favorite. I have stayed here many times over the last several years and I have never had a bad stay or even a problem. Not once. The staff is the biggest reason. The are always super. They know their product and they get you in and out flawlessly. The room is clean and ready as you would want it to be and the restaurant is good too. I have stayed in some of the big casino hotels in Reno but I always prefer this Garden Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Reno, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We truly enjoy taking care of our guests and are glad that you are one of them:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Reno

Address: 9920 Double R Blvd, Reno, NV 89521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Reno
#12 Family Hotel in Reno
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Reno 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Reno Hotel Reno
Reno Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.