We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love history, go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nevada Historical Society

Nevada Historical Society
1650 North Virginia Street, Reno, NV 89503
775 688 1190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 45 Attractions in Reno
Type: Educational Sites, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nevada Historical Society is focused on preserving and presenting the history of Nevada.
Seattle
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“If you love history, go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Small but very interesting and filled with history. Lots of artifacts from the 1800's. Photo's of Wakoma, the native american who created the 1st ghost dance which later spread as a movement to the Plains.
Nice shop, I found an old goldmining share certificate with my nephew's first name on it, a nice gift. Free parking.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“WOW, if you are into Nevada History this is it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a really cool place to spend an afternoon, very informative and the staff is great. The gift shop is worth a stop as well. We love this museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Small, but cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wel,this is not the biggest museum in the neighborhood, but it is worth visiting. They try to cover the whole history of Nevade in an interesting way. Even the kids have things to discover. Our son loved the several hands-on activities like vintage dresses, old toys or digging of artefacts. Good location at the UNR campus and reasonable admission fee.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Moderate Size Museum with Eclectic Collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This museum is amazing -- covers all aspects of Nevada's history, but showed me things in Nevada's past that I never realized happened. Expertly curated, you can easily visit this museum in a half-day while you are in Reno.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homedale, Idaho
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“See this Reno Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I specifically went to this museum to see the basket collection. For me the collection was worth the visit by itself because the baskets are esquisite! But there were lots of other interesting things like pictures of Reno through history. Mining tools and minerals and gems. Clothing and items from a general store at the turn of the 20th century. The paintings of historical buildings designed by the State Architect were of particular interest with the plans for the buildings displayed next to the paintings. A great small museum that is good for family visits.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevada Historical Society also viewed

 

Been to Nevada Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nevada Historical Society, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.