We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Sup!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sup

Sup
669 S Virginia St., Reno, NV 89501-2343
775-324-4787
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 784 Restaurants in Reno
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic, Healthy
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Sparks, Nevada, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love Sup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The best soup joint in town! Gotta try the Black Bean, deep flavors and filling! All the soups are worth trying and the daily special are always great too! Staff is super friendly & efficient. Busy place but the staff takes care of everyone so you can get in & out in a flash. Sit outside on the deck anytime of year - especially on a chilly day with a tasty warm bowl of Sup...you'll be a happy camper guaranteed!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great SOUP selections and salads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Fun, cozy decor, with excellent daily soup selections. The salads are also excellent. Great for take-out.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hits The Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by our rental car company. Great selections that hit the spot after a long day of flying. We went during the off time so we found street parking and seating wasn't a problem. Excellent service, food & value for us out-of-towners.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sup and a sandwich - terrific spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Don't miss this casual neighborhood eatery if you are in Reno. Wonderful house made soups that change every day, and a complimentary sandwich menu. Counter service but great atmosphere in a very nicely executed space. Add in the friendly staff and you have a wonderful experience!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sorry Sup but No”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I know this place was recently made in to SUP but to me it feels oddly disjointed. If they do not do something about the front door the place will freeze each time someone comes in and out.

The employees are all energetic and friendly, good thing they have very slender folks working there as they would never fit between the tables if they were as amply endowed as I.

Now on to the food...

Oh how disappointing and I really mean that after all the good reviews I have read.

I ordered the split pea soup and a grilled cheese sandwich. The soup had no flavour, none. Split pea has very distinct flavour and this just tasted like warm water. The sandwich was uninspired at best and must have set for a time since it was room temp. But the salad that comes with the sandwich was very tasty as was the tiny cookie. I left most of the soup as I just was so disappointed it made the angels cry.

Others had the same soup and one had the cheese soup with a sandwich that was supposed to come on a baguette but it was on the cheese bread. I did taste the cheddar soup since the first slup brought a frown, to me it tasted like what burnt rubber smells like. Only half the sandwich was consumed as it was just not worth the calories to continue on.

Our portion of the bill came to about thirty bucks and I know I can find somewhere else for that price where I will want to finish my meal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.