We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't eat here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Claim Jumper

Claim Jumper
4905 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502-6086
775-829-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 781 Restaurants in Reno
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Won't eat here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Service was painfully slow on our last visit. They claimed they were slammed by two large groups, but we saw staff goofing around and not exactly trying their best to serve the customers. We stayed long enough to eat our appetizer (spinach artichoke dip, which wasn't great), then took the rest of our meal to go. For entrees, we had chicken pot pie (which was OK) and steak salad. Steak was not cooked properly (requested medium, result was nearly well-done) and was tough as shoe leather.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    18
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I was in Reno with my family and we were indecisive on where we wanted to eat for dinner so last minute we decided to go to claim jumper. We walked in and right away we were seated. It was at 5:30pm and boy did we get there in time before it got busy. The food and service were excellent!! What I loved about our waitress was she gave my 7 year old and 2 year old a plate of yummies since they didn't get their own plate. They just shared our dinner and it was plenty!!! We will definitely be back. I ordered the roasted tri-tip and my husband ordered the porterhouse steak and it was awesome.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good meal, good service, reasonable prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I hadn't been to Reno's Claim Jumper in quite a while. It is now part of the Landry's group of restaurants. Their prices have become more reasonable than I remember and the menu appears to be expanded. In fact, they have quite a selection ranging from steaks to pastas and pizza. The service was very good and we had a good experience. The "old" Claim Jumper had a decent prime rib which Landry's has seen fit to remove from the menu which is a disappointment for me. Overall however, a good place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Claim Jumper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have never had a bad meal at this restaurant. The food, and the service, is excellent. I join my friends here at least three times per month and we are always pleased. We are on a first name basis with the staff, and get good treatment. It's a Landry's company, and you can purchase a membership with great discounts, and a free meal for your birthday at any of the Landry's restaurants throughout the West Coast. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pleasing meal and decent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Food was wholesome and te wine was medium priced for medium wine. Young waiter did a great job. No waiting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claim Jumper also viewed

 

Been to Claim Jumper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claim Jumper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.