We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than I Expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno to your Saves list
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   140 Court Street, Reno, NV 89501 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Better Than I Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked a week through RCI for a good price. Arrived the Sun. Of Labor Day weekend. Got a " studio" unit. That first night the whole place was so noisy! We could hear the TVs in rooms around us! An adjoining room had several people and they partied until 2-3:00 AM! A call to the front desk got them to turn off the TV but not their voices!
On Mon. The place cleared out and it was quiet the rest of the week.

Our unit was small, motel room size, queen bed. There was a small kitchen which we only used for a light breakfast. The location was great on the edge of downtown, close to the River walk.
We did not use the pool or game room but they looked adequate.
Parking was limited on that first night but lots available after that.
I would stay here again maybe try for a one bedroom, and not on a holiday weekend.
We went for the balloon races and they were spectacular!
We had no issues with staff, front desk staff was helpful. I did wish they would empty the trash and provide fresh towels at least once during the week. I did take dirty towels to the desk to exchange for clean ones, room service for that would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Becky,

Thank you for the overall positive review and, of course, we're glad that you found our resort to your liking. As is usually the case, we were sold out for the labor day weekend and week as we are every year. We're pleased that we were able to resolve the noise problem with your neighbor and that you didn't have any further problems for the remainder of the week.

As one of the original timeshares in Reno, what we don't have in room size is, in our opinion, more than made up by our downtown location and proximity to the River Walk district, the restaurants, casinos, shopping and entertainment.

We note your comment about desiring more housekeeping services. We offer weekly housekeeping services and a free tidy clean on the fourth day of the stay if a guest schedules one with the front desk. Our staff doesn't enter the guest room during the week without your express permission. Of course, guests can simply phone the desk to request any add'l services, ranging from the exchange of towels and/or emptying of trash for no extra charge to full housekeeping services daily for a nominal charge.

Thank you for choosing Legacy Vacation Club and recommending our resort to others!

Best,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Rude staff, so so accommodations. Staff lied to us and said they were fully booked then belittled us for booking on Hotel Tonight saying we were only entitled to their "cheap" rooms. Not a place I'd look to book again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments & review about your recent stay at the Legacy Vacation Club. We were delighted that you found us through a last minute booking opportunity at Hotels Tonight.

Unfortunately, you were one of the first bookings through the site and our staff apparently had some misunderstandings about the program. The following day, we were starting our Hot August Nights Car Show, which is an annual city-wide sell-out and the clerk in question was being overly cautious keeping rooms that were reserved for the anticipated arriving guests clean and vacant.

The Hotels Tonight program affords guests a last minute opportunity to book our hotel at a discounted rate if the room is not rented in advance and similarly affords the guest the opportunity to best room availability at no additional cost. We are truly sorry that this was misunderstood by our front desk personnel at the time and assure you that this has been corrected.

Hotels Tonight is an excellent opportunity for new to us travelers to experience the Legacy Vacation Club and we encourage guests to give the program a try. Be aware that the opportunity is extremely limited and that if you absolutely must have a place in Reno, you may not want to wait till the day of arrival to book.

Thank you for taking the time to convey these details about your stay, it's truly appreciated.

Best regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We bought a week vacation from a timeshare company, supposedly for a week anywhere in the world. Ha! By the time we could book 30 days out, per regulations only a studio apt.was available. The actual condo.was kind to
let us upgrade for $15 per night to a 1 bdrm, but charged us 7 nights even though we stayed 5. Overall it was a great place, close to everything, with a fun game room, gym, pool, sauna, bbq area, and putt putt. I'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute for a quick get-a-way to Reno. I used a discount site. Upon arrival, I was met with the front desk person who rudely told me that I would have to wait "at least an hour" for the paperwork to come through, even though I had all confirmations with me. She then explained that, by using the discount site, she had to offer their smallest room. The hotel was fine otherwise, room clean and quiet but, the next morning I called the desk to ask for a 30 minute late check out to be told that the hotel was completely sold out for that day and they could not allow for a late check out. While in the lobby, I overheard the desk person telling someone that they had "plenty" of available rooms for that evening, which was supported by the completely empty parking lot. Service like this I will avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi Richard,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the delay in checking you in and for the apparent poor treatment. There is no excuse for our staff treating anyone rudely and we deeply apologize.

