We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the Heat...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Circus Circus Casino

Circus Circus Casino
500 North Sierra Street, Reno, NV 89503
800-648-5010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 45 Attractions in Reno
Attraction details
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Escape the Heat...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

During a recent road trip, we escaped the heat and spent a few hours at Circus Circus casino in Reno. It had a comfortable environment, well air conditioned settings, and clean, convenient slot machines. It is connected to the Silver Legacy so you are basically getting two casino's in one. Free parking. Plenty of food and drink to chose from. Bathrooms were clean and assessable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    26
    26
    9
    3
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Last minute destination...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were on our way up to the Glacier Parks and we decided to stop in Reno instead of getting a hotel on the side of the road in Idaho. The room cost at Circus Circus about $150 after taxes and it was worth it it. The front desk service was excellent and the room was very comfortable and clean. After a night of free alcohol due to excessive gambling one of my foolish friends got sick on the carpet. We cleaned it up but it still needed steam cleaned, we brought it up upon checkout expecting an incidental charge and the manager said not to worry so instead we left an extra $50 for housekeeping. The casino was nice but the bar Aura was a bit overhyped and was small and just boring. My only suggestion would be to hire black jack dealers with personality, there was only one that was pleasant to deal with and in no way were we disrespectful. At one point my friend had to leave the table since the dealer got overly upset at him for not pushing in his chips on a side bet which is not the custom where we live. They had little patience or interest in explaining the slight differences. There was one dealer who was engaging and very personable, I wish I could remember her name and I'd recommend giving her a raise and asking her to work 24 hour shifts to cover for the others that shouldn't be on the floor.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Being Las Vegas residents we have grown accustomed to a higher level of service than is generally found outside of Vegas. Vegas is a service city, so we were very pleasantly surprised by the Service at the Circus Circus Casino in Reno. Check in, slot hosts, crap table dealers, and wait staff at the restaurant. It is hard to believe that service could be a step or two above Vegas, but it was. Thanks for a great visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun and Games in Reno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Circus Circus Casino is always fun to visit. The kids can play midway games upstairs and watch the Circus Acts while Mom and Dad are able to play slots or blackjack. The Circus Circus midway is like a typical Carnival with many games in which the kids can win stuffed animals, toys, guitars, etc. They also have video and arcade games for the kids to play, similar to a Chuck E Cheese or arcade. As you win you can accumulate tickets to cash in for small items. The Casino has a section that actually drops real coins! I miss the sound of dollars or quarters dropping when you play slots. The Casino also has the full variety of Casino Games: Craps, 3 Card Poker, Black Jack, Pai Gow Poker, Roulette, Keno, and many different types of slots from penny up to 20 dollar. Albeit a little smokey, it is a nice place to visit in Reno with Kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“"Casino O.K."”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Did not stay in hotel during our 4 day visit to Reno, but did play in the casino. Casino was clean and a less busier than the Eldorado or legacy. We mosied over to circus circus a few times during our trip to play roulette here and there and always came out ahead! But is was difficult to hang for long periods dealers were not as friendly as the Eldorado and drink service was just not there! We always appreciate the servers and tip well, kinda annoying though when you have to stop playing cause your bored and thirsty too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circus Circus Casino also viewed

 

Been to Circus Circus Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circus Circus Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.