We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno to your Saves list
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   140 Court Street, Reno, NV 89501 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week (10/20-27/2013) no issues except for pigeon droppings on balcony which staff cleaned once reported. Walking distance to river, movie theater, restaurants, and casinos. Place was clean, provided full kitchens-stove, oven, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, blender. Full baths- sink, shower, tub.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Legacy Vacation Club in Reno. Thank you for taking the time to leave these nice nice comments about your vacation here.

Please keep us in mind for future vacations! We'd love to see you again.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
14
20
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hannibal, Ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have read several of the reviews and felt I needed to comment. We also were not provided with information on the resort at check in, so I went and inquired. It seems that this info is supposed to be in your room on the table. When I said it wasn't there it was provided to me.
The front desk immediately set up my complimentary cleaning as we were there for the week.
We also did not understand the heat/AC, but it wasn't a problem due to the outside temperature. The fan seemed noisy, but no air came out of the unit. BUT, I never took the time to ask about it so it could have been something minor.
We DID stay the whole week and managed to cook a majority of our meals in house. The kitchen was adequately supplied for that. We expanded our kitchen space by using the (separate from the tub and toilet area) sink as our wet bar area. Sometimes in a time share unit you have to be a little flexible.
Timeshares NEVER provide daily cleaning service.
We found the unit to comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello Donna,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share your experience. We're glad that you found the unit to be comfortable and clean. We take pride in the quality of our housekeeping services and strive to provide the very best of accommodations.

As for information to be provided at check in, as you discovered we don’t do that. Instead, we place a tri-fold brochure with basic information about our resort near the television. The in-room guide contains information about our hotel including the television channel listings, thus the placement near the televisions.

There are multiple opportunities to learn more about the Legacy Vacation Club, our community and local events. First, the front desk is staffed 24 hours a day, seven days a week and our staff stands ready to assist you with your various needs. Secondly, Monday mornings we will be hosting a brief continental breakfast complete with coffee, juice and breakfast items. At that meeting, Staff will give general information about the immediate area including maps & directions, local events and area attractions, general information about Reno and share any special offers and/or discounts that our neighboring businesses are offering. Lastly, later in the week, we have a weekly wine & cheese reception which gives guests and opportunity to meet & interact with both the resort manager and with fellow travelers. All are excellent opportunities to interact and ask questions about Reno and its various offerings.

We cannot emphasize enough that the front desk staff is here to assist you. In this case, we are glad that they were able to provide you the information you didn’t find in the room and to schedule your free mid-week housekeeping services.

Had you asked the front desk and/or a representative from our maintenance department would have gladly both checked the operation of your air conditioning/heating system and to show you the correct settings.

We are so glad that you shared your experience and encouraged others to utilize the front desk for almost any issues that may arise during your stay. Thank you for choosing the Legacy Vacation Club in Reno and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Legacy for Street Vibrations... initially thought it might be far from casios, but nope, very simple nice walk, less than 10 mins. Staff was very friendly and as you look around the place has a lot of offer... pool tables, pool, tv, coffee... we really enjoyed our large room with kitchen!!! Only small problem was they didnt clean room, but that was no big deal as it was Street Vibration weekend and I am sure they were overloaded. Bikes were safe and everybody was cool. We will stay there again next year! thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Greg,

We'd like to thank you for the great review. We’re glad that you found our place convenient, affordable and our staff attentive.

We apologize if the lack of housekeeping services was an inconvenience. As a timeshare facility, we do not offer daily housekeeping unless requested. We hope this did not affect your stay with us.

Please keep us in mind for future vacations, we would love to see you again next year!

Best,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked a week through RCI for a good price. Arrived the Sun. Of Labor Day weekend. Got a " studio" unit. That first night the whole place was so noisy! We could hear the TVs in rooms around us! An adjoining room had several people and they partied until 2-3:00 AM! A call to the front desk got them to turn off the TV but not their voices!
On Mon. The place cleared out and it was quiet the rest of the week.

Our unit was small, motel room size, queen bed. There was a small kitchen which we only used for a light breakfast. The location was great on the edge of downtown, close to the River walk.
We did not use the pool or game room but they looked adequate.
Parking was limited on that first night but lots available after that.
I would stay here again maybe try for a one bedroom, and not on a holiday weekend.
We went for the balloon races and they were spectacular!
We had no issues with staff, front desk staff was helpful. I did wish they would empty the trash and provide fresh towels at least once during the week. I did take dirty towels to the desk to exchange for clean ones, room service for that would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Becky,

Thank you for the overall positive review and, of course, we're glad that you found our resort to your liking. As is usually the case, we were sold out for the labor day weekend and week as we are every year. We're pleased that we were able to resolve the noise problem with your neighbor and that you didn't have any further problems for the remainder of the week.