We are happy to hear, however, that everything in the room was fine. At the same time, I am unhappy to learn of the difficulty you encountered in requesting a late check out. Your departure day was the beginning of Hot August Nights, a nearly week-long annual event in Reno and typically a city-wide sell out. Therefore, we were expecting a large number of arrivals and I suspect in preparing for those arrivals, your room had been assigned for an arriving guest.

I believe that the conversation you overheard that morning may have been a misunderstanding - the statement that we have "plenty of rooms" was most likely a statement that we'll be fine, we have enough rooms for the anticipated arriving guests.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. We consider this constructive criticism that we can learn from.

Best regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed three nights at this Resort. The location was absolutely wonderful for getting around in downtown Reno. Although our room was outside on the 4th floor overlooking some not so appealing neighborhood, it was not as awful as we anticipated. Room had all the amenities needed, to include fat-bottom girl towels, and working internet!!!! Only drawback was lack of parking for high profile vehicles -- about 9 spaces but no sign to indicate it was for high-profile vehicles -- constant battle to get back to resort in time to secure a spot each evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Reno. Our location is indeed very convenient to all that Downtown Reno has to offer; we're happy this was a positive aspect to your trip!

We also appreciate the feedback you gave us in regards to parking - this is something we will make note of as we continue to improve our resort.

Please keep us in mind for future vacations! We hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Legacy with a large group spread over many rooms.Price seemed affordable and the pictures weren't bad.Positives:room was spacious,kitchenette not fancy but clean and adequate,bathroom had newer fixtures,recently painted,free wi-fi worked.Cons:limited "free parking",an absolute maze to find your room,not logical at all. Our room was on the top floor overlooking an alley (ick).VERY uncomfortable double bed (why not a queen or king?),old bedspread, blankets,etc.Only 2 towels provided,no maid service (a fact NOT mentioned on Expedia or website) so if you stay for 3 nights like we did,and cook,and no instructions on where to throw things away... things can get ripe in the room.Walls were thin and noises carried. Also, not in the best part of town. Worst thing was the A/C, or lack thereof. The first night was very warm, and being on the top floor facing west,room was hot.We turned on the A/C and although the fan was loud, nothing came out. We told the front desk and they said they would check. Next day, same thing.. an even more uncomfortable night. Also, no windows, just your sliding glass door which we did not feel comfortable leaving open all night.Told the front desk again. They said that there had a been a "cooler problem" (?) but it was fixed.That night, it sort of worked, but at 2AM, it started pumping out HOT air.The room was a furnace.When we checked out and mentioned it again, they said they could waive our "resort fee" of $11/day.Seriously? Never again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Legacy Vacation Club Reno. I am sorry that your experience was not everything that it should have been.

In regards to the location, we are located in the downtown area (opposite the Municipal Courthouse) and the surrounding area consists of many residences that have been converted to professional buildings and office buildings, a majority of them being law offices. Unfortunately, when converted to professional buildings often the landscaping and maintenance of the exterior leaves something to be desired. I assure you, however, that the neighborhood is well established and safe.

Our property has recently installed a brand new chiller. In the process of preparing that chiller for operation during the first warm days of the season, it was discovered that the fan motor at the top of the cooling tower was frozen in place and not operational. Technicians removed the fan and took the motor for repair. The motor was taken to a repair shop, repaired that same day, picked up within one hour and installed first thing the following morning.

