We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class operation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse

Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse
4720 North Virginia St., Bonanza Casino, Reno, NV 89506
+1 775-334-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 781 Restaurants in Reno
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Here, you can enjoy fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere. Located within the Bonanza Casino and adorned with a Southwestern decor, Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse specializes in USDA Prime-grade beef. Each of our dishes is prepared daily, using only the finest ingredients.A perfect complement to any meal, Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse offers a wide selection of fine wines as well as a variety of decadent desserts to top off the evening, prepared by one of our award-winning pastry chefs. With exceptional cuisine, first-class service and a comfortable and inviting atmosphere, it's no question why Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse was voted Best in Nevada 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 by Nevada Magazine.Open Wednesday through Sunday, 5:00 - 9:00 P.M. Reservations recommended.
Sparks, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First class operation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

One of our very favorites in Reno. Friendly, competent staff. Great prime rib.
Table side preparation of the Caesar Salad is always a treat. Just like the
old days.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonanzaChefChrisRomm, Executive Chef at Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Lee,
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We focus on great service and great food. So please you enjoyed the USDA Prime Rib. the Prime Rib is our signature item as you well know and we go to great lengths to insure it is the very best. I will immediately share your comments with our entire Cactus Creek team.
Thanks again
Chef Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    21
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Visiting from Canada & decided to splurge on a dinner; weren't disappointed! Both had dinner special of prime rib with scallops. I had my prime rib rare & cooked perfectly as were scallops which were still moist inside. I had their "special" potato wedges which I personally didn't care for! Service was very attentive. Well worth visiting for a special evening out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonanzaChefChrisRomm, Executive Chef at Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear jackocalgary,
Thanks you for your wonderful review! our USDA Prime-Prime Rib is our star attraction. We take great pride in serving the best products we can locate and our Prime Rib is certainly at the top of that list. Since we are a steakhouse many reviewers do not mention our seafood. I so glad you tried our scallops and enjoyed them, all of our seafood is flown in daily and we take great care in preparation and presentation as well. The potatoes wedges are indeed different, many guests love them, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy them, hopefully your server replaced them with our great homemade mashed potatoes or something else of your choosing. Again, thank you for your great review. I will share with our Chef Du Cuisine and the entire team.
Cheers!
Chef Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cactus Creek is a wonderful place to eat. I love the unique decor, it is beautiful. The food is always wonderful, well prepared, and then wait staff, top notch. It is a delightful surprise in it's location...very unexpected. The Bonanza is a great supporter of local activities.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonanzaChefChrisRomm, Executive Chef at Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Ginnie,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse. I am so pleased that you enjoy the food and service. We take great pride in serving only the best foods and we take pride in our wonderful service staff. Our team will be so pleased to read this review.
Thank you
Chris Romm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“PRIME RIB FOR EVERYONE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The ambiance is pure "Southwest Hip."
The service is friendly, and prompt.
The prime rib is only rivaled by Lawry's in Beverly Hills.
The sides are wonderful, especially the fettucini.
If it's great food, service, and customer-friendly folks that you're looking for, this place definitely belongs in your book.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonanzaChefChrisRomm, Executive Chef et al.. at Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Tony,
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking time to write this review. Our entire team takes great satisfaction in creating a great dining experience for our guests and to be equated with Lawry's Prime Rib is a stellar recommendation and is appreciated. Our USDA Prime beef is the same USDA Prime beef as they use by the way. We have anew side and that is our White Cheddar and Gouda Mac and Cheese. It is incredible and of course calories are no consideration:)
We hope to see you back in Cactus Creek soon and again on behalf of the entire team, Thank you for allowing us to serve you!
Chris Romm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quality Plus Steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Chris the master chef and director of food services always has a superior menu. the host is a wonderful gentleman of French derivation who knows his wines and quite willing to pair your food choices with the appropriate wine.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonanzaChefChrisRomm, Executive Chef at Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Charles,
Thank you so very much for your kind words and sentiment. You obviously know how much we all invest of ourselves in Cactus Creek and the Bonanza Casino. Alain our Cactus Creek Maitre'D is a wonderful person who truly enjoys his daily interaction with our guests. Thanks so much for the great review, our team is highly appreciative!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Creek Prime Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.