We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Cuisine

Bangkok Cuisine
55 Mount Rose St, Reno, NV 89509-3424
775-322-0299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 763 restaurants in Reno
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Burlingame, California
2 reviews
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved the Seafood Soup and the Bangkok Platter. The Bangkok Sling was great. Nice people and not far from town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    41
    19
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Point, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Thank You, Trip Advisor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a craving for Thai food and Reno was an unknown city so we did what we usually do - consult Trip Advisor. The raters didn't steer us wrong. This is a terrific Thai restaurant and the prices are very reasonable. Everything we had was delicious but the Sizzling Bangkok Platter was our favorite. If we get back to Reno, we know where to go now.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding Thai Cuisine in Reno!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have eaten Thai Cuisine in several U.S. Cities--as well as both Montreal and Vancouver, Canada. It takes an Excellent Chef to balance the harsh spices that are part of the baseline of Thai Cuisine. I am really excited to share with all of you that Bangkok Cuisine has such a Chef and the food reflects it!! Our Party ordered a wide variety. Two of the people at the table were leaning Vegans so they felt most comfortable with the Stir Fry Eggplant--which they said was delicious--spicy without being hot. I had the Chicken Hot Sour Soup as an Appetizer--which was over the top good--both spicy and hot--which it was supposed to be.

I followed that up with their Signature Dish--called the Sizzling Platter. A Key element in the enjoyment of Thai Cuisine--in addition to a Fine Chef balancing the difficult to handle spices, is the use of very fresh Vegetables. The fresh vegetables were used in great abundance in this Dish. This Dish consisted of stir fry Chicken cooked in an excellent, though spicy curry sauce that was mixed with coconut milk. The milk was poured over a combination of fresh spinach with garlic and a combination of fresh cucumbers, carrots, and bell peppers--yellow and red and orange. This was all topped with an excellent Peanut Sauce--that made the Dish excellent because their was no separation between the peanut and the oil base!

The Service was top notch. The Staff was attentive--never pushy. They also offered full explanations for two of our Guests that were new to Thai Cuisine. All were made to feel most welcome. I would recommend this Restaurant to people of all ages.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Sierra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food in Reno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We ate here at a friend's recommendation, and we weren't steered wrong! Our waiter steered us to the (non-fish sauce) vegetarian options - the tofu with ginger was outstanding. I'd very happily eat here agin when we're next in Reno.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best Thai in Reno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Try the Thai Coconut Sizzling Platter with Chicken. They also have a Thai Tea that is delicious. Best Thai restaurant I've tried...and I love Thai!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.