Fortunately for us, the high for the first day of your stay was a moderate 64 degrees Fahrenheit and little or no air conditioning was needed. Heat, of course, was off. The second day, when temperatures reached a high of 78 degrees (at approximately mid-day) the repair had been made and the new chiller and resulting air conditioning was fully-operational. Cool water at a temperature of 45 degrees was delivered to the rooms to allow for the conditioning of the air. The third night, when outside temperatures fell below 55 degrees (with a projected low of 41 degrees Fahrenheit) the chiller was turned off and the heat was restored. It was apparently the decision to provide heat when outside temperatures of 41 degrees were anticipated that you took exception with.

Heat was only circulated the last night of the stay, beginning at 3:00 a.m. At all other times, either no heat was being circulated and/or conditioned/chilled water was being circulated (as explained above).

Of course, we strive to provide the very best of accommodations and services. In that spirit we are maintaining our building and/or making improvements. This year we have installed a new chiller in the East Building and in the next month or so, we are installing a new cooling tower in the West Building and a number of brand new heat pumps in the individual suites.

At this time, the contractor that installed the new chiller is in the process of testing, calibrating and frankly learning the capabilities of the new, state of the art Carrier chiller. I have shared with them your experience and comments. We are confident that our mechanical contractor/hvac professional will identify and establish appropriate operating procedures for us to follow in heating and cooling the building. Future guests can have confidence that they will have adequate heat and air conditioning and the ability to regulate the temperature in their suites.

In addition, to eliminate human error in thermostat settings, we are installing new digital thermostats as well.

We are truly sorry that our contractors efforts to accommodate you and respond to the first warm days of the season were not sufficient. We truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were initially in a studio which seemed a bit small with a small kitchenette facing the bed (there was absolutely no sense of separation between the bedroom and kitchen area). Fortunately, we were re-located to a one-bedroom suite which has a separate bathroom and bedroom, a living room area, and a separate eat-in kitchen area. The front desk receptionist who greeted us when we checked in was exceptionally nice (I believe her name is Victoria). The bed was extremely soft kind of comfortable. If you are staying for any length of time, like a week as we were, this may be a problem. Also, neither the studio nor one bedroom is really conducive to having more than 2 adults (especially with the location of the bathroom). The best thing about this property is its location to downtown Reno. You are within walking distance to great restaurants and practically everything the downtown area has to offer. It is also well-lit and as a female, I felt safe walking around even at night with all of the lights and traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Legacy Vacation Club – Reno and for the positive comments about both our front desk receptionist Victoria and our excellent location in downtown Reno. With our location, one block from the Truckee River and the Riverwalk District, the resort is close to dining, entertaining, shopping and the many concerts and events held at the amphitheater. As you highlighted, the resort is within easy walking distance to most of the major downtown casinos (and a very short drive to the others).

As you noted, our beds are soft and comfortable. You don’t say that was a problem, but that some might find our new beds uncomfortable if they were staying for long periods of time, although we haven’t yet received any complaints to that effect.

The one bedroom you were assigned apparently had only one bathroom and entry to the bath was through the bedroom. The majority of our one bedroom suites have two bathrooms, one accessible from the bedroom and the other accessible from the living room area. We're sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. We would be interested in speaking further with you about your experiences. Please give the resort a call at (775) 329-4251 and ask to speak with the Resort Manager. We look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,
Legacy Vacation Club Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno

Address: 140 Court Street, Reno, NV 89501 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts)
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Reno Timeshare with 93 suites, featuring a fully equipped kitchenette with mini-stove/oven, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, blender, cookware, glassware, flatware and silverware. The resort features free resort-wide wifi. Suites are equipped with 32" flat screen TV's, cable televisions and dvd players. Resort includes heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, fitness center, active lounge, game room, sun deck with bbq grill and a putting course.A number of recent improvements have been made to ensure that all systems are operational and to ensure guest satisfaction, including new signage, new paint (both exterior and interior), new tile, new carpet, newly renovated guest rooms with upgraded bedding, bathroom and kitchen counters and new flat screen TV's and DVD players. Additionally, modernized and upgraded elevators, a new chiller and cooling tower, repair and/or replacement of older hvac units and upgraded thermostats to resolve guest concerns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno Hotel Reno
Celebrity Resort Reno
Celebrity Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.