We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“when crab is not crab” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Mein

Pho Mein
Eldorado Resort Casino, 345 North Virginia Street, Reno, NV 89501
+1 775-786-5700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 732 Restaurants in Reno
Cuisines: Noodle Shop, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Pho Mein is an authentic Asian noodle kitchen, located on the casino level - formerly Choices. This new casual dining spot is serving up oodles of noodles for sit down or take out on the go. The extensive menu features an array of Vietnamese and Chinese favorites, including over sixteen Pho big bowl noodle choices, a huge selection of appetizers like pan-fried pot stickers, Chinese Five-Spice Duck and Sesame Chicken Wings with Mango-Pineapple Chile Sauce, salads, stir-fry noodle entrees, rice and favorites like Kung Pao Chicken, Beef Broccoli and Mongolian Beef. It's truly Pho-Mazing!
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“when crab is not crab”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I made the mistake of ordering the seafood soup advertised as shrimp, calamari and crab. The crab was the artificial crab ( I think it is pollock ). THis pho was extra and not worth it. Best to go with a beef or chicken pho.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the #6!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

New into Pho and I love it!!! Great bowls they have here. Nothing like a little gambling then some Pho!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not authentic, but hey, it's convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Living in an area with a large Vietnamese population, I've become a pho addict. Much to my surprise, there was a pho restaurant in the Eldorado-Silver Legacy-Circus Circus casino complex! It's in the Eldorado casino, tucked away amid the video poker and slots.

It turned out to be a pan-Asian place, which makes sense; hard to imagine a pho specialist or even a Vietnamese restaurant doing well as a casino restaurant. I visited twice, both times for a traditional pho option; I went solo the first time and with a small group the second.

Well... the beef itself was of respectable quality, with the rare eye of round sliced thinly and allowed to cook in the broth. The noodles were typical quality and there was plenty of sliced jalapeno, lime, and raw bean sprouts to accompany the soup. The basil, however, tasted weirdly like mint. The broth was acceptable - not the depth and richness you'd get from a specialist, but adequately beefy. Add enough hoisin and sriracha, and it hardly matters anyway.

I didn't try the other Asian dishes; my companions did and were unimpressed, for what it's worth. Prices were higher than a typical pho place, but perfectly in line with typical casino restaurant prices.

Service was fine, but I have pretty low standards for service quality when it comes to pho. If they get the order right and don't stick their thumbs in the bowl, I'm happy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SooooCal
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Smoke Gets in Your Eyes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Located right off the casino floor, it's pretty difficult to get away from the smoke, despite the fact that smoking in restaurants is illegal in Nevada. That said, the soups were delicious--the vegetarian one was flavorful and full of tofu and veggies (bok choy, carrots, baby corn, mushrooms, and much more). We also ordered wings which were ok and a lemon chicken entree with batter that was a bit sweet. Take the food to-go and enjoy it in your smoke-free room.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had lunch here on a Whim and was very pleasantly surprised. I Had never Had Pho before, and it was Fabulous, hot and flavorful, will definitely eat here again, only problem was the only view was of Slot machines on the casino floor

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Mein also viewed

 

Been to Pho Mein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Mein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.