We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trifecta of Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Reno

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Reno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Reno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9920 Double R Blvd, Reno, NV 89521   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 65 hotels in Reno
San Rafael, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A trifecta of Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in October and would definitely return. The staff was super friendly at all times. The hotel was packed with election campaigners, but they were always courteous and friendly - at breakfast and at the front desk. My room was clean and comfy. Starbucks across the street was a bonus!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    83
    30
    10
    3
See reviews for
52
41
19
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
IN
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They are between a 3 and 4 star place. The hotel itself is physically nice. One night and one breakfast, they had a campaign bus (is there nothing politics doesn't ruin? :| but I digress...) stay with them, and the public areas were completely unable to deal with the rush. I skipped out at those times....fortunately, there were enough options within walking distance so it really wasn't an impact. A couple times at breakfast, I didn't even get my morning Dr Pepper....granted, I am usually in and out of the restaurant pretty quickly, but not *that* quick.

Hotel is pretty far south of the airport and I-80 interchange, but it's a nice corner of town, if a little 'sprawly.' The bed was the usual 'pick-your-firmness' found in all Garden Inns, which is nice. The shower was hot, with decent pressure. I'd stay here again, but would also look at other places around. Facilities are really nice, but I can't quite justify a 4-star for them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here 3 to 4 days per week for a year, on business trips, and always superior and superb service and quality and value. Very highly recommend! The single best element was the staff - excellent personalities and attitude and commitment to superior customer service and satisfaction. Very highly recommend.

Room Tip: We prefer upper floor on the back side of the building, is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My Mom and I stayed in the Hilton while in Reno for my Niece's wedding. We stayed two nights in a room with two queen beds. The room was great, comfortable beds and nice hot shower. We also appreciated the small refrigerator and the coffee maker in the room. We did have big problems with the breakfast downstairs. Our first morning on site was a Sunday and the "dining" area was packed with what turned out to be members of the Republican party there to canvas the neighborhoods surrounding the hotel - far more people than the small area could hold. The staff at the breakfast room were completely overwhelmed and couldn't keep up with the guests requests...my mother never did get any coffee and we had to go behind the counter to pick up clean silverware. The additional insult was that we were charged $9.95 each for our breakfast - mom had a bowl of cereal and orange juice (she had to serve herself) and my breakfast consisted of a bagel and coffee that I had to pour myself. The wait staff were surly and seemed to vanish into thin air once we asked for coffee or even silverware. When we asked at the front desk for vouchers for the breakfast next day, the staff told us we were not eligible because we hadn't purchased the right room package. Ultimately, the room was exactly what we needed, but the service and pricing of the breakfast had us leaving with a completely unsatisfied feeling. If you go, head out to a restaurant for breakfast and skip the hassle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Reno, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience at our Hilton Garden Inn, Reno. I sincerely apologize that our breakfast was not the quality and price you expected and we are taking your recommendation to improve our provided breakfast and service. We look for reviews to provide insight, so I certainly appreciate your feedback. On a more positive note, I am so grateful that you had a wonderful experience with your room, and were comfortable with the beds and room amenities. We hope that your poor breakfast experience will not deter you from coming to stay with us in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A group of us stayed over the weekend in October. We agreed on two things: The hotel is a fine place to stay. Clean and spacious with attentive, friendly staff. We all would stay there again. However, we would go out to eat breakfast. Their $10 breakfast is disappointingly similar to the free breakfasts you get in many other hotel chains.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had to go to Reno this week for a meeting at the Sierra Grand Casino. My work group decided to stay elsewhere - not at the casino. It was a great decision. Rates at the Hilton Garden Inn were in the $90 range, including a free breakfast with daily $9.95 vouchers, which included made-to-order eggs (and egg whites) any way, pancakes, and even breakfast burritos (which were mentioned only on our 5th morning)

This was a business meeting, so I was gone from 7:30am to 10:00pm all week. I was so happy to be in a smoke free lobby and quiet hotel after meeting at a casino. I was happy to see cookies for guests in the evening. I never made it to the hotel for happy hour, but they have a full bar and restaurant. I loved the breakfast choices - I had yogurt and fruit every morning, with a made-to-order omelette.

Room had free wiifi (for Hilton Rewards members, so join!!). It was a bit slow at times.

The sheets and covers were super comfy and luxurious, room cleaned and restocked each day (unlike what I heart from the people who stayed at the casino. Also unlike a casino, refridge, microwave, coffee/tea.

We stayed because we were all Hilton club members, and glad we did.

I asked and they have s free shuttle to/from airport. This can save you $20 taxi. My hotel shuttle driver was also a music DJ and regaled me with songs that had to do with my conference (planetary science). That definitely set off my week in Reno on a great note!

If you hire a cabbie, ask him great places to eat. I did, and got a great recommendation for ... my next review, so check that one out too!

Room Tip: There are only 5 floors, I requested 5th, nice views. Call hotel for a free shuttle from airport. Ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I needed a place to stay the night in Reno. I wanted to avoid downtown casinos hotels. This is a bit off of 80 but IMHO, worth the drive.
While this isnt a 5* hotel, I still rate it as Excellent. The front desk staff was very friendly and made sure everything was OK. If you have stayed at HGI before you shouldnt find any surprises here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Reno

Address: 9920 Double R Blvd, Reno, NV 89521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Reno
#13 Family Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Reno 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Reno Hotel Reno
Reno Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.