As one of the original timeshares in Reno, what we don't have in room size is, in our opinion, more than made up by our downtown location and proximity to the River Walk district, the restaurants, casinos, shopping and entertainment.

We note your comment about desiring more housekeeping services. We offer weekly housekeeping services and a free tidy clean on the fourth day of the stay if a guest schedules one with the front desk. Our staff doesn't enter the guest room during the week without your express permission. Of course, guests can simply phone the desk to request any add'l services, ranging from the exchange of towels and/or emptying of trash for no extra charge to full housekeeping services daily for a nominal charge.

Thank you for choosing Legacy Vacation Club and recommending our resort to others!

Best,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Rude staff, so so accommodations. Staff lied to us and said they were fully booked then belittled us for booking on Hotel Tonight saying we were only entitled to their "cheap" rooms. Not a place I'd look to book again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments & review about your recent stay at the Legacy Vacation Club. We were delighted that you found us through a last minute booking opportunity at Hotels Tonight.

Unfortunately, you were one of the first bookings through the site and our staff apparently had some misunderstandings about the program. The following day, we were starting our Hot August Nights Car Show, which is an annual city-wide sell-out and the clerk in question was being overly cautious keeping rooms that were reserved for the anticipated arriving guests clean and vacant.

The Hotels Tonight program affords guests a last minute opportunity to book our hotel at a discounted rate if the room is not rented in advance and similarly affords the guest the opportunity to best room availability at no additional cost. We are truly sorry that this was misunderstood by our front desk personnel at the time and assure you that this has been corrected.

Hotels Tonight is an excellent opportunity for new to us travelers to experience the Legacy Vacation Club and we encourage guests to give the program a try. Be aware that the opportunity is extremely limited and that if you absolutely must have a place in Reno, you may not want to wait till the day of arrival to book.

Thank you for taking the time to convey these details about your stay, it's truly appreciated.

Best regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We bought a week vacation from a timeshare company, supposedly for a week anywhere in the world. Ha! By the time we could book 30 days out, per regulations only a studio apt.was available. The actual condo.was kind to
let us upgrade for $15 per night to a 1 bdrm, but charged us 7 nights even though we stayed 5. Overall it was a great place, close to everything, with a fun game room, gym, pool, sauna, bbq area, and putt putt. I'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute for a quick get-a-way to Reno. I used a discount site. Upon arrival, I was met with the front desk person who rudely told me that I would have to wait "at least an hour" for the paperwork to come through, even though I had all confirmations with me. She then explained that, by using the discount site, she had to offer their smallest room. The hotel was fine otherwise, room clean and quiet but, the next morning I called the desk to ask for a 30 minute late check out to be told that the hotel was completely sold out for that day and they could not allow for a late check out. While in the lobby, I overheard the desk person telling someone that they had "plenty" of available rooms for that evening, which was supported by the completely empty parking lot. Service like this I will avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi Richard,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the delay in checking you in and for the apparent poor treatment. There is no excuse for our staff treating anyone rudely and we deeply apologize.

We are happy to hear, however, that everything in the room was fine. At the same time, I am unhappy to learn of the difficulty you encountered in requesting a late check out. Your departure day was the beginning of Hot August Nights, a nearly week-long annual event in Reno and typically a city-wide sell out. Therefore, we were expecting a large number of arrivals and I suspect in preparing for those arrivals, your room had been assigned for an arriving guest.

I believe that the conversation you overheard that morning may have been a misunderstanding - the statement that we have "plenty of rooms" was most likely a statement that we'll be fine, we have enough rooms for the anticipated arriving guests.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. We consider this constructive criticism that we can learn from.

Best regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.6 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.2 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#12 of 66 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#9 of 66 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#21 of 66 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno

Address: 140 Court Street, Reno, NV 89501 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts)
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Reno Timeshare with 93 suites, featuring a fully equipped kitchenette with mini-stove/oven, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, blender, cookware, glassware, flatware and silverware. The resort features free resort-wide wifi. Suites are equipped with 32" flat screen TV's, cable televisions and dvd players. Resort includes heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, fitness center, active lounge, game room, sun deck with bbq grill and a putting course.A number of recent improvements have been made to ensure that all systems are operational and to ensure guest satisfaction, including new signage, new paint (both exterior and interior), new tile, new carpet, newly renovated guest rooms with upgraded bedding, bathroom and kitchen counters and new flat screen TV's and DVD players. Additionally, modernized and upgraded elevators, a new chiller and cooling tower, repair and/or replacement of older hvac units and upgraded thermostats to resolve guest concerns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno Hotel Reno
Celebrity Resort Reno
Celebrity Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.