We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the 10 minute drive from downtown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Cuisine

Bangkok Cuisine
55 Mount Rose St, Reno, NV 89509-3424
775-322-0299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 781 Restaurants in Reno
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Cupertino, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Worth the 10 minute drive from downtown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Fabulous Thai food that is ultra-fresh and promptly served with very friendly service in a quietly serene and tastefully decorated dining room. The flavors were right on for the seafood hotpot, tofu/eggplant, shrimp/snow peas/corn dishes we ordered. The ice cream desserts of green tea, coconut, and ginger flavors were heavenly. Among the best Thai food I have eaten compared to Thai restaurants in San Francisco and New York. Directions: just go south on Virginia Street to Mt. Rose Street, turn right with parking behind the restaurant as you pass it on the right side of the street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Addicting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I wish I didn't live so close because I get take out here too often! I'm a thai addict and I moved here a year ago, this is one of the first meals I had in Reno, and now I get take out from there at least weekly. Very good, authentic (I've been to Thailand but am still a gringo so take that as you will), fresh, and fun. My favorites are the pad thai (I know, I know) with an extra egg, and I love the crispy basil chicken, the curries are all great, and I die for the shrimp rangoon. My stomach is grumbling now! There is a reason they have received so many awards in Reno!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Four satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Nicer ambiance than a lot of Thai restaurants. We had the duck, Pad si ew, pumkin curry, and something called Basil. We all loved our meals. They are running a coupon on their website. They let us use it even though we ordered specials. Very accommodating with substitutions. All in all a very good experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a great Thai restaurant which, as with all Thai restaurants, gives you a very great amount of control in regard to spiciness.

Of the dishes we sampled, the pumpkin curry and roti are highly recommended. The pumpkin curry seems to dull spiciness down a bit curry-wise, so you may want to knock up the spice a notch higher than you'd expect to be your ideal.

Aside from the curry and roti, I enjoyed the ambiance. Very well done, subtle lighting and pleasing wood work. It reminds a lot of the décor one sees in many mid-size Thai cities, of course including portraits of the Thai royal family, all despite being run at least in part by Caucasians. One was even wearing a sinh and pulling it off beautifully.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Good value, nice setting & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Had an excellent dinner with very tasty dishes coupled with excellent, attentive service. The fresh soft wrap rolls combined fresh ingredients and a great sauce. Curry had authentic taste and appreciated the sticky rice. Good drink list including Singha beer, and yes, there's a picture of the King. Liked the setting too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.