We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! An old-fashion Diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Diner

Mel's Diner
4th Street, Reno, NV
Improve this listing
Ranked #258 of 732 Restaurants in Reno
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Aurora
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wow! An old-fashion Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Wonderful steak and eggs special. But their ice cream dishes are the best, especially their Banana Splits

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The Best Onion Rings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Got a chance to go to Mel's Diner at the Sands Hotel in Reno. They served the Biggest best onion rings I have ever had. Don't get me wrong the Cheese burger was fantastic too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mon-Thurs was very good! The weekend staff was horrible!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I arrived in Reno Sunday night and stayed til Sat! I ate at Mel's every morning with my young daughter. Mon Thursday Thurs our service was very nice and the food was good... Not great but good. Sat was my birthday and as routine we ate there. It was the same unfriendly and snotty staff as the day before but figured they might be skittle nicer for someone's birthday. My daughter wanted the steak and she likes it med like the rest of our family but I guess our know it all waitress decided that she was too young for it like that and by the time we received it I swear it would bounce higher then a flipping basketball! I was so upset with the attitude and service that my final day was spent elsewhere. Still debating if the mid-week staff can make up for their rude and unfriendly co-workers that literally left a bad taste in my mouth!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Where were you in '62”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Mel's provides the opportunity to return to the Happy Days of speedy malt shop dining. The chain provided location and inspiration to Lucas's "American Graffitti" and probably has not changed much other than now offering hash browns as a alternative to their signature Mel's potatoes. Huevos Rancheros is a popular mix of eggs, beans, and potatoes with tender, sweet red pepper strips. Their fried chicken has a bit more salt than most. Staff service time could not be faster, even if they put the roller skates back on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nostalgic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Mel's won't rank in the Top 100, but it's still a "don't miss" breakfast attraction in Reno. We stay at the Sands Regency for our annual cribbage tournament and Mel's is tucked into a ground floor corner of the hotel. LOVE the 50's American Graffiti decor along with some nostalgic signed baseball photos (Mays, Arron, et al). Typical "diner" food, generous portions and the weekday steak-n-eggs special @ $5.99 is great value (unless you've been to a five-star restaurant with a sinfull fillet the night before.) Come, relax, enjoy the 50's music and chow down - we always do. PS - a chocolate malt with double malt will compliment any burger on the lunch menu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mel's